We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and gorgeous building but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Irving Place

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Irving Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Irving Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Irving Place, New York City, NY 10003 (Gramercy Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 451 hotels in New York City
Massanutten, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location and gorgeous building but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

It was like staying in a Goodwill store. Or at Grandma's house. I assume when the furniture was first purchased, they selected unique pieces for each room - which is nice but the problem with this is that you can't just grab replacement chair #6 from basement storage when it gets old, stained and broken. The entertainment was good though, I got to watch a mouse explore the room while I was in bed. It must be a regular patron as it was there all three nights. I named it Peter and bought it a focaccia from Starbucks. The front desk people were very nice. This hotel could actually be great, it just needs some money spent on it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
21
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed one Sunday night as a stopover for JFK and was very impressed. A different location from the norm down in Grammercy which allowed us to explore a new area of the city. A 1930s vibe here in this two-storey brownstone, our room on the second floor was chic and well furnished with a good solid bed. It's not a modern decor hotel but has free wi-fi and all you would expect from a quality modern hotel and more personal front of house service than most. All was clean and tidy so I was surprised at some other TA reviews. We had English high tea in the hotel which was a treat to be savoured. It's difficult to relax and not overdo things in Manhattan, but this hotel made it easy.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

A shame to review this beautiful hotel so poorly... They used to have it all: charm, location, antiques, freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast, the nicest tea room... But now it is so dirty and not that well kept anymore. Very worn and asking for some attentive maintenance soon.

Room Tip: Bring your own broom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Beautifully decorated and well kept, felt like we were somewhere a bit special. Very comfortable bed very quiet considering the excellent location. Ideal for a quiet, relaxing and romantic retreat when one has been walking aroung NYC all day. We had complimentery Prosecco on arrival (not sure whether this was becasue we were on honeymoon or not - they didn't say)! I loved the variety of teas available too. The attitude of some of the staff left a bit to be desired but on the whole excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We had planned on a five night stay and left after one. If you squint, the room in this old townhouse was amazing, but with eyes wide open, the room was in a rather sad poor state:
- Mold in the mini bar / fridge
- Furniture falling apart (beyond shabby chic and into plain shabby territory)
- Stale musty smell that cannot be covered by all of the gardenia-scented candles burning in the halls
- rusted shower caddy
- paint peeling off walls
- doors to bathroom pipes left open
- grime caked onto light switches

This place has such great potential and I imagine at one point was fabulous. At the prices they ask, The Inn at Irving Place should spend more on keeping the rooms up.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

We went there for afternoon tea and booked several days ago. Time limit is one and half an hour but we were 20 minutes late because of the trains. Maybe I just expect too much, but... I don't think afternoon tea should be like this way... We had very rushed courses one after another because of our time. They served u next couse before u even finished the last one. We feel so uncomfortable worrying about they will ask us to leave next minute. I feel so guity for my friends cause it's all my fault to suggest this place to "enjoy" our lazy afternoon. Can't forget it. Really bad experience in NYC..

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Irving Place is a quiet street in Manhattan, near the Garmercy Park, Union Square, ABC Carpet & Home, the village...
Without the name at the door, only the number: 56. And through the door, all is magic.
A helpful and correct staff, amazing interior design, adorable rooms with fireplace. The breakfast at the Lady Mendl´s excelent.
You can expect to encounter Edith Wharton in the corridors. Worth it if you can afford it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Irving Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Irving Place

Address: 56 Irving Place, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Irving Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Inn housed in 2 Greek Revival Townhouses dating from 1834. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn at Irving Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Irving Place Hotel New York City
Hotel At Irving Place
At Irving Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Irving Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.