We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, average service, good bedroom, high price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Lane Hotel

Save Saved
You added Park Lane Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Lane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Enjoy Spring with 10% off
Ranked #294 of 449 hotels in New York City
Campinas, SP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice location, average service, good bedroom, high price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel has a nice view from central park, and that is the main reason to stay there. The room was good, with some signs of wearing. Nice old-fashioned furniture. Service was average, not high standard at all. Bathroom needs relift.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    561
    926
    385
    165
    118
See reviews for
450
871
89
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Although the hotel location is great (across from Central Park and shopping) this hotel is very lack luster.

Our room was very old and dirty. There was actually sand and dirt in our toilet and it never sent away. There was no mini bar in the room or bottled water. Would rather spend a little more and stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is directly across from Central Park, a short walk from Bloomingdale's, and within walking distance of the theater district. Just a great location. We had a park view room on 44th floor. Fantastic views at least until the last day when the window shade broke. The room was large and king bed comfortable. But we could never get the room cool enough. We did not eat at the hotel but did visit the bar. A really lame bar for such a nice hotel. At checkout noticed charges for minibar which we never used. This seems to be a problem at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I booked this hotel as a surprise for our honeymoon. I paid extra for a good room and got a free upgrade to a junior executive suite. The room was outstanding. The bed massive and the most comfortable we have slept in. The view of Central Park was amazing and is definitely worth paying extra to get a higher up room to make the most of the view. We had room service dinner while here and the food was fine. The continental breakfast too was fine and more than enough for us. There was a breakfast place next door to the hotel which was recommended but after paying $80 for breakfast we decided continental was fine. The hotel restaurant is Harrys Bar which looked fine but does not overlook the park as some of the pictures suggest.

We were surprised at the restaurants nearby to the hotel. It was either very fancy (Gordon Ramseys is close) or very poor. Anything in between was a walk away and usually packed out (we visited in July). We found some of the Irish bars were a good in between for us.

For shopping the location can't be beat. You are a 1 minute walk away from 5th Avenue. For theatre district again the hotel is good. It is only a 15-20 min walk to the theatres and Times Square.

The jewel in the hotels crown is its location to the park. Right across the road. There is so much to do and see in the park and it begins with the zoo which is closest to the hotel. The Loeb boat house is just a 20 min stroll away and there is a few bike hire places very close to the hotel. Do not use the guys on the street trying to sell you a bike. They sell a lot more than bikes and are a bit more expensive.

Although the hotel is between the ritz and the Plaza it's prices are much more reasonable for the average person.

The only reason the hotel did not get 5 stars is shock we got form a laundry bill. I sent 11 pairs of underwear and socks to get cleaned and got hit with a $189 bill! There was nothing to explain costs before hand and although I expected to pay more I never expected that.

All in all its a smashing spot in an awesome location. Just get a park facing room as high up as you can.

Room Tip: Park facing and as high up as you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riffa, Bahrain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very nice room with a really comfortable bed - which is important after a hard days sightseeing. Was impressed with the Concierge - Anthony who was extremely helpful. The location of the hotel is excellent being close to Central Park, Fifth Ave, Times Square and even the MET. The hotel was somewhat antiquated in that they did not have tea/coffee facilities in the room and they charged for The Internet.

Room Tip: Facing the park may have been been nicer but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newiggs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our room was amazing! We had booked a city view room, but to our wonderful suprise we were on the 36 floor with an amazing view of the city and park. Great location, close to the underground and all the good shops! walking distance to the guggenheim, bloomingdales, times square etc.

Staff were helpful and friendly. Will be staying there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our room was very elegant with luxurious toiletries. Despite being in the middle of a major city, the room was relatively quiet at night. We had a city view. Based on the view from the restaurant, I'm sure the park view rooms are fantastic. Our booking included breakfast. It was a continental breakfast served on china. The dining area was beautiful with large windows and sweeping views of Central Park.

We found that we were able to walk to Times Square and to the American Museum of Natural History.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel

Address: 36 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, midtown tower hotel overlooking Central Park - Convenient to Fifth Avenue shopping and Broadway theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Park Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Park Lane Hotel New York City
Helmsley Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Lane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.