We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Room For Improvement” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lowell Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lowell Hotel to your Saves list
Lowell Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 East 63rd Street, Between Madison and Park Avenues, New York City, NY 10065 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Third Night is ON US
Ranked #60 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No Room For Improvement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Everything is right for this beautiful boutique hotel. From the luxurious floral arrangements upon your entrance to the understated elegance of the rooms and those spa-like bathrooms. A real treat in the middle of Manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I am thrilled to read your kind words! I will ensure share them with the rest of The Lowell Family and our design office. We hope that you will visit us for another treat in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    19
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
25
60
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Lowell is service extraordinaire, great location if you're looking for upper east side, and just a smart hotel. Walking into The Lowell is like being at home if you have a extraordinary home and to be in New York and feel this way about a hotel is practically cross-wired. I recommend The Lowell exponentially!! It's indescribable which may not be helpful but this is a class property. i stayed here once when we had to have a roll away and that bed was one of the best beds ever!! That's The Lowell

Room Tip: All rooms are sulerlative
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! It is a pleasure hearing that you enjoyed your stay at The Lowell and that you felt like being home. We hope that we can welcome you to your ‘home’ on Upper East Side soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My girlfriends and I recently enjoyed a wonderful afternoon tea at the Pembroke Room. The service was excellent and the room was very pretty. It is a small intimate room and I felt like we were in a jewel box at a small palace in France. For a group of 8 pr more , the group has to,select 3 teas, I suppose it helps make service more efficient. We picked themLowell blend, the Harmony and the Peat. Everyone loved the Lowell, nobody like the Pear. The staff kept our cups full and were very attentive. We all had the classic tea and had a variety of petite sandwiches, pastries and scones. We each got 4 pieces of sandwiches, and two tiers filled with the pastries like macaroons,,tarts, petit fours. However we only got one tiny scone each ...it was too firm for my taste and really small. I wish we had way fewer pasties and more scones. I enjoy scones and have been to many different places, including England and this definitely did not have good scones. So, if you want an intimate , elegant room, and re not too picky with the scone, do come and enjoy this lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience! We value your feedback and will use it in order to improve our products for our Afternoon Tea service. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Pembroke Room soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

It's funny that many of the reviews mention the fact that this hotel is not very well known! I can concur, as when I got to JFK and took a shuttle bus neither the bus driver or the computer with the list of hotels in NYC had heard of it. It has to be one of NYC's best kept secrets. Location is excellent for shopping, next to central park, 30 mins walk to many museums. Warm welcome on arrival with complimentary drinks. The room itself was large by NYC standards and beautifully decorated. Excellent bed and a quiet location lead to restful nights sleep. We never ate at the hotel with the exception of afternoon tea in our room, this too did not disappoint. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I am thrilled to read your kind words in regards to your recent stay and I am glad that you enjoyed it. I will share your comments with the rest of the Lowell Family. We hope that we will be able to welcoming you back to The Lowell in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel itself is charming with beautiful decor and the location is fabulous Our suite was tastefully decorated and spacious. We stayed 5 nights and it truly felt like we had our own apartment in the city . Very courteous and polite service but a little bit impersonal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback from your most recent stay at The Lowell! We appreciate your feedback and will use it in order to improve our service. We hope to be able to welcoming you back in the near future with a more personal touch to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
94 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for a visit to NYC. Location is superb, steps away from shopping. Everyone at the is very attentive, anticipate your needs each and every time. They remember your name upon returning to the hotel, which is a nice touch. The rooms are comfortable, very nice and comfortable for working in your room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! I will make sure to share them with the rest of the team. We hope to welcome you back to The Lowell in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the best kept secret in NewYork. Outstanding 5 star boutique hotel. Best location , excellent service and wonderful Michael J Smith designed suites and rooms. You can light the fires in your suites - it is simply a dream. Great room service and also room service from the chop house next door. Try the Lemon Chicken!! It never fails and spoils you for anywhere else.
This was my 30th visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a fireplace !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback from your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit! We hope to be able to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lowell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowell Hotel

Address: 28 East 63rd Street, Between Madison and Park Avenues, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#137 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#159 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lowell Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet, tree-lined street off Madison Avenue, The Lowell is in the heart of New York's most exclusive and fashionable Upper East Side. With only 49 individually decorated suites and 23 deluxe rooms, the hotel lavishes its guests with truly personalized service and great attention to detail. Among the many thoughtful touches are complimentary beverages upon arrival, Voss water at turndown and a selection of Bulgari amenities. Most suites have wood-burning fireplace, some have a terrace, and almost all have a fully equipped kitchen.The Pembroke Rooms serves afternoon tea and Sunday brunch. Along this Upper East Side location is a delight for our guests,with elegant boutiques, Fine bistros and restaurants, Central Park and Museum Mile's richness for the eye and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lowell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowell Hotel New York City
Lowell New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.