We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Lane Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Park Lane Hotel to your Saves list
Park Lane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Enjoy Fall with 10% off
Ranked #256 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

While the hotel is not the "grande dame" it once was, we had a very nice stay. We arrived at 4:00 pm and was checked in quickly. Had asked for an upgrade to a park view room if available. Got a great full park view room on the 19th floor and was pleased with the room. The bathroom did have some strange odor in it when we first arrived, but a little room freshner took care of that. The common areas around the lobby were very nice and Harry's Bar was a pleasant afternoon retreat. The bartender made wonderful old time cocktails and was very friendly. The little courtyard area outside was also nice for getting "take out" from the Plaza Food Hall and sitting outside to enjoy the weather.

Each employee we encountered was most courteous and helpful. No complaints here. This hotel gave us great value for our money. We will definitely consider this hotel when next we visit.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,
The Park Lane Hotel New York appreciates the opportunity to interact following your stay. The positive notations are greatly appreciated and it is humbling to receive recognition in delivering a great experience. The Park Lane team sends our warmest regards and certainly hopes you will choose our hotel for future travel accommodations.

Joseph Falco,
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    1,082
    463
    215
    134
See reviews for
616
1,080
121
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This was listed as a four star hotel. No more! Had stayed there several times in the past, but not in past two years. Room was tired. Drapes hanging off hooks. Sheets are worn out. Twin quilt on full size bed. Towels are worn out. Wi Fi appears free as you sign in, without indication of the daily charge, which appears on the bill. Rooms need refurbished.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Peter K,
The Park Lane Hotel New York thanks you for your recent review. It is upsetting to learn of your dissatisfaction with the conditions of your occupied room. Would you kindly provide the room number and details of your reservation? Our Operations team will investigate the conditions of the room and issue repairs and replacement of the areas you outlined. Also you had noted that Wi-Fi is advertised as free at sign in. We have revisited the sign in page and online amenity details to ensure the incurring of a daily service charge is outlined. Did you experience any other issues with the Wi-Fi service i.e connectivity troubles or incorrect charges? Again, please feel free to reply via email or T.A direct message to discuss in further detail. The Park Lane Hotel New York greatly values your business and customer feedback.


Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

If you want to be in the middle of Manhattan, this is a very good hotel to book. Directly facing the south end of Central Park, the hotel is very easy to find and a good place to start exploring the rest of Manhattan from. Steps from some very good restaurants too. My room did not have a view, but for the low price I paid I could not complain. The room itself was large and very comfortable, lots of room for my stuff and a large bathroom. I also used the courtyard space outside. The staff were very helpful when I couldn't make the (paid for) internet work, and fixed it very promptly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear North Beach UK,
Thank you for choosing the Park Lane Hotel New York. On behalf of the hotel team, we extend our warmest wishes and gratitude for the positve recognition of staff service. Your return intent is greatly appreciated and we highly anticipate your next visit.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Hotels in NY are expensive, so this hotel is a good value. The location on Central Park is excellent - near several subway stops. 5th Avenue is a block or two down and Columbus Circle is nearby the other direction. You are right next to Central Park, so you can pop in for a walk or breakfast in the morning. The hotel itself is very nice, lobby is beautifully decorated. The rooms are nicely decorated. Beds were comfortable and everything was clean. They sell coffee in the lobby in the morning which was convenient. Speedy checkout. Only thing to note: if you try to call the main office from your room - no one picks up. There is not a "main desk" option on the phone so it's confusing as to how to get ahold of anyone. So you need to go downstairs for questions. Not a show stopper to us, but annoying. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were told to get a higher room - were on 20th floor which is halfway up, it was pretty quiet, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Peggy K,
The Park Lane Hotel New York greatly values your business and shared feedback. Thank you for the positive acknowledgment of the overall hotel decor, bedding and services. The hotel Operator receives all incoming calls from guest rooms and dispatches to the appropriate department. We apologize for the inconvenience of having to communicate your requests in person, due the failure to respond to your calls. Your return intent is very much appreciated and we look forward to your accommodating your travel needs in the future.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

