We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Lovely Small Boutique Hotel 63rd and Madison” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lowell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lowell Hotel to your Saves list
Lowell Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 East 63rd Street, Between Madison and Park Avenues, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #100 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Charming Lovely Small Boutique Hotel 63rd and Madison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The service, decor, cleanliness rooms, linens, everything about the Lowell is superb...it came highly recommended from friends who know NY.
This hotel is wonderfully situated and a absolute a treasure. Will not stay anywhere else when returning to NY.. I can not rate it high enough from the desk persons, to reservations to the concierge's.. Wonderful!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Josmshank,
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We take pride in your kind feedback which has been shared with The Lowell Family members. Welcome to your new home away from home in New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    15
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
49
17
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

There' s so much high-octane hotel trumpet-blowing on the Upper East Side.So many bright llights,red carpets,pumped up restaurants with waiting lists.
And then there is th Lowell.With none of the above.It's so ,well,nondescript from the outside.There is no buzzo,no noise ,no scrum.This is where you come to pretend your very own Manhattan hideout and your staff are flipping brilliant.Where you retreat to kick off your shoes,curl up your log fire(yes your log fire) and order room service.
I love this place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear ashok r,
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future for another relaxing time spent in front of the fireplace!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Superb service. Elegant, well done food from room service. Excellent bed and beautifully appointed livingroom. Marble bath. Nothing is missing here. If you need trendy, a bar scene, and like to scout out fellow travelers, this is not for you. This hotel is old, but thoroughly stylish, missing nothing, intensely private, and wonderfully quiet. It's an escape from the intensity of modern life in the city. You've got designer shopping on Madison Ave., and wonderful restaurant choices in the neighborhood. Yes, it's pricey. But you don't have the experience of accommodating yourself to the faults of the hotel. It accommodates you!

Room Tip: Higher floor is better. Suites, if you can afford it, are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear toughcritic40,

Thank you for your kind words! We are pleased to hear that you appreciated and enjoyed the charm of The Lowell and its location. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to visit us on your next New York City visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed in many luxury hotels in NYC ....First stay in the Lowell. Building appearance is deceptive, very plain looking facade .. Typical small lobby and tiny elevators, service on arrival was great. Staff remembered my name after a few days and the hotel seems to have a clientele of regular returning guests. Like most places in NYC, there is construction on the street, but, the building seems to be very well insulated from the noise. Rooms were great, had an antique feel but with all modern conveniences. Top shelf linens and towels, fantastic water pressure. Great neighborhood, short walk to Lexington Ave, markets and restaurants. Great hotel, will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room. The suites have fireplaces if you are there in winter....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Sam F,
Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed The Lowell. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next New York City venture!
Best regards, Alexandra Fält
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a wonderful, clubby small luxury hotel. For some trips and purposes, it is the best hotel in the City. The rooms are spacious and well furnished, but not ostentatious. A very pleasant place to sit and read or discuss the next outing. The staff are quiet, completely competent and just friendly enough. This hotel is a throwback to the 1920s, with a high level of personal service. But, it isn't for everyone. This is not high concept or high style in the modern sense. The décor is clubby Victorian. Your grandmother would think it wonderful, but your teenage daughter will likely prefer the edgier Crosby Street or one of the Trump properties. Your European friends will be horrified. However, for a couple's weekend to the City where you want to be on the East Side and want everything to be and work perfectly without drama, it was great for us. From the lovely complimentary fruit bowel to the perfect coffee at breakfast, it was all just right. The price is high, and there won't be anyone visible to share your ability to pay these rates with, but if that is what you want, you need to be at the Four Seasons. No bar, but 24 hour room service. All in all, one of our favorite places.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience and view of The Lowell! Everyone certainly needs to find their own style of hotel and it seems like you have found yours which we are excited to hear. Next year we will be launching our new restaurant by the lobby level of the hotel, hopefully, you will be able to visit us and try out the bar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I talked my husband into staying overnight at The Lowell since we were attending an evening wedding. I had stayed at the hotel a couple of years ago and thought it was great but this time it surpassed"great!" My husband who is harder to please loved it too. The staff were so friendly and accommodating. Location was great and breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
I am thrilled to hear that both you and your husband enjoyed your most recent visit at The Lowell and that we exceeded your expectations! I will share your kind words with my colleagues whom all have contributed to making your stay enjoyable. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon again for another delightful visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I'm not that familiar with New York, but I have an expectation of a bold style and service, especially in this part of the city. The Lowell Hotel was in every measure a wonderful confirmation of that. And if the Lowell is any glimpse of a top tier hotel in New York, then we're doing pretty good on the world stage. I stayed two days & two nights at the Lowell for a relative's wedding, and from the first minute, I knew that I was going to be happy. It is a quiet hotel with large clean rooms and a very helpful and attentive staff. It is not a large hotel as such, but I was generally impressed with the layout, which made it very easy to walk around or get to your room quickly. What struck me every time I walked in the lobby was how handsome the hotel is - not stodgy or old fashioned but long on class. I've found my favorite hotel in New York.

Only complaint - the kitchenette was a little worn, and the kitchenette floor looked like it needs a cleaning.

Last thing.. I would go to the Lowell just to dine in the Pembroke room, and I mean it was terrific.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate and value your comments in regards to the kitchenette. We are hoping to be able to welcome you back in the near future for another terrific stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lowell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowell Hotel

Address: 28 East 63rd Street, Between Madison and Park Avenues, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#105 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lowell Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet, tree-lined street off Madison Avenue, The Lowell is in the heart of New York's most exclusive and fashionable Upper East Side. With only 49 individually decorated suites and 23 deluxe rooms, the hotel lavishes its guests with truly personalized service and great attention to detail. Among the many thoughtful touches are complimentary beverages upon arrival, Voss water at turndown and a selection of Bulgari amenities. Most suites have wood-burning fireplace, some have a terrace, and almost all have a fully equipped kitchen.The Pembroke Rooms serves afternoon tea and Sunday brunch. Along this Upper East Side location is a delight for our guests,with elegant boutiques, Fine bistros and restaurants, Central Park and Museum Mile's richness for the eye and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Hotels.com, LHW, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Lowell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowell Hotel New York City
Lowell New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.