We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Charming Nostalgia"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Lane Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Park Lane Hotel to your Saves list
Park Lane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Enjoy Fall with 10% off
Ranked #255 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Charming Nostalgia"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Park Lane is an elegant hotel in a perfect location, walking distance to the Met and the Metropolitan museum, MOMA, theaters and Broadway.
Park Lane Hotel is not super-modern, there are no purple or green flashing lights in the lobby, bizarre art on the walls or expanses of black marble in the bathroom. There was no refrigerator, coffee machine or courtesy water in our room either. WiFi was not free. But the room was large with comfortable bed, beautiful linens, desk, table, armchairs and a well appointed bathroom. The lighting in the room was excellent.
Park Lane Hotel is comfortable and charming, the way elegant hotels of the past were. Apart from comfort, it provides prompt and accommodating room cleaning services, a helpful concierge service and a dining room with a lovely view over Central Park. Breakfast was very good if somewhat pricey. Lunch, on the other hand, was quite excellent and not pricey at all; the service was unwaveringly good and the checkout efficient.
It is hard to imagine a nicer place to stay in New York if one is going to the opera, or a concert at Carnegie Hall, or to visit the museums. We wish it would remain the way it is.
We would like to come back. Well, perhaps, if it is not too much to ask, a little fridge or a coffee maker would be nice.

Room Tip: Have lunch in the dinning room.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    1,089
    464
    216
    135
See reviews for
618
1,086
121
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Vacations aren't meant to be spent inside your hotel room, unless you're on a spa holiday of course- but yes the rooms are a bit dated- which is fine if you ask me because that's part of the charm! That being said, the Park Lane is superbly located opposite Central Park South and is a few buildings down from the Plaza's famous Food Hall, the Apple Store, Madison Avenue, and everything else Midtown New York has to offer.

Room Tip: Go for a park view room or a corner park/midtown view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is superb
The decor is dated but the rate was very fair
We had a city view room and the night time view of a city that never sleeps was terrific
Breakfast was good but very expensive
Again what would you expect for a dining room with a view over Central Park
Great staff older with old style manners and service
The Irish doormen were charming and chatty
The bedroom staff did a great job and our room was perfect every time
We would love to return and hope the new management will not price it out of our range
Highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel V, Guest Relations Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Deirde C,

We are very happy that you had great time with us. It sounds like you were able to enjoy both the lovely city view of the skyscrapers and Central Park in the dining room. Our staff have many years of experience and love to provide exceptional service. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Gabriel V
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Myrtle Beach, SC
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location in New York City....Central Park South....taxis everywhere.....restaurant in the hotel is wonderful and there are many restaurants nearby...very very safe....doorman always at door to help with anything....beautiful classy hotel...very comfy beds...love the bathrooms....everything....gorgeous lobby...I went there to practice music in the room with my music friends....lovely....park view is the best but more expensive....worth it....horses and carraiges out the window....beautiful trees.....great service....they let me and my musician friends stay in the restaurant way later than it closed...sweet.....

Room Tip: high room....park view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel V, Guest Relations Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear JB1894,

It is our pleasure to host you and we appreciate the positive feedback. Our location on Central Park South puts us in the center of the city and minutes away from 5th ave shopping, museums, and of course Central Park! We pride ourselves on service and it is wonderful to hear that you “love staying here.” Thank you and we look forward to having you and your friends stay with us again.

Gabriel V
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel is in transition. It was recently purchased from the Helmsley estate and there are likely plans to turn it into condos (or a condo/hotel combination) which could mean demolishing it and rebuilding. The location is among the finest in Manhattan, but the early 1970s building is dated would probably pose renovation challenges in order to bring it up to the standards of today’s luxury market.

The impression I got while staying there is that costs are being cut, and this is evidenced in small ways – minibars are not fully stocked (mine only had water & Coke), Harry’s Bar doesn't offer patrons chips/nuts; and in larger ways - the main dining room was closed for dinner. Perhaps they are looking to maximize cash flow while deciding what to do with the property. They can’t charge top dollar for the dated accommodations, so perhaps they’re filling rooms at reasonable rates while eliminating amenities.

