We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel for a Quickl trip to NYC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Mansfield to your Saves list
The Mansfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 West 44th Street, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #267 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Dallas, tx
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel for a Quickl trip to NYC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here for a quick overnight trip to NYC. The location is great and the price was unbelievable for the location. Check in was ok (a bit slow), but got a room on the 12.5 floor-Penthouse 2. Went to the 12th floor and realized I had to climb a staircase to get to an additional floor where there were 2 more rooms. It was a Penthouse in name only, but the room was nice but small-but what do you expect for the price. Others in my traveling party complained the bathrooms were very small, but actually mine was decent size. The room was appointed nicely at first glance. There were just some minor things I had issues:

1) The bed was comfortable, but the sheets felt cheap.
2) The blinds on the window cheap (gaps in them letting light in) and they had not been dusted in not telling how long.

Did eat and have a drink in the restaurant downstairs. It was good food (grilled cheese was nice). The employees weren't rude, but I would say they weren't overly friendly either. My summation of this hotel is it is fine for a quick business trip to NYC, but not sure if I would stay here on a trip longer than a day or so with another person. There were a lot of things to like about the hotel, but just enough minor things that left me a little disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear cseanmc,

Thank you for staying with us at the Mansfield hotel. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback. The team holds themselves at a high level and we take feedback seriously, as it helps us get better servicing our guests. It is great to hear you liked the location and the food at the hotel. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in New York City as we know we can make your stay more memorable. We would love to welcome you back.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    489
    223
    105
    80
See reviews for
188
529
99
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I've been to NYC a few times now and I've been searching for a great hotel at a good price in a terrific location.

That's The Mansfield!

Let's get it out of the way: the rooms aren't big. But NO rooms (in my price bracket) in NYC are big. However, the room is an adequate size for a couple. There's plenty of room for two large bags and ancillary items without the room feeling cramped. The window seat is a neat feature! It's also a great place to drop shopping bags. I will say that the standard room won't work for more than two people. You'd want to upgrade to a bigger room.

The bathroom is small. I'm a foot guy who's healthy sized. Not obese but not skinny. I didn't have any trouble fitting in the bathroom or shower. I didn't feel cramped despite it being a small bathroom. The counter space isn't there, but I didn't find that to be too much of an issue. I love the Aveda products provided!

The room is beautifully decorated and styled. You can tell quality materials were used throughout during the restoration of the hotel. I didn't realize until we checked in that there is a VERY well appointed mini bar in the closet as well as a safe. Very nice touches.

The restaurant is delicious! Room service is 24/7 with a limited menu. A full menu is available during normal dinner hours.

Our room was immaculate - crazy, perfectly clean. When we checked in, the room was a little warm. To adjust the temp, you call the front desk and they send an engineer because it's an older building. Two engineers showed up within 5 minutes and adjusted the air. Very impressive!

Now, the real star of the show for The Mansfield is the LOCATION! It's a few blocks (less then 5 minutes walk) to Times Square, which is great if you want to do super touristy stuff. It's less than a half block from 5th Avenue and TONS of great shopping. The Library is a few blocks away, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Station. It's ALL close, and easily walkable. If you're visiting the city to see the sights, this is the perfect location. For being so close to it all, the hotel is very quiet. I incorrectly assumed the rooms around us were vacant but realized we had neighbors when I ran into them in the hall. I haven't heard a peep!

Speaking of location: the Strip House steakhouse is across the street and is a five star restaurant for dinner! We had one of the best meals of our lives there! We called at 5 and they worked us in at 5:25 for an early dinner and the food and service were amazing! So nice to have such a delicious restaurant across the street!

The staff of the hotel is amazing too. Every member of the staff we see, whether it be the front desk, the concierge, the house keeping staff or the door man, all ask us how our stay is going and if we need anything. They are courteous, professional and very friendly.

And, lastly, the price absolutely CAN NOT be beat for a NYC boutique hotel that's so pretty, so well maintained and so pleasant of a stay.

The Mansfield will be out "go to" hotel from now on when we are in the city and we will make sure our friends and family know about it as well. It's our favorite and it's a hidden gem in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear prideinlife,

Thank you so much for being a valued guest at the Mansfield Hotel. Your review was amazing and is how we want all our guests to feel when they come to the hotel. We enjoyed hearing how you loved the location, friendliness of the staff, cleanliness of the room and the Mbar. We are so excited that we have become your hotel of choice in the NYC.

