We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't valet your car!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Park Lane Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Park Lane Hotel to your Saves list
Park Lane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Enjoy Winter with 10% off
Ranked #257 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't valet your car!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We valeted our car at the 59th street entrance. The staff left our car on the street for 30 minutes before taking it to the garage. (Based on their own records.) Our car was returned to us the next day with a crushed rear bumper. They hotel has refused to take responsibility. We expect far more from a reputable hotel. Because of the Helmsley our wonderful weekend in NYC was ruined. I would not recommend this hotel and warn all guests to never valet their car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    1,095
    467
    220
    135
See reviews for
621
1,092
122
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel at one time may have been great. Now it is in definite need of a remodel. The door men were very nice the bar "Harry's" was a great place to meet friends but our room was vert old the carpets were dirty as was the shower that I cleaned before my husband saw it!!!! Location was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

we stayed here on the final night of our New York trip. Our room was on the 40th floor and had a park/city view. The room was huge and extra fancy. The bed was soooo comfy & big. The bathroom has really special toiletries. It was just gorgeous and as it was our final night in New York it was the best way to end things. The staff were very friendly too and allowed us to leave our bags there after we'd checked out until we came back for them a few hours later. It has the wow factor. If you can afford to stay here, do it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel is great, the view from the window is fantastic And the beds are Very comfortable! However i must say the taxes are huge, when we arrive the price was Very different (get informed!!) also i must say that the breakfast is terrible... If You want a fantastic breakfast go to sarabeth's, is next door to the hotel And sooooo good!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Excellent location!!! Central park and 5th Avenue are at your "fingertips". Quite disappointed with the quality of the room but overall stay was great. Not impressed with the Customer Service Rep( Answering Center) that took my call, "very rude" however, due to its location, our stay was a memorable one.

Room Tip: Park view is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iceland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I had booked a two queen bed room for four nights and once we arrived the hotel didn't have any available. The receptionist suggested we took a upgrade for a considerable amount per day saying it paid itself, crazy! I refused and suggested he would comp us the upgrade since they didn't have the room we had booked. He refused and did put us in a one room. Since we were two guys travelling together we were not ready to share a bed. They sent us then a roll bad and we needed to change rooms the next day. Not a great start to the stay.

Neither of the rooms were excellent. They were pretty spacey but dated. The housekeeping were ok but forgot to put new toiletteries the one night. Good thing is that there is a fridge in the rooms you can use.

The best thing about the hotel is the location, which is one of the best in Manhattan IMO.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Beautiful hotel, large room, very helpful staff. The Park Room is a beautiful place to have lunch and is reasonable for NYC. Location for us who want to be near the park is great. Good access to subway up on 59th Street. Nice gym in the basement. Top notch hotel with all the amenties you'd expect in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel

Address: 36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
#221 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Lane Hotel - A Central Park Hotel, is a luxury 46-story hotel with panoramic views of legendary Central Park and the iconic New York City skyline. Spacious, elegant Guest Rooms and Guest Suites offer picture windows and superb views along with exquisite bath products, fine linens and other amenities. This iconic Hotel sits directly on the edge of beautiful Central Park, offering gracious services to ensure a fulfilling stay. From on-site dining at the renowned Park Room Restaurant to cocktails at Harry's New York Bar & Lounge, the Park Lane Hotel wants to make your visit to New York an enjoyable one. We offer a Fitness Center, Mail Service, Internet Access, and more. Located directly on Central Park, in the Midtown Manhattan Business District, Park Lane Hotel is just steps from Fifth Avenue Shopping, Broadway Theaters, Museum Mile, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center and many other NYC Activities and New York Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Park Lane Hotel New York City
Helmsley Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Lane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.