We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could easily live there.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lowell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lowell Hotel to your Saves list
Lowell Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 East 63rd Street, Between Madison and Park Avenues, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #99 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Birmingham, AL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I could easily live there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

This warm, welcoming property is a panacea for the cold, cruel world. Definitely my favorite hotel in New York. They accomplish something most hotels cannot - when you walk through the doors you feel as if you have come home.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam W, Front Office Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
We appreciate your kind words, thank you for your review. The entire Lowell Family is excited that we are your favorite hotel in New York and your home away from home! We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    15
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
49
17
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rye Brook, NY
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night for a get-together with 2 friends. It's a very special place. It's quiet and elegant and away from the noise of midtown. The king bedded room, tho not enormous was more than adequate with elegant bed linens and lots of storage space. The bathroom, which looked, recently renovated, is luxurious--TV above bathtub and large stall shower. Didn't want to leave! The staff is welcoming and friendly. Wonderful bartender and excellent breakfast. It's just a special place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam W, Front Office Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are excited to hear that you truely enjoyed your recent stay at the Lowell New York. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

When you walk down the steps from 63rd Street to the Lowell's small lobby you feel as if you're coming home from the storm of the city. The desk people are welcoming, the concierge is knowledgeable and "wired," the doorman and porters greet you pleasantly. When you get to your suite, assuming you have treated yourself to one, you wonder if you'd just as soon stay for a loong while. We've been coming to the Lowell for a few decades, and the place has maintained a delightfully high level of service all that time. The rooms have been refurbished more than once during that period. The latest do-over was A+ with respect to the bathroom in our last suite -- a very worldly friend commented, on seeing the bathroom, "I want a bathroom just like this!" Our bed had about 10 pillows on it, making choosing just the right one a snap. Usually higher rooms are hotter (hot air rises, after all) but to our delight our suite on the 14th floor was not unpleasantly warm. The hotel only has two tiny elevators, one of which is not infrequently out of service, which is inconvenient, but the only fly I can identify in this particular ointment -- or, rather, balm.

Room Tip: Higher is quieter. Corner rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed at Lowell during a business trip.
The hotel is perfectly located in an elegant residential area right east of central park south. You just need 2 block to reach the underground. When in nyc, avoid midtown, too bustling.

The hotel itself is very elegant, boutique size, intimate. The staff is extremely welcoming, professional yet friendly.
I had a deluxe room and it was a perfect size.

I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011 via mobile

I believe we've been staying at the Lowell for approximately 15 years, usually visiting in the spring and fall. My wife and I have a favorite one-bedroom suite that we request, which is particularly nice in cool fall weather with its wood-burning fireplace. The suite has been totally renovated with a beautiful and spacious white marble bathroom and granite topped kitchenette. We use the Lowell as our base on these 5 night trips for forays to the theater, museums, restaurants and socializing with friends who are lucky enough to call NYC home. The Lowell is a welcome and ultra-comfortable respite from busy days and nights. We have also used it to host small cocktail gatherings in our suite, or order pizza up and watch a movie with friends. As I said, it feels like home and it's a tranquil and inviting respite to busy days and nights in the city. But above all, the real gems of the Lowell are its staff.
These people are there to serve in a friendly and professional manner. They're down to earth, but exacting in executing your wishes and making you feel welcome and very special. From desk managers, to doormen, to bell men, to waiters and housekeeping, we see very little turnover from year to year. I assume the Lowell personnel are treated well, enjoy their jobs, and therefore reciprocate to their guests. The concierges, John Mark and Philip, are outstanding resources, well connected, and eager to advise and facilitate. The Lowell is a small hotel with approximately 4 rooms or suites per floor on 17 floors. It is an old building, but gracious and elegant. If you enjoy your hotels large, sleek, and bustling, this isn't what you're looking for. If you want highly personal attention, elegantly timeless ambience, and a stellar east side location between Park and Madison, this is your place. However, like most things dear and unique, it comes at a price, and it will get your attention depending on what type of accommodation you
choose. But, that is a matter of choice, personal prioritiy and most likely frame of mind. The Lowell offers my wife and I everything we're looking for in NYC and we always look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Our first visit to the Lowell was a great success. Service, accommodation and location all met our expectations. We shall return !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I recently stayed here for the weekend with some girlfriends. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. Everything from the lobby to the room was absolutely amazing. The bellman greeted me before I was even out of the cab and check in was a breeze. The staff were polished, professional and warm. Upon entering the suite, Tony offered to light the fireplace for me.....amazing! I was also offered a beverage of my choice which was complimentary. This hotel is absolutely beautiful....the rooms were like an apartment and were quite cozy and contemporary. It is a great location on the upper east side and easily accessible to all the shopping on Madison Ave. Despite being in the middle of Manhattan, it was unbelievably quiet! I will definitely be back and most definitely recommend to anyone I can!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lowell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowell Hotel

Address: 28 East 63rd Street, Between Madison and Park Avenues, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#105 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lowell Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet, tree-lined street off Madison Avenue, The Lowell is in the heart of New York's most exclusive and fashionable Upper East Side. With only 49 individually decorated suites and 23 deluxe rooms, the hotel lavishes its guests with truly personalized service and great attention to detail. Among the many thoughtful touches are complimentary beverages upon arrival, Voss water at turndown and a selection of Bulgari amenities. Most suites have wood-burning fireplace, some have a terrace, and almost all have a fully equipped kitchen.The Pembroke Rooms serves afternoon tea and Sunday brunch. Along this Upper East Side location is a delight for our guests,with elegant boutiques, Fine bistros and restaurants, Central Park and Museum Mile's richness for the eye and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Hotels.com, LHW, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Lowell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowell Hotel New York City
Lowell New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.