We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansfield

Save Saved
You added The Mansfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mansfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 West 44th Street, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Stay and Save
Ranked #263 of 452 hotels in New York City
New York
1 review
“Great Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Wonderful location and proximity to Grand Central and Broadway. A perfect combination. Helpful staff and comfortable atmosphere. Deluxe room was well designed and spacious for our needs. Quiet but close to everything.
Excellent choice for theatergoer. Really loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Walter G,
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel. We are so happy to read that you thought the staff was helpful, and the hotel provided a comfortable atmosphere and location to your liking. We hope the next time you come to visit the city The Mansfield is your choice of hotel.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    349
    415
    189
    87
    70
See reviews for
149
440
83
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We would definitely recommend The Mansfield, especially for theatre goers wanting something convenient to shows. It's within walking distance of so many things and a good price comparatively speaking- nothing is "cheap" in NYC! Rooms are small, but comfortable and clean and the historic nature of the building is interesting. They used to include a continental brkfst with room price and wish they'd do that again. We've stayed as a couple and with our 2 kids when they were younger and have had a good experience every time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Sara M,

Thank you for choosing the Mansfield Hotel. We are so glad to hear that you will be recommending our hotel to your friends, colleagues and family. The team will be pleased to hear you thought the room were comfortable, clean with a little history behind them as well. We hope the next time you are in NYC the Mansfield has become your choice of hotel!

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Cant really evaluate any food or drinks as havent uses their bar or dining options .
We were upgraded free to the suite for one night out of 4 due to technical problems but i wouldnt say it was a benefit as we had to keep our luggage packed so they can move as the next day . Also suite was overlooking inner yard and so dark that you could not tell if it is day or night.
New Room was facibg street but still little dark what you should expect in NY but scaffold and its transperent shade does not help.
Noise in the street starts early! Sound proofing is another issue and purelly related with the way how airconditioning is installed.
If you dont spend much time in the hotel and move around a lot - location is what gives it few extra starts! Times square just couple blocka away, 5th avenue shopping is just few steps away as well as Empire state building just 10 min walk away. Overal a fair combination and could really be much worse. Dont be afraid and give it a go!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear SarunasG,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and we hope you come back to stay with us again. The location we are in does give our travelers the benefit of being centrally located to all the main attractions Manhattan has to offer.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A City In Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is good but the staff is excellent. We had some issues with the Airport shuttle service we had booked (not via the hotel, it was independent). The front desk staff (can't remember her name, sorry) was EXCELLENT in helping us out, communicated with the shuttle company on our behalf. We made it to the airport just in time (no thanks to the shuttle company) ONLY because of the efforts of the Mansfield staff. I thank them for that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear N A,
This is music to any GM’s ears! Our staff prides themselves on exceptional customer service and I am very pleased to read they did just that. We would hope the next time you visit NYC you will choose to stay with us again. Thank you for taking the time out to review the hotel.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice and clean rooms with enough space.
Complementary coffe is available.
No problems connecting to free Wifi.
Friendly staff.
5 minutes walk from Timesquare and just around the corner to 5th Av. - Great location!
Good value for the money

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear vieiramiguel,

Thank you for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you enjoying the amenities the hotel has to offer, our friendly staff, and the location. The next time you are in NYC we hope you choose to stay with us again.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Best location in town, very nice old building with a lot of wood details, friendly employees, very confortable bedding, extra clean room but a lot of noise from the street and the city even at the 10th floor. I would recommand this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Gilles G,

Thank you for sharing your anniversary with us at the Mansfield hotel. The team will be excited to hear that you thought they were friendly and that the room was clean. We can’t wait until you return and we are so happy to read you will be recommending our hotel.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Thank you to the staff for the weekend upgrade to the Yeats Apartment. We travel to NYC frequently on business, but chose The Mansfield for a weekend getaway. The staff was a pleasure to deal with, hotel is clean, & this is now one of our favorite hotels. The concierge went above & beyond by walking our luggage 3 blocks when streets were blocked for a parade. Pricey yes, but you are treated accordingly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Ray L,

Thank you for taking the time out to review the Mansfield Hotel. The team and I were excited to read that you really enjoyed your stay and the Mansfield has become one of your favorite hotels. It is also nice to hear how accommodating team members are and from the sounds of it we didn’t disappoint. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to NYC.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 West 44th Street, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
#205 Business Hotel in New York City
#229 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansfield 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. Guests can enjoy complimentary 24-hour espresso and cappuccino in the hotel's classically-restored Beaux-Arts Club Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.