We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Mansfield to your Saves list
The Mansfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 West 44th Street, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Stay and Save
Ranked #263 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Mansfield for two nights. The location and service were excellent. The rooms are small - nothing out of the ordinary for NYC. Our only problem was the window air conditioner - noisy and it was very close to the bed so you feel it blowing on you at night. Otherwise the room was quiet and had everything you would need. We received wonderful help from the front desk people and enjoyed drinks in the lounge and free coffee and newspapers in the library. Lovely atmosphere and would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear travelgirls2 - We were so glad that you stayed with us during your time in NYC. Our staff really tries to give the best service they can provide and being friendly is always a key to success. We are very happy you enjoyed the M Bar as it is a fun little spot in Manhattan.
Thank you for your feedback and review of the hotel. We hope when you come back to visit New York you think of the Mansfield first.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    426
    193
    89
    70
See reviews for
152
453
84
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermantown, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The location of this hotel is outstanding. I could walk to almost everything - Times Square, Empire State, Rockefeller Center and I even walked back from The American Museum of Natural History passing by Central Park and the Metropolitan Musesum. Although as much as I loved the location of this hotel, the hotel looks beat and rundown. There were holes on the wooden floor and the smell of the room was musty. The bathroom sink was so small, you have to use the window sill to put your toiletries and accessories on. The lighting was a little dim as I cannot clearly see as I was "prepping" my face. There were stains on the window bed and the paint just looked old. But if all you need is a place to sleep when in New York then this will do.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Maria - Thank you for staying with us at the Mansfield hotel. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback. The team holds themselves at a high level and we take feedback seriously, as it helps us get better servicing our guests. It is great to hear you liked the location and the food at the hotel. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in New York City as we know we can make your stay more memorable. We would love to welcome you back.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Clean, decent-sized rooms in the heart of the tourist trap.

I stayed in a standard queen room. The furnishings were all modern, clean bathrooms and convenient walking distance from both Grand Central and Times Square. I'd happily stay here again as hotels of this quality and location at such a price are fairly rare. A friend stayed at a nearby hotel called the Distrikt Hotel and I'd probably ever-so-slightly prefer their rooms over the Mansfield, but the location ended up making the Mansfield the winner in my book.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear something_unique
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. We are happy you were able to stay with us during your visit to NYC. Its great to hear you liked the location of the hotel as well as its cleaniness. The housekeeping team will be glad to hear all about it. We hope the next time you are in NYC you will come stay with us again.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Vermont, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great location if you need to be in Midtown. Yes, the rooms are small, but it is Manhattan. Staff was friendly and nice although to be honest, the guys seemed to be doing everything. The female staff I came in contact with was not knowledgeable of the area or the basic functions of working the front desk. Book ahead and you can get some good deals. I got a junior suite that allowed me to spread out a bit and that was still considerable less than hotel rooms at most NYC hotels. The A/C units are in window units and they ran the entire 4 days I was there. My room smelled a bit musty, but it cleared out eventually.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear VailtoVermont,
Thank you for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the friendliness of our team as well as the location of the hotel. We hope the next time you are in NY you come visit us again.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stains on the walls, cheap glue in the bathroom, super marked up floors, false advertising on free wifi (it's only in the lobby, you have to pay in your room). Will not stay there again, and will not use "name your own price" again from priceline.

Great location, but the rooms are very tired. There were stains on the wall, the floors were beat-up, the A/C is just a window box. Dark, cramped, tired. Definitely not the 4 stars that were advertised. Would be fine had it been advertised and priced at a 3 star, but would have stayed somewhere else had I known what I know now.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear nakedespresso,

Thank you for taking the time out to review the hotel. The team and I are very disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory. We really appreciate the feedback as it will allow us to hone in on the areas you described. Customer satisfaction is our #1 goal and with all the feedback we get from our guests; will assist us in getting better. We hope the next time you are in NYC you will give us another chance so we can make your next stay more enjoyable.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located near major attractions in Manhattan. While the room was quite small for two people and the lighting in the room was dim, the caring staff fostered a cordial ambience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear JPF155017,
Thank you for visiting us at the Mansfield Hotel. The team and I were happy to read you thought the staff was caring. We liked that you pointed out we are in a central location to all major attractions in NYC. We hope the next time you come back to New York you will chose us again.
Be well.
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is exactly as it looks on the website which is great. The location is within walking distance to Times Square and subway. There is free wifi and coffee in the hotel lobby sitting area. We saw two rooms on this stay. The suite had a bedroom with a bathroom off of it and then a connected sitting room with couch and desk. Each room has a TV. The second room was a standard room with a bed, desk and bathroom. Beside the obvious size difference the bathrooms were the same except the suite had a makeup mirror in it and better lighting. Both rooms had safes which was nice. If you are a light sleeper there is earplugs in the sidetable drawer. You do hear the street level all night long. Its a quite street, but just a warning. Overall great hotel, friendly staff and great location. Area is very safe to walk around 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear John P,
Thank you for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our amenities and location are just a few of our features which our guests love and we are glad you got to enjoy them. We hope the next time you visit NYC you will stay with us again.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 West 44th Street, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#190 Family Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
#220 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansfield 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. Guests can enjoy complimentary 24-hour espresso and cappuccino in the hotel's classically-restored Beaux-Arts Club Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.