We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This has to be one of the best hotels...anywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lowell Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Lowell Hotel to your Saves list
Lowell Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 East 63rd Street, Between Madison and Park Avenues, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #93 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Millville, DE
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“This has to be one of the best hotels...anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

When my NYC standby hotel was booked, I followed the reviews in Trip Advisor and booked this hotel as a substitute. I spent three days there with my wife and the hotel is an example of what an upscale hotel should be. Reception was warm and efficient. The one bedroom suite was striking in its decor and layout and it was spotless. The restaurant is small but perfect for breakfast with the food sublime. The baked goods were superb. Service is perfect with every staff member dedicated to fullfilling every request and whim of the guest. The Concierge is a model of perfection and booked several restaurants and services for us without a hitch.
Alas into every review a little rain must fall and there were 2 items missing in the room...phone books and an iron which we found strange but a small inconvenience.
I have traveled all over the world and stayed at so many great hotels and the Lowell has to be one of the top 10 hotels I have experienced.
One word of caution and that is that the Lowell is about 100 yards from Park Avenue and Park Avenue is one of the three avenues in NYC with 2 way traffic and it is almost always busy. For those who are bothered by routine traffic noise; this may prove bothersome.
Other than this small point, you should experience this hotel's luxury and the multitude of amenities that it offers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Lowell. I will share your feedback with the rest of The Lowell Family and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. For any upcoming stays, please feel free to request an iron and ironing board and we will have them delivered to your room prior to your arrival. We wish you a Happy Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    15
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
49
17
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Lowell Hotel has become the weekend getaway for my wife and I. The staff is
like family, and room service is impeccable in terms of presentation and quality. The beds are
comfortable, and the bathrooms spacious. There is nothing standardized in the hotel so it feels like an actual home-- a big mansion with many rooms. I have even come to love the tiny but homey elevators!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are flattered to read your kind words about The Lowell and The Lowell Family! We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another weekend getaway at your “home away from home!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I spent 4 nights at the Lowell Hotel. It was perfection! If you like a quiet, well run hotel that makes being in NYC relaxing, this is the place for you. The staff is very professional and I could not have asked for anything more. Beds are comfortable, they deliver any and all newspapers, the gym has everything one needs and the breakfasts are great. Super location on the upper East Side. It is a high priced spread but they do deliver good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Lowell! I will pass on your kind words to the rest of The Lowell Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Lowell is a boutique hotel on New York's posh Upper East Side. The real find, though, is the hotel restaurant's afternoon tea. For $50 per person (not cheap but worth it) you are seated in an elegant room that could be a replica of a section of Buckingham Palace. You order a choice of tea and receive scones, sandwiches of lobster salad and chicken, clotted cream, jam, the works. The only tea service better than this in my experience was that of the Shangri-La Hotel in Hong Kong, which featured a pianist as well. The best time to arrive is 3 p.m. and, if you don't like crowds, make the trip Monday through Thursday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Afternoon Tea service in The Pembroke Room located on the second floor of the hotel. I would like to inform you that The Pembroke Room will be featuring a Holiday Tea service which begins in the middle of November. We hope that you will be able to join us then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed with my wife at the Lowell again this year during our short trip to New-York city, and we had another tremendous and delightful experience. General Manager Ashish Verma and all his team are all working together to provide an amazing stay each time, with everyone doing their best to always exceed your expectations. Rooms are amazingly well designed and kept, bathrooms always a delight, you really feel pampered and well taken care of. Upon arrival, the butler will show you to your room, show you around and will make himself available till quite late. A small luxurious property with a very dedicated team delivering the best of New York's hospitality!

Room Tip: Second stay at the hotel. Rooms are very well appointed. Some have better outdoor views than others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted to hear that your visits have been enjoyable and that our team continuously shows dedication to exceed your expectations. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future for another tremendous and delightful experience at The Lowell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I went with my husband on April. A great Hotel! Loved it! Chic, quiet, great location. You can run into any celebrity without even noticing! The staff is great as well. One of the best in New York. We are definitely going back! Very nice restaurant to have dinner across the street!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Sandra,
Thank you for your kind words in regards of your stay at The Lowell! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and that we made your stay memorable! We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed in a nice junior suite on the 12 th floor .
A beautiful bathroom with 2 sinks , bathtub and a big comfortable shower and a nice window.
I did not have a street view because the room faced the back of the building, but on the other hand it was extremely quiet.The bed and the sheets were impeccable

The service is outstanding , you really feel that you are special.
It is very good for couples as it is for families.
The breakfast room is on the second floor, it has no view but it is really cozy.
and the best part, they do not have the usual buffet , that i personally hate.
The eggs stay there forever and the bread was touched by everybody!!
I love the fact that you order what you want and everything is just fresh!!

Location could not be better ,close to everything but at the same time it is on a side street.
It is really worth the money.
The decoration is elegant and at the same personal.
From the manager to the doorman you feel people are happy to work there.
I am counting the days to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam W, Front Office Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing about your experience at the Lowell! We are thrilled that you
enjoyed your stay and found our rooms comfortable and our restaurant delicious. We are particularly happy that our personalized service stood out to you. We look forward to having you return to the Lowell in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lowell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowell Hotel

Address: 28 East 63rd Street, Between Madison and Park Avenues, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in New York City
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lowell Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet, tree-lined street off Madison Avenue, The Lowell is in the heart of New York's most exclusive and fashionable Upper East Side. With only 49 individually decorated suites and 23 deluxe rooms, the hotel lavishes its guests with truly personalized service and great attention to detail. Among the many thoughtful touches are complimentary beverages upon arrival, Voss water at turndown and a selection of Bulgari amenities. Most suites have wood-burning fireplace, some have a terrace, and almost all have a fully equipped kitchen.The Pembroke Rooms serves afternoon tea and Sunday brunch. Along this Upper East Side location is a delight for our guests,with elegant boutiques, Fine bistros and restaurants, Central Park and Museum Mile's richness for the eye and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, LHW, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Lowell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowell Hotel New York City
Lowell New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.