We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location with value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansfield

Save Saved
You added The Mansfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mansfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 West 44th Street, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Stay and Save
Ranked #263 of 452 hotels in New York City
Albany, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location with value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff was great the rooms were a little small but quite adequte and well decorated. The location was perfect as it was 1.5 blocks to Times Square. The only glitch was our keys had to be redone on 2 separate occasions but other than that it was great.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room, they are willing to if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear thud76,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at the Mansfield Hotel. The staff prides themselves on being friendly and by the looks of it they were spot on. We are happy you enjoyed the location and the decor of the hotel.

We hope during your next trip to NYC you will think of choosing us again. Thank you for taking the time out to write a review as it will assist us in becoming better at our jobs.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    348
    414
    189
    86
    70
See reviews for
149
439
83
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casper
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice vintage boutique, clean and neat. Great location on upscale street (fine boutique hotels and upscale University clubs.) Close to Bryant Park, the city library, Broadway and Times Square.

Rooms are small but clean. Hardwood floors are nice! The windows open and that is a good thing as you have no control over the heat. We stayed in January.

The M bar adjacent is sophisticated and plays live jazz Tues - Thurs. There is also a very nice hotel library room serving coffee 24-7.

Get a room in the back or sides for extra quietness!

And finally, you can't beat the price.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Kevin M,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you loved the cleanliness, location, Mbar and the library. We hope that we have become your choice of hotel when you next visit New York City.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We felll into the great hotel via Priceline and were pleasantly surprised. Location was awesome! Blocks to Times Square, The Rock, and Grand Central, with tons of stores and restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Fabulous Greek restaurant/bar just across the street. Staff was very accomodating and friendly (even allowing for a late check out no problem!). Rooms were tiny, but clean and recently remodeled...flat screen tvs, spacious newly tiled bathroom, working desk, comfortable CLEAN bed. The hallways and elevators were extremely tiny, additionally with stairs in the front lobby. Anyone in a wheelchair or on a scooter would have an issue getting around this property.

There is no resaurant or room service at this hotel. In the mornings, they do have a gormet coffee/expresso machine which is free of charge and very nice. Too, there was also a bar that closed early, and drinks were quite pricey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Iskuz,

The title of your review says it all! We are so happy to hear that you will stay again with us at the Mansfield Hotel. It is very comforting knowing that you loved the location, our staffs friendliness and the cleanliness of the room.

We can’t wait to welcome you back to the Mansfield the next time you are in New York.
Thank you for letting other people know that the Mansfield is and will be your choice of hotels in NYC.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great hotel! The location is perfect. Just steps close to the Times Square and Grand Central (metro station that conects you to everywhere). The rooms were clean and well decorated. Just dont expect cordiality from the staff, they are just professionals, unless you tip them well - and for EVERYTHING (NY Style).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Alan-Araruna,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel during your trip to New York City. We are excited to hear how much you loved the hotel and hope it has become your hotel of choice the next time you are in NYC. The location, cleanliness and decorations of the rooms are just some of the amenities we have to offer and I am so glad you pointed them out. There are many choices of hotels in NY and we are so happy you decided to stay with us!

We appreciate you taking the time to express your happiness with the hotel and your stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mansfield the next time you are in the city.

Thank you,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Booked to stay here on New Year's Eve at an exorbitant price due to it's location. The king room we had was large enough but the corridors are very narrow. We were awoken the first night by a woman screaming in another room. Although we had prepaid for the room we found that a significant extra charge was added to our credit card. It took several calls to the hotel to sort this out and have it reversed. Not impressed at all for the price or the service. Would not recommend it as a four star hotel, there are much better options for a similar price in town.

Room Tip: Rooms are not well insulated. We were located at the back of the hotel. The dumpsters were located i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear DifromBrisbane,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us to hone in on our guests feelings, which enables us to get better at what we do. We hope that the next time you are in New York you will give us another chance as I know we can make your stay more memorable.

Thank you for taking time out of your day to help us get better.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed there about two months ago. The staff was very kind to both me and my son. The rooms are rather small, but it did not bother us. It's Manhatten. The location could not be better. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear GH_ShrtOrDrCook,

Thank you for visiting NYC and staying at the Mansfield Hotel. We are very pleased you liked the location of the hotel and or staff’s friendliness. Please think about us again on your next visit to New York as we hope we are your choice of hotel.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I've been staying at The Mansfield for years and always enjoy my visit. The location is outstanding, as is the hotel staff. Smaller hotels always seem to be more welcoming to me, and The Mansfield is no exception. While the rooms are on the small side, the sophisticated creature comforts and appointments are thoughtfully chosen and arranged.
The espresso machine is a time honored favorite, and the bar exceptional, with live music most evenings. Really warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same, but junior suites a bit more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear MssNJ,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at the Mansfield Hotel. Thank you so much for your kind words about the staff as I know they all take pride in servicing our guests. We loved that you like the espresso machine, the M Bar and the warm and welcoming feeling the hotel has.
We can’t wait for your return to the Mansfield your hotel of choice.
Thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 West 44th Street, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansfield 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. Guests can enjoy complimentary 24-hour espresso and cappuccino in the hotel's classically-restored Beaux-Arts Club Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.