We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in the City” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Irving Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Irving Place to your Saves list
The Inn at Irving Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Irving Place, New York City, NY 10003 (Gramercy Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #363 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sleepless in the City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Madame Olenska (Junior suite located on the second floor) last week. The outside noise during the night and early hours of the morning was absolutely unbearable.We hardly slept and left absolutely exhausted after paying $600/night.

I would recommend that the hotel consider the addition of sound proof windows. This would be a huge value add to the property and to the overall comfort of the guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    7
    8
    6
See reviews for
2
24
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mougins, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have all stayed in boutique, five star, modern, classic hotels around the world. The Inn at Irving Place is a whole different experience. Shabby chic is one of the ways to describe it, staying at an old friends house could be another.
Yes the rooms need attention, yes there is no lift, BUT the middle of a great city, fantastic, understated service, the most comfortable beds.
And it just works.
I did not expect to like it, and I loved it.
I know its faults, but its warm, personal, comfortable and very welcoming.
A message to the Owner - invest a little more in the rooms, and don't mess it up.
It is an absolute jewel.

Room Tip: Irving is a very nice quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a lovely bed and breakfast. Cozy and comfortable, but really tired and dated. It reminded me of my single days in a NYC pre-war apartment. We were on the top floor (of three) and heard all the activity on the street first thing sunday morning. There was a continental breakfast in their very famous tea room, however, there was not enough light to ready the Sunday times. We were happy to only have to stay one night, but we were happy to stay the one night.

Room Tip: Do ask for the top floor. Though it may be hot in the summer, you will hear a tad less street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay at this hotel. Open again just after Hurricane Sandy it was warm & friendly. Decorated in an old-world style, great thought has gone in to every detail. It really is a calm tranquil oasis to escape to from the 'madness' of NYC! Very friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massanutten, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

It was like staying in a Goodwill store. Or at Grandma's house. I assume when the furniture was first purchased, they selected unique pieces for each room - which is nice but the problem with this is that you can't just grab replacement chair #6 from basement storage when it gets old, stained and broken. The entertainment was good though, I got to watch a mouse explore the room while I was in bed. It must be a regular patron as it was there all three nights. I named it Peter and bought it a focaccia from Starbucks. The front desk people were very nice. This hotel could actually be great, it just needs some money spent on it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed one Sunday night as a stopover for JFK and was very impressed. A different location from the norm down in Grammercy which allowed us to explore a new area of the city. A 1930s vibe here in this two-storey brownstone, our room on the second floor was chic and well furnished with a good solid bed. It's not a modern decor hotel but has free wi-fi and all you would expect from a quality modern hotel and more personal front of house service than most. All was clean and tidy so I was surprised at some other TA reviews. We had English high tea in the hotel which was a treat to be savoured. It's difficult to relax and not overdo things in Manhattan, but this hotel made it easy.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

A shame to review this beautiful hotel so poorly... They used to have it all: charm, location, antiques, freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast, the nicest tea room... But now it is so dirty and not that well kept anymore. Very worn and asking for some attentive maintenance soon.

Room Tip: Bring your own broom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Inn at Irving Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Irving Place

Address: 56 Irving Place, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Irving Place 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Inn housed in 2 Greek Revival Townhouses dating from 1834. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Irving Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Irving Place Hotel New York City
Hotel At Irving Place
At Irving Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Irving Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.