After staying at two fantastic hotels on our trip for our 25 th Wedding Anniversary this hotel was such a let down. It is dated dirty and staff not pro active. Described as luxury the only luxury is the park view if you get one. The first room a deluxe queen was overcrowded dirty dark with a city view! View of back of buildings. We did get an upgrade but the only redeeming feature was the view! Floor 11 you could still hear traffic and air conditioning noisy . We did get an upgraded room on floor 33. I'm not sure I would call new wall paper carpet and a few drapes enough to warrant the star grading. Fridge in bathroom no mini bar ,no information booklet on hotel, cracked tiles in very dated bathroom with a shower curtain. Staff unable to explain how it was.luxury! Would not recommend. Pictures on sites of upgraded rooms and no pictures of terrible bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Christine C,
Thank you for choosing the Park Lane Hotel New York and sharing feedback from your recent visit. It is concerning to learn of your dissatisfaction with the provided guest room accommodations. The hotels deluxe category rooms are the lowest floors of the building and are positioned with a City view. This room category is our basic inventory and is priced within the lowest tier of nightly rates. Executive and Premier room categories are located on elevated floors and boast City views in many guest rooms. Much of the hotel inventory has received restorations and upgrades over the recent months. According to the details of your review, it seems our Front Office team extended their best efforts to provide a room that met your preferences, hence the two room moves. On behalf of Hotel Management, we apologize for the areas guest rooms that were unsatisfactory. We will certainly investigate and issue all necessary repairs.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

My daughter and I were very impressed by the location and reassuring efficiency of the hotel - great views over Central Park from our comfortable room, and the city all around us to explore. We came over from the UK for her 21st birthday, as a specially requested treat, and this choice of hotel certainly did not disappoint. I would certainly stay here again on any future visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Ginny16_12,
The hotel team would like to extend a belated happy birthday to your daughter. We are ecstatic to have delivered a pleasant stay for you and your family. Your return intent is much appreciated and we anticipate a future reservation at the Park Lane Hotel New York.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Beautiful location, helpful bellman, very courteous attendant at reception, however our room was not ready at 9:15PM! This was very disappointing and frustrating as we have a young child. We were told the previous guest had 6PM checkout, even though our check in time was for 3PM. I have never in my life heard of this happening before. We were told by the manager that it would be another 30 minutes before we could get to our room. She was not apologetic or helpful other than saying she would call housekeeping. We paid a premium rate for a view of Central Park for 4 nights, but we were told by the manager we were LUCKY we still had the room because they were so crowded. I am sorry but why take reservations only to tell someone the hotel is overbooked when they arrive. We had complimentary drinks and bar food but did not get into our room until 10PM. Our hotel door was not even closed. It was left open, and felt very annoyed to enter an unlocked room.
The room is outdated, but it's fine. It's quiet, the beds are comfortable, clean towels, housekeeping staff are very quiet. The bathroom shower curtain smells musty, and the air vent in the bathroom is covered in thick grey dust. I thought it was paint until I touched it. Pretty disgusting!
The hotel seems fine in most aspects, but sometimes first impressions are the one that last. It was a poor start to NYC for holiday weekend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear RNmom2014,
The Park Lane Hotel New York thanks you for your valued business and shared guest feedback. The delays experienced at check-in are certainly an extreme circumstance and the hotel accepts full accountability. There was an error in overbooking your reserved room type and the hotel was at full occupancy the evening of and prior your arrival. The Front Office team did attempt to recover from the negative experience by providing complimentary food and drinks at Harry's Bar. Was an alternative room extended for immediate check-in and a room move for the following day? This option certainly should have been presented by the staff. On behalf of Hotel Management, we apologize for this issue and the bathroom conditions noted. Please feel free to contact us directly should you wish to discuss your stay in further detail or provide additional feedback.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
jfalco@parklanenewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel

Address: 36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
#220 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#225 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Lane Hotel - A Central Park Hotel, is a luxury 46-story hotel with panoramic views of legendary Central Park and the iconic New York City skyline. Spacious, elegant Guest Rooms and Guest Suites offer picture windows and superb views along with exquisite bath products, fine linens and other amenities. This iconic Hotel sits directly on the edge of beautiful Central Park, offering gracious services to ensure a fulfilling stay. From on-site dining at the renowned Park Room Restaurant to cocktails at Harry's New York Bar & Lounge, the Park Lane Hotel wants to make your visit to New York an enjoyable one. We offer a Fitness Center, Mail Service, Internet Access, and more. Located directly on Central Park, in the Midtown Manhattan Business District, Park Lane Hotel is just steps from Fifth Avenue Shopping, Broadway Theaters, Museum Mile, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center and many other NYC Activities and New York Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Park Lane Hotel New York City
Helmsley Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Lane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.