The upside of all this for people looking for a great deal is that the room rates are really quite a bargain given the hotel’s amazing location. My “Executive King City View” overlooked the Plaza Hotel and part of Central Park and I assume that rooms directly facing the park have even better views. The room was large and well appointed; the staff was courteous and professional

There is definitely the feeling here that you are in an early 1970s time capsule – but the higher end of that era. This time warp feeling can have its pleasures, but it could be a turn-off for those desiring a more vibrant, contemporary experience. My room was clean, well-maintained, and had ample lighting. The furnishings were French Regency-style and included a large desk, a long marble-topped dresser, and two lounge chairs. The bathroom fixtures were dated but of good quality; the water pressure in the shower was excellent. Quality linens, bathrobes, slippers, and toiletries, were provided. The only negative about the room was the vintage forced air heater under the windows, which was noisy when the fan cycled on.

The corridors from the elevators to the rooms are very dimly lit with flush-mount crystal fixtures on metallic ceilings above gray wall finishes, giving them a "haunted discotheque" look.

Though the hotel restaurant was closed for dinner, I was able to wander in for a look and found a grand dining room with a wall of windows offering a panorama of the snow-covered trees of Central Park. The vantage point here is very special, as the room is positioned just above street level, offering unobstructed but human-scaled views of the park. It was somewhat poignant to be standing, at 8:00 PM, in a restaurant with some of the most romantic views in New York City and no one was there.

This hotel offers great value as long as you are not expecting to get a 5-star experience for a 3-4 star price. You’re getting the final days of a once fine hotel with an unparalleled location. A few years from now you’ll have to pay millions for a condo with these views!

Room Tip: Request a high floor or pay extra for a park view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The best part about my room was the view of Central Park. Being able to see the park is the only reason to stay in this hotel. The rooms are okay; the furniture could be updated. Room service is typical hotel is expensive but the breakfast in the main dining room is very nice so much so that it even gets crowded for breakfast!

Room Tip: Get a room with a Park view on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel V, Guest Relations Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear delen1,

Thank you very much for the review. Our park view rooms are magnificent and we are glad you enjoyed it. Our room décor is classical, but we can assure you that all our rooms have been recently renovated. The Park View Room Restaurant is very popular and sometimes there is a wait. I suggest calling ahead to reserve a table near the window for the best views and minimal wait time. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Gabriel V
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Staff was great and rates were fair. We had a "Park View Room" and the view was awesome but the room is old which in itself wasn't so bad. The water pressure (or lack there of) combined with the water conservation shower head and old faucets was not good. Bar was fun in spite of a surly older bar tender. We will go back and we look forward to these things getting better and I hope they are not just holding on until they can turn this one into another apartment with a nice address!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel V, Guest Relations Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear runnininthedark,

We appreciate you taking time to write this review. Thank you for the positive feedback as our staff loves to hear guests responses. I am sorry that the water pressure in the bathroom was not good. Our rooms have very strong water pressure and unfortunately the room you had most likely needed service. We currently are not planning to be converted into apartments and we would love to see you return and provide you with even better service!

Gabriel V
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel

Address: 36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
#221 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Lane Hotel - A Central Park Hotel, is a luxury 46-story hotel with panoramic views of legendary Central Park and the iconic New York City skyline. Spacious, elegant Guest Rooms and Guest Suites offer picture windows and superb views along with exquisite bath products, fine linens and other amenities. This iconic Hotel sits directly on the edge of beautiful Central Park, offering gracious services to ensure a fulfilling stay. From on-site dining at the renowned Park Room Restaurant to cocktails at Harry's New York Bar & Lounge, the Park Lane Hotel wants to make your visit to New York an enjoyable one. We offer a Fitness Center, Mail Service, Internet Access, and more. Located directly on Central Park, in the Midtown Manhattan Business District, Park Lane Hotel is just steps from Fifth Avenue Shopping, Broadway Theaters, Museum Mile, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center and many other NYC Activities and New York Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Park Lane Hotel New York City
Helmsley Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Lane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.