We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beds!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Park Lane Hotel to your Saves list
Park Lane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Enjoy Winter with 10% off
Ranked #257 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great beds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Check in was swift and friendly and the room was ready for our arrival at noon. As requested, we had a view on Central Park, which really made our stay! The room size is excellent, with two queen size beds that were extremely comfortable and inviting! The bathroom was outdated and amenities poor! It was pleasant to have a fluffy bathrobe...I was surprised that the hotel does not offer a turn down service early evening, replacing towels and primping up the room...I would have expected this for a hotel of this class...breakfast was Ok although the waiter had a blank loom when I asked for gluten free toast...he was not too pleased to have to serve anyway...I queried the bill at checkout and the item queried was taken off promptly, without explanation or apology...
Overall service could be better, but the room itself was totally great!

Room Tip: Ask for a park view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear jacquelinem449,
We are ecstatic to learn of your overall positive stay at the Park Lane Hotel New York. We were able to deliver on providing early arrival accommodations and Park view upgrade. A fantastic job to turn the room around early by our Housekeeping team! The Park Room Restaurant does not currently serve gluten free bread, but it is certainly something we will look into for the future. Please accept an apology on behalf of our F&B staff for the billing error. Please consider the Park Lane Hotel New York in future travel arrangements.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    1,098
    468
    220
    135
See reviews for
623
1,094
122
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SLC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Lets start with the good. This hotel is in a great part of the city, across from Central Park, near shopping areas and time square. The location is about all I can say that is positive about this hotel.

For starters, the accommodations are ok, but there are far fewer in room amenities that you would expect. No in-room refrigerator, no mini-bar, not even waters provided in the room. The light in our bathroom was flickering and the alarm clock wire was stripped and didn't work. The hotel room itself was nice but outdated.

We wanted to grab ice for a bottle of wine we had in our room but found that there wasn't an ice machine on our floor. When we called the front desk to bring us some, it took 45 minutes and we were walking down the hall to dinner when we saw the ice arrive. The hotel has no room service and the restaurant closes at odd hours.

Aside from the offerings of the hotel, we had a bad experience with the front desk staff and the manager. Our party had booked four rooms, three standard and one suite. We ended up cancelling one but agreed to pay for the first night because of the late cancellation. The front desk told us it was taken care of. The next day we discovered that it had not been taken care of. When we spoke with the font desk they questioned us on who we spoke to and what we said. They were less than accommodating to a group who was still using three rooms (including the suite).

On another day of our trip, I called down to the concierge to find a good place for a large party to eat for brunch. I told the Concierge we had 9 people and he interrupted me to say he would put me on hold to find something. When he got back on the phone I thanked him for the suggestions and explained that we wanted some place that was available in the next 30 minutes. I understand this could be difficult but that is why we were asking him. He sounds as if I'd asked him the most ridiculous question ever. He again interrupted me and said that I would have to hold on while he looked into it. I asked him to look into the Plaza Hotel ( I had been by in about and hour earlier and it didn't seem crowded) he got back to me by saying the restaurant at the Plaza was closed (which I know wasn't true) and that the only other suggestion he had was the Food Hall.

We headed to the Food hall and discovered they have a seated restaurant that was available to seat us within 5 minutes. So much for using the concierge.

Overall, this is a hotel that has a lot of things that holds it back. For a hotel that is placed between the Plaza Hotel, the JW Marriott Essex house and St. Regis, this place falls way below the mark. Won't be staying here again. My experience at this hotel would not reflect the caliber they attempt to market themselves at.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear ItstheNaz,
Thank you for choosing the Park Lane Hotel New York. In response to the areas outlined in your review, we sincerely apologize for the service inconveniences that hindered a positive experience. The amenities you list of refrigerator, water and ice are available upon request. Our Housekeeping team gladly provides these items via delivery to guest rooms and the service should not take 45 minutes. Also your experience with our in-house Concierge was subpar. Hotel Management has since reviewed these experiences with the Hotel Operations staff and can assure any future stay of yours will exceed your expectations. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to change your impression of our hotel and deliver a true Park Lane experience. Please feel free to contact me directly upon a future booking and we will ensure you receive quality accommodations & service.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

It is the little things that holds this place back. Otherwise, it is an excellent hotel.

First the negative. Our taxi brought us in from the airport and pulled up to the front entrance. A bellman was standing about five feet from us as we struggled to get our luggage out and into the hotel. The entire time the bellman was busy talking to someone who appeared to be a friend and made no effort whatsoever to help. As the saying goes, you only get one chance to make a first impression.

Our room was an executive king, and was spacious and well decorated. Other than having repeated trouble with malfunctioning electronic room keys, the room exceeded expectations. The bed was comfortable with nice linens. Harry's Bar is a delightful spot for a drink. The hotel location is ideal for shopping, dining or theater going.

