We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehh, nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansfield

Save Saved
You added The Mansfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mansfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 West 44th Street, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates from $129
Ranked #263 of 449 hotels in New York City
PA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ehh, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This place was nothing special. The only reason It was 3/5 and not 2/5 was the price, couldn't beat the price staying 2 blocks off Times Square. Let me run down the positives first, cause that list is short. The price was great for the location, the lobby had this nice little library area to relax and have some cappuccino from their machine. That's all of the good things to say unfortunately.

I get that it is NYC so I was expecting the small rooms, they were ok, not as small as I was expecting. When we first got to our room, it was like a sauna, the heat was cranked up really high. And we couldn't adjust it ourselves, even though there was a thermostat remote sitting on the desk. Had to call up maintenance and turn it off cause it's a very old building. The bed and the window seat were very old and falling apart. The bed was very bouncy, whenever my wife or I would move, it was like an earthquake. After the first night there of our 2 night stay, something happened in their system and our room keycards did not work anymore, we spent at least 10 mins at the front desk trying to get the working again, and they had no idea what happened.

It was just an OK place to stay, nothing special, which is a shame given the location.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. But if you must stay here, do not get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear armpitt212,

Thank you very much for your feedback of the Mansfield Hotel. We truly appreciate the feedback as it allows us to understand what our guests needs are while enabling us to get better at what we do. We know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and some of its amenities so we would encourage to come and stay with us again. I think if you gave us another chance you will have a different opinion of the hotel.
When you do decide to come back to NYC please ask for me so we can talk about your expectations so the team and I can meet all of them.

Best,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    395
    180
    85
    69
See reviews for
135
419
80
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

You really can't beat the price and location. If you just need a place to sleep, you don't want to share a washroom, and you don't want to pay $400, this place is perfect. Plus, the rooms are nicely designed and cute, even if a bit tiny. I'm a repeat customer.

Room Tip: There are interior rooms where the window faces directly into a wall. Not good if you're claustr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Annie6472,

Thank you for being a repeat guest at the Mansfield Hotel. We pride ourselves on bringing customers back to the hotel for repeat stays by providing the services and amenities they desire. Your feedback goes along way; enabling us to keep striving to get better at what we do.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mansfield during your next visit to the big apple.

Thank you,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The Mansfield is a nice and small hotel conveniently located between Times Square and 5th Avenue. Very close to lots of restaurants, theaters, shops, etc... But on a street without too much traffic and people. We were welcomed nicely by the staff upon arrival although my only complaint was that the desk clerk did not have a room available and promised to call us when a room became available so we could walk around. We never received a call that the room was ready and waited until after dinner to return when the new desk clerk on duty seemed to have no idea that we had even been there earlier.

The room was nice. We were in room 303. It was small but nice with wood floors and a nice window seat. Like other reviewers before me though, the room was very dark even with lights on. One light in the corner was so dim it might as well have been a night light. Suggestion to the hotel is to put in better lighting and perhaps a small table and chair for reading or eating in the room. The bathroom was tiny but fine. I was disappointed that there was mildew on the shower floor and expect more from a higher hotel rating. Otherwise, the hotel was clean and the service was friendly.

Others have commented on the free coffee in the library. The area was nice and coffee was very good. It would have been nice if the hotel offered cards, checkers or chess pieces for the tables in the library but when visiting New York there are lots of better things to do than site in a hotel!

Over all, the hotel was nice and I enjoyed the stay. A tip to those with difficulty walking or who need handicap accessibility - the entrance to the hotel involves multiple steps and I saw no ramps or other entrances into the hotel so you may want to consider that if you have trouble with steps.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear SGDelaware.

Thank you very much for reviewing the Mansfield Hotel. The review you have provided gives great feedback and we will look in to your suggestions. I am very happy to hear the staff was friendly and accommodating. We hope you choose us again the next time you visit as we would love to welcome you back.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a great three night stay. The check in was easy, service was great. Andrew daily gave us great service and made us feel welcome. This hotel has a great location for theater, time square, and walking up fifth avenue. The room was small but the cleaning staff was great. Their is a large library area to meet friends, have complementary coffee and enjoy the fireplace. We had drinks and food at the bar with excellent service. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Also has a gym available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Cynnie A,

Thank you for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel! When people take time out of their day to give feedback which enables us to get better at what we do; it is always welcome. I am so happy Andrew and the staff were accommodating to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Book this hotel last minute via Hotwire.com. Save me $80 a night compare to other nearby 4 star hotels. Fortunately got the pent house which is quiet and it has a special elevator access. Gym was clean and well equipped, coffee bar is calm and cozy for reading and people watching. There is a bar connected to the hotel that I didn't visit, but it is nicely decorated.

Staff is nice and friendly, location is walking distance to timesquare.

During my stay, unfortunately there were some internet connection issue so no internet for the whole block :( But overall stay was great!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by my stay at the MANSFIELD. I was able to get a room for two nights for $133. The hotel is close to Times Square(4-5 blocks) and has a great location near other hotels, a coffee house and a great diner closer to 6th Avenue. The room was small but charming and included a great safe for valuables, a refrigerator, a brand new bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The only thing missing for me was an easy chair. The lobby is small and has a limited selection for breakfast, inside a bar that is open after 5pm. One of the best parts of the library room on the ground floor was a wonderful coffee machine that was available all hours of the night.... For athletic types, there is a gym. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Decided on this Hotel based on a friends recommendation. A boutique hotel that is located fairly close to most venues for the typical tourist. While the room we had was small, it was well decorated. The bed was excellent. We slept like a baby. Room was radiator heated, it got a little warm so opened the window for a little while. Staff was most excellent.

Price was about 20% lower than nearby hotels. We decided we would come back to this hotel when we return.

If you have a need for a large room hotel and want to pay more, you might want to go some where else. Otherwise I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the King Bed suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 West 44th Street, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Family Hotel in New York City
#228 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansfield 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. Guests can enjoy complimentary 24-hour espresso and cappuccino in the hotel's classically-restored Beaux-Arts Club Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.