The team works hard to make sure all our guests are taken care of and from your review it sounds like they accomplished that.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the city.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here on our second visit to NYC for our 10th anniversary on 14 feb 2013. Our travel agent sent an email to advise the hotel of our anniversary, but nothing was mentioned to us!
We found the staff very polite & helpful & the hotel was clean. The beds were so comfy, but the room we had was 304 & it's bay window faced onto 44th street, it also had a vent and this made it very noisey at night. Walls were a bit thin, as all we could here in next room was some horrible guy coughing his guts up all the time. We would consider using this hotel again, although we would ask for a quieter room.

Room Tip: Not facing on to 44th street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Carol M,

We appreciate you staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the helpfulness of our staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and the comfort of our beds.

Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us. We hope you consider us again during your next visit to New York City.

We are thankful for your feedback.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a no-frills boutique hotel that couldn't be better situated to midtown Manhattan.

The advantages: location, location, location! Short walk to Times Square, 5th Ave., Broadway, and subway stops. Clean hotel with an outstanding, friendly, helpful, responsive staff. (These folks could staff a 5-star hotel.) Surprisingly well-outfitted gym for its size. Free wifi throughout the hotel. Comfortable beds & low noise make for a great night sleep. Stunning bathroom - large tile room with a walk-in shower than could probably accommodate 6 people. Good restaurant. Ridiculously affordable hotel - one of the best bargains you'll find in NYC. They could charge more just based on location.

The disadvantages: The rooms are small and dark, mainly because the woodwork (including hardwood floors) is dark. There is almost no way to make the room seem bright. Between that and there being no free TV channels, it's not a room you want to spend time in. But this is NYC, and you should get off your can and out of your hotel room anyway!

Bottom line: I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear HugADog,

Thank you for taking the time out to review the Mansfield Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the staff’s friendliness, gym, Mbar and the location of the hotel. It is great to hear from our guests as it allows the hotel to get better at what we love to do. We hope the next time you visit New York City we are your hotel of choice.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we can’t wait to welcome you back.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great stay overnight this week at the Mansfield -- my second time staying there. Large room with a queen bed, bay window with a window seat, plenty of room to move around, and adequate closet space. Small but spotlessly clean bathroom. Love the size of the hotel. Appreciated the dust-free hard wood floors, free shoe shine, and helpfulness of everyone on the staff. Requested and received room not overlooking 44th St., which can be noisy. Diner on 44th St. provides large, reasonably priced breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear LaTrivs,

Thank you for staying with us again at the Mansfield Hotel. It is so great to hear that this was your second stay with us. We appreciate you taking time out of your day to write a review about the hotel. We hope the reasons for coming back were due to the staff, cleanliness and the location of the hotel.

We can’t wait to welcome you back for your third trip! Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting New York City.

Best,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff was great the rooms were a little small but quite adequte and well decorated. The location was perfect as it was 1.5 blocks to Times Square. The only glitch was our keys had to be redone on 2 separate occasions but other than that it was great.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room, they are willing to if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear thud76,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at the Mansfield Hotel. The staff prides themselves on being friendly and by the looks of it they were spot on. We are happy you enjoyed the location and the decor of the hotel.

We hope during your next trip to NYC you will think of choosing us again. Thank you for taking the time out to write a review as it will assist us in becoming better at our jobs.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice vintage boutique, clean and neat. Great location on upscale street (fine boutique hotels and upscale University clubs.) Close to Bryant Park, the city library, Broadway and Times Square.

Rooms are small but clean. Hardwood floors are nice! The windows open and that is a good thing as you have no control over the heat. We stayed in January.

The M bar adjacent is sophisticated and plays live jazz Tues - Thurs. There is also a very nice hotel library room serving coffee 24-7.

Get a room in the back or sides for extra quietness!

And finally, you can't beat the price.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Kevin M,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you loved the cleanliness, location, Mbar and the library. We hope that we have become your choice of hotel when you next visit New York City.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 West 44th Street, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#205 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#211 Family Hotel in New York City
#232 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansfield 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. Guests can enjoy complimentary 24-hour espresso and cappuccino in the hotel's classically-restored Beaux-Arts Club Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.