In spite of the couple of annoying issues, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear sfinestone,
The Park Lane Hotel New York values business and return intent. The negatives outlined in your review have been communicated to Hotel Management with the means to improve service. A positive first impression is imperative and a positive guest experience begins immediately upon arrival. Hotel bellmen are our ambassadors and first interaction for guests. It is the first interaction with a guest that will set the tone for remainder of the stay and a positive sentiment that we aim to capture every time. Hotel Management apologizes for the inadequate service received and we will pursue the necessary means for future remedy. We have since reviewed the details of your comment with the Front Office team, as well as re-visited hotel policy & procedure. The hotel key system has recently experienced issues with malfunctioning key cards, which inconveniences our guest to stop at the desk during their stay. The hotel has purchased new locks and key card system for all guest rooms. Deployment and installation of the locks are scheduled for completion by early fourth quarter. We thank you for your patience and understanding during this process. We hope to welcome you back to the Park Lane Hotel New York for a return visit with the opportunity to exhibit our facility and service improvements.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed August 21 to 24, 2014. Location amazing South end of Central Park and located next to iconic Plaza Hotel and The Ritz. Also next to Sarabeths great spot for breakfast or lunch.
The hotel room was just ok bed is comfortable and towels very big. Bathroom is small, hair dryer did not work and carpet in room was worn and stained. We did not have a view of the park but view facing west. I would recommend of course a view of the park and above the 20th floor. Elevators are fast did not have to wait. One major frustration was the slamming of doors at any hour, just the way the doors are nothing other guest did intentionally.
Harry's Bar was nice to enjoy a cocktail but a tad pricey the restaurant was not open at the time we were downstairs but again view amazing but decor is very dated.
I was excited to stay here to see if the hotel was still as luxurious as it was in the late 70's and 80's when Leona was head of it ALL, but now it's just a shell of what it was. You can't beat location and I assume views of the park. Also subway is near and just up the street from Columbus Circle.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Tj0821,
Thank you for choosing the Park Lane Hotel New York and sharing your experience with us. We appreciate all feedback and certainly utilize areas of concern to implement service improvements. We will be sure to address the hair dryer and carpet in your occupied guest room for repairs. Our hotel location is a great selling point, however it is the product and service within the building that make us an iconic hotel in the NYC Midtown area. We hope to welcome you for a return stay in the future.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

checked into the hotel in the night. excellent location. pretty puped up about our first visit to NYC.
however the hotel was a disappointment.

there was no mini bar whatsoever. the toilets are really small and there was a strange smell in the room. The carpets were very very dirty and there were no complimentary water bottles in the room.

We asked to change the room to a better one but were denied that as well.
Luckily, our friends in the city picked us up the next day and stayed there only for 1 night out of our 3 night booking.
Excellent location though with 5th ave right next door.
minor renovations going on inside when we reached.

Room Tip: maybe try to get a room which is park facing. might have to pay more for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Jaimalik,
Thank you valued customer for sharing feedback from your recent visit to the Park Lane Hotel New York. It is unfortunate that you chose to shorten the length of your stay due to disappointment in the hotel facilities and service. It is possible that the hotel was sold out on your arrival date, however the team is trained to exhaust all options to provide room accommodations that suite our guest or issue a room move for the following day. On behalf of Hotel Management, we apologize for the inability to issue an immediate room move. The hotel is conducting renovations while remaining fully operational. We thank you for your patience and understanding during this process and hope you will consider re-visiting the Park Lane Hotel New York in the future. We are confident in delivering five star quality service and changing your perception of the hotel.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Great views good housekeeping bell stuff no class or manners just money greedy bellman named Elwin talked back to me and walk away without help after asking him for my lagguage we spend 5 days and 2 rooms

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Aggismith,
Thank you for choosing the Park Lane Hotel New York. It is upsetting to learn of your negative experience with the Housekeeping and Bellman staff. It is our objective to exhibit five star quality service and empowered staff members that take pride in exceeding guest expectations. You most certainly deserve a higher level of customer service and a true Park Lane experience. Rest assured that Hotel Management has addressed this concern with the entire hotel team to ensure no future guest experience is hindered. Again, we thank you for your valued business and shared feedback.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

25 floor , amazing View , no restaurant inside for lunch, only breakfast.
The hotel is full. Too many traffic inside. The Doorman are very useful.
The room is classic, not beautiful but clean. It's a very noisy but we are directly on Central Park and the price was good.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear heureux-epicurien,
The Park Lane Hotel New York team thanks you for your valued business and shared guest feedback. We are pleased to hear that your stay was an overall success and positive experience. The iconic Harry's Bar is a food & beverage outlet on site with extended hours, throughout the day for lunch and dinner. Please join us for dining accommodations upon your next visit. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel

Address: 36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Business Hotel in New York City
#222 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Lane Hotel - A Central Park Hotel, is a luxury 46-story hotel with panoramic views of legendary Central Park and the iconic New York City skyline. Spacious, elegant Guest Rooms and Guest Suites offer picture windows and superb views along with exquisite bath products, fine linens and other amenities. This iconic Hotel sits directly on the edge of beautiful Central Park, offering gracious services to ensure a fulfilling stay. From on-site dining at the renowned Park Room Restaurant to cocktails at Harry's New York Bar & Lounge, the Park Lane Hotel wants to make your visit to New York an enjoyable one. We offer a Fitness Center, Mail Service, Internet Access, and more. Located directly on Central Park, in the Midtown Manhattan Business District, Park Lane Hotel is just steps from Fifth Avenue Shopping, Broadway Theaters, Museum Mile, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center and many other NYC Activities and New York Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Park Lane Hotel New York City
Helmsley Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Lane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.