We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel and worthy of a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Irving Place

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Irving Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Irving Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Irving Place, New York City, NY 10003 (Gramercy Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 451 hotels in New York City
Cranbury, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unique Hotel and worthy of a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed here for one night but wish it was longer. The hotel is in a great location (quiet street but very close to Union Square) and is different from other hotels nearby. It's a converted brownstone decorated to look like it's right out of the 30s. Our room was much bigger than any other hotel room I've stayed in NYC and the staff was great. I have no complaints about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
21
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. It's cozy, charming and very different than any other hotel I have stayed in in NYC. The staff is great-helpful, pleasant and quick to respond. The manager personally greeted me and took the time to chat. The morning breakfast is lovely and old fashioned. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom is small but efficient. There is a little street noise but it is NY. Great neighborhood. My new go-to place when I want to stay downtown!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have been in this hotel 3 times I me and my wife who loves this little hotel always stays in the same room.
makes you feel at home, it has a great location, we love the neighborhood, the staff is very kind and helpful will continue to stay there on our visits to the great city of NY

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Madame Olenska (Junior suite located on the second floor) last week. The outside noise during the night and early hours of the morning was absolutely unbearable.We hardly slept and left absolutely exhausted after paying $600/night.

I would recommend that the hotel consider the addition of sound proof windows. This would be a huge value add to the property and to the overall comfort of the guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have all stayed in boutique, five star, modern, classic hotels around the world. The Inn at Irving Place is a whole different experience. Shabby chic is one of the ways to describe it, staying at an old friends house could be another.
Yes the rooms need attention, yes there is no lift, BUT the middle of a great city, fantastic, understated service, the most comfortable beds.
And it just works.
I did not expect to like it, and I loved it.
I know its faults, but its warm, personal, comfortable and very welcoming.
A message to the Owner - invest a little more in the rooms, and don't mess it up.
It is an absolute jewel.

Room Tip: Irving is a very nice quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a lovely bed and breakfast. Cozy and comfortable, but really tired and dated. It reminded me of my single days in a NYC pre-war apartment. We were on the top floor (of three) and heard all the activity on the street first thing sunday morning. There was a continental breakfast in their very famous tea room, however, there was not enough light to ready the Sunday times. We were happy to only have to stay one night, but we were happy to stay the one night.

Room Tip: Do ask for the top floor. Though it may be hot in the summer, you will hear a tad less street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay at this hotel. Open again just after Hurricane Sandy it was warm & friendly. Decorated in an old-world style, great thought has gone in to every detail. It really is a calm tranquil oasis to escape to from the 'madness' of NYC! Very friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Irving Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Irving Place

Address: 56 Irving Place, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Irving Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Inn housed in 2 Greek Revival Townhouses dating from 1834. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn at Irving Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Irving Place Hotel New York City
Hotel At Irving Place
At Irving Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Irving Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.