We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location-good value-needs updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Lane Hotel to your Saves list
Park Lane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #252 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Location-good value-needs updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Park Lane has the best location--right across the street from Southern End of Central Park. Located in a very upscale neighborhood right off of 5th avenue. Close access to the subway and very near museums. Very short ride to Broadway by taxi- non rush hour. The service and the staff at the hotel are excellent. The hotel needs some updating in regard to lighting and decor. However- the price versus other hotels in the area is a good value.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of Central Park are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you Stephen11000 for your recent review. It is wonderful to hear of your positive feedback regarding hotel location and staff service. In response to your notation of lighting and decor, the hotel currently is in the transition of changing all bulbs on property to LED high resolution. The lighting has already made a huge impact in our lobby and restaurant areas. The Lobby is scheduled to undergo a decor upgrade in the coming months. Again, we thank you and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Mananger- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    1,268
    542
    251
    161
See reviews for
781
1,266
151
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (828)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Firstly don't use Bookings.com to make your reservation. Either find another site or preferably call the hotel direct.
After a 15 hr 20 min flight followed by the usual and speedy happenings at JFK I arrived to find that my room was not available as promised!!!!! Now nothing can be more irate inflaming than that! Right! Edita on the front desk took charge. Within the hour I was given temporary accommodation with promise of an upgrade to a front room. The view across the park is fabulous.
The Park Lane lives up to it'sLondon name sake. Friendly personnel, excellent service with everyone making sure your stay runs smoothly. Breakfasts are a taste bud's delight as is the view of the park from the dining room's huge arched windows.
I love the location of the hotel ... Central to Fifth Ave and Columbus Circle.
Had it not been for Edita's persistence and determination with the reservation system I might well have blown a fuse! I stayed calm.... And now enjoy the rewards!
If there is a problem the Park Lane Hotel staff will resolved it.

Room Tip: I'm on the 15th floor and love listening to the Central Park horse and carriage parade. This is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Jocelin K,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your positive interactions with hotel staff; particularly Edita who was able to turn a negative start to your trip into an overall positive stay. The view of Central park from your guest room on a summer day can turn any frown upside down. We are glad Edita was able to make the room category upgrade happen for you. We look forward to your return visit to the Park Lane Hotel New York.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Alexandre, France
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last month for a few days. The staff could not have been more welcoming, helpful and kind, always smiling and of good cheer. The rooms, even with the splendid view of Central Park, feel like your grand-mother's, and really could use some freshening. And the bathrooms................
The whole place really needs some serious renovation.

But, again, the staff were so lovely, we will stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you prohatyn for choosing the Park Lane Hotel New York. Your positive evaluation of the hotel staff is much appreciated. We will be sure to share your feedback with our front house team. We hope to welcome you back for a return visit.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were here for one night for a workshop that we were giving at the Museum of Art and Design (MAD), and booked the Park Lane due to its location and proximity to MAD. We also booked it, as we wanted to be close to mid-town and the location next to Central Park. Overall, it was super convenient, and was right next to the F stop, and in close (a few block) proximity to the 1/2/3 and N/R stations. The room we had was on the 8th floor, and it was a quiet unit, as we had asked for that, and looked into an interior courtyard. For the one night we were there, it was all we needed. However, the interior design of the room was very dated, but for those who like more of a Louis the XIV kind of feel, this would suit them just fine.

Room Tip: Remember to call or email them in advance if you would like to choose a quiet room. Close proximi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear adoptme,
Your traveler feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to the property for an extended stay, where you can receive the full Park Lane experience through dining in our Park Room restaurant and an Executive Park room view, overlooking the Central Park South area. Thank you and warmest wishes!

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed here around christmas time and had a very good stay. The rooms are reasonably priced, and the dining room is really something, we had a wonderful brunch there with fabulous views. We stayed in a city view room and my only complaint would be that it was a little run down, without much of a view of the city. I also called in advance and specifically asked for a room on one of the higher floors, which we didn't get. It makes me wonder if they just give you lip service when you call ahead, instead of actually noting anything. Besides that I have no complaints.

Room Tip: If you get a city view room ask for one up high at the front desk, because apparently when you call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you SpencerB123 for your review of late 2013 visit to the Park Lane Hotel New York. Your feedback of a positive dining experience in the Park Room Restaurant is greatly appreciated. Since your stay, the hotel has made some major improvements to the quality of common areas and guest rooms. Menu options in the restaurant have enhanced and still boast the amazing views of Central Park from every seat in the house! Sorry to hear you were unable to stay in a Park view room category. The hotel staff does its absolute best at balancing the house and offering the upscale view rooms to as many guests possible, however first priority goes to the guests that specifically booked that room type. Please inform the Reservations team on your return visit and we will push your request forward.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My family and I picked the Park Lane Hotel specifically for its convenient location. It has been one in a life time trip for me and my kids, however; once we arrived we waited 4 hours to get to hour room. Thank to Ewelina the front desk manager, our wait turn to be more pleasurable than we expected. Even tho we had to wait she accommodated us with free complimentary breakfast and room upgrade on top of the wait.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear NovakovaAnna,
Thank you for choosing the Park Lane Hotel New York in your family's travel arrangements to NYC. Apologies on the delay checking into your room upon arrival. Ewelina was able to exhibit superb customer service and make the wait as pleasantly possible through complimentary breakfast and a room category upgrade. The willingness to go above and beyond for our guests is instilled in our staff from top to bottom. It is wonderful to read of examples where we made a positive different in someone’s stay. Again, thank you and we hope to welcome your family to the Park lane Hotel New York once again.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Although the hotel bathrooms need some renovating, the staff especially at the front office is so friendly and truly cares. Ewelina the office manager was superb. She recommended the bar in the hotel and gave us a complimentary cocktail because our room was not ready, by the time we had finished our drink our room was ready. (The view of central park was amazing).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Kevin T,
On behalf of the Park Lane Hotel New York we thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your post-departure feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your complimentary cocktails at Harry's Bar, courtesy of Ewelina. Any way our agents can supplement a positive experience for an unexpected inconvenience, our team will go above and beyond to follow through. Please consider the Park Lane in your future NYC travel accommodation needs.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel

Address: 36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#190 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#199 Business Hotel in New York City
#201 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Lane Hotel - A Central Park Hotel, is a luxury 46-story hotel with panoramic views of legendary Central Park and the iconic New York City skyline. Spacious, elegant Guest Rooms and Guest Suites offer picture windows and superb views along with exquisite bath products, fine linens and other amenities. This iconic Hotel sits directly on the edge of beautiful Central Park, offering gracious services to ensure a fulfilling stay. From on-site dining at the renowned Park Room Restaurant to cocktails at Harry's New York Bar & Lounge, the Park Lane Hotel wants to make your visit to New York an enjoyable one. We offer a Fitness Center, Mail Service, Internet Access, and more. Located directly on Central Park, in the Midtown Manhattan Business District, Park Lane Hotel is just steps from Fifth Avenue Shopping, Broadway Theaters, Museum Mile, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center and many other NYC Activities and New York Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Park Lane Hotel New York City
Helmsley Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Lane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.