We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic NY elegance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Lane Hotel

Save Saved
You added Park Lane Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Lane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Enjoy Spring with 10% off
Ranked #294 of 449 hotels in New York City
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Classic NY elegance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Returned from 5 night stay here, and I really liked this hotel for location and style. I have stayed in some 'hip' NY hotels but for classic NY luxury this was a different experience. Check in was average, with only 2 reception staff but 4 porters standing around with nothing to do. Surely at busy times these can be trained to provide cover? Our room was not ready when we arrived due toothed guests delayed following Hurricane Sandy, so we were offered a lower spec room for 1 night, then a better spec room for the remainder of our stay including full breakfast each day. The lower spec room was still very nice and a good size - especially for NY hotel room sizes! The next room we had booked Park View, and not only was this spectacular, but a BIG room, and tastefully decorated. The breakfasts served in the ParkRoom were high quality, but the room itself was stunning. Waited a few times for a table to become free. Upon checking out, tried charging me for 'restaurant services' which I queried and was told would not be charged, but upon checking credit card online I was charged, however, email to front desk via website had this sorted and charge cancelled from card today. I would recommend Helmsley for great location and surroundings, but if you prefer a hip hotel look elsewhere.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    561
    926
    385
    165
    119
See reviews for
450
872
89
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed Nov. 8- 11 and felt that this was a pretty good choice for visiting New York. It's a bit "tired" and anything but slick or cool, but it's easy, the rooms are comfortable and the location is wonderful right on Central Park south. The breakfast/brunch room overlooks the park with wonderful large windows. The servers are quirky and have all been there forever, but the ambiance makes it all good. Check in and out was professional and pleasant. The value was very good and we would return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have been often staying at HPL on my visits in NYC. I love to wake up early in the morning and use my jet lag for running in Central Park. Reception is ok (but be advised that I do not value employees' smiles and waiting lines as much as many other contributors here...); rooms are large enough; furniture is rather old fashioned and rates have probably gone up too much after renovation, but if your budget allows you, you will be in one of the best NYC neighborhoods also for restaurants and shopping

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have read a few reviews which stated this hotel is a bit old fashioned. That it is, but in a nice way! The view from the dining room is unbelievably beautiful. Staff were very attentive at the complimentary breakfast which was more than adequate for a continental style. Our only minor problem was the old fashioned lock on the bathroom. We accidentally locked the bathroom door and could not access the bathroom and the toiletries we had in there. Staff were immediately onto it and even gave us another room while their maintenance could unlock the bathroom in the old room. Once the lock was opened, they promptly returned our toiletries to our new room. The staff were so friendly. I loved the location, as it is away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square but still close enough to walk there to see the action. We had a very pleasant stay and would love to return.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just arrived back from a 5 night stay organised with Virgin Holidays The reception area is rather cramped,but staff friendly and helpful,the bedroom was very comfortable with a super king bed but on the down side,the following faults were experienced,no tea/coffee facilities,the mini bar did not cool drinks and drinks very expensive.The rooms were clean,fresh towels daily,well worth a stay.

Room Tip: pay extra for a central park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is not for you!
I love taking a well deserved vacation like anyone else. When I go on vacation I want to be able to have a great time and I pay and expect a certain level of service that always starts with 3 fundamental parts. Location, attitude and quality of hotel. This hotel only has one out of three and in this world we live in 1 out of 3 is horrible. There is a song from the 80s from Meat loaf that says 2 out of 3 ain't bad. That was in the 80ies today 2 out of 3 is ok and ok is terrible. So Why settle for less when you can do much better! This place is bellow terrible with only location, in front of the Park to brag about. In service and cleanliness and upkeep and attitude and service. This place just does not want it for you. Its a choice and they choose not to provide it for you. If you want more for your well earned money, go to a place that truly values its customer and really strive to take care of them to provide an experience. Values do count for me because they make a difference in how you treat people in how you invest in hoy you act. and you can see values in action in the attitude of the staff, in the upkeep of the place and you can see it in the details.This place falls way short of in all accounts and I would recommend you to Go some place else.When you arrive at the Helmsley Park Lane, from the moment you arrive the way people greet you at the door all the way up to your room make you feel like a line at MCdonalds. Its more about pushing you on through than servicing you. But where this hotel falls apart is in its upkeep. you get the feeling that this hotel is just milking it and getting away with it. You almost get the sense that there is a very greedy wealthy owner that only cares about profit and will make no investment in up-keeping this hotel. Its like a trip to a terrible boarding school you were sent away as a punishment. And it gets worse. the rug in your room was so bad I had to walked in my shoes from my bed to the bathroom. And the bathroom is falling apart. The walls are coming apart, the place is just dirty with the tiles full of guuuuk. . it feels like a century landed on it. Not very nice to provide this type of experience. So please don cheat yourself of a vacation. Go some place where you know they care.

Room Tip: Two other hotels down the street at same price range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska City, Nebraska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

When we go to NY we stay at this Hotel the room is always very nice and the Hotel has a great location. The food is good but the Quality Meats Restaurant is just a round the corner and Central Park across the street

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel

Address: 36 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, midtown tower hotel overlooking Central Park - Convenient to Fifth Avenue shopping and Broadway theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Otel, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Park Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Park Lane Hotel New York City
Helmsley Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Lane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.