We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Upper East Side Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Franklin to your Saves list
The Franklin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Culture and Cuisine
Ranked #299 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Northwest Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great little Upper East Side Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Went to visit my new grand daughter in April and wanted not to stay in a crowded one bedroom apartment on the upper east side. My daughter, a long time NYC resident found this little gem one block from her apartment!
There was wine and cheese every afternoon and a nice little breakfast every morning included in the price. The rooms were very small, opening the bathroom door meant losing my closet door, and the bed took up most of the room. However, it looked newly decorated and very clean.
Nice staff and price for NYC.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    162
    78
    31
    26
See reviews for
67
173
63
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bris Vegas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

On arrival I didn't expect much from the small opening off the street but the service was excellent and I was escorted to the room and given all the information regarding their services.

The room was small and I think you can get a better deal elsewhere - see my other review on the Hilton Garden Inn at Times Square - but all in all I was satisfied.

Located on the upper east side, there offer a complimentary gym pass to a very fine gym, complimentary breakfast, and although no room service from the hotel itself, they have a connection to a restaurant near by.

It's clean and cute but unless you can find better deals.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

This hotel felt exactly like a charming hotel in Europe. The breakfast was wonderful crusty bread, cheese, pastries, yogurt and granola. Any sort of coffee - including cappuccino and lattes (and decaf options) are available 24 hours. In the evening, they have wine and cheese - with proper cheese (no yellow cubes!). We would sit and chat with the other patrons, discussing trips to Egypt and the opera (this IS the upper east side, after all!). Even more European were the rooms - lovely embroidered linens and scented soaps in a room the size of a shoebox. In my room, the bathroom was so small, the sink was in the bedroom, and the closet was literally only 6 inches wide. But, being by myself, it was fine. Most of the other rooms are larger (although still very small by American standards), and if you are traveling as a couple, you should make sure to get one of the larger rooms. The service of the staff was excellent. It really felt like gracious living in old world style. If you want something with charm, comfort and a very homey feel, the Franklin is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

I've stayed at many moderately priced NYC boutique hotels on business. This one is great if you can get a good rate and if you don't mind a very small facility (feels more like a little apt building than a hotel.) I prefer this intimate feeling and also like being on the upper east vs. crazy midtown. You'll feel like a neighborhood resident. Rooms are small but beautifully decorated and very clean. Bathrooms are very very small but fabulous Bulgari toilletries make up for it. Nice 1st floor lounge and complimentary cappuccino machine is great. Continental breakfast included is EXCELLENT- not your typical stale pastry. Homemade yogurt and granola, croissant, baguette and gourmet cheeses. Great little gem!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

We were in-town for a friend's wedding and stayed at The Franklin for 3 nights in 2/09 before heading down to stay 3 more nights on the lower east side.

The hotel is located in a great spot on the upper east side very near the 86th/Lex subway stop. The hotel is walking distance to the park, the met, and places to eat/drink on 2nd ave..... It feels quieter and more residential up there than other more "touristy" areas of NYC which is so welcomed in such a crazy city.

We flew in on the red-eye and got to the hotel around 9am. HUGE points for letting us check-in so early. The staff were sweet and friendly throughout our stay. The place has a bed and breakfast/home-like feel to it. We saw very few guests during our stay and felt like we lived here by the time we left. Very private and relaxing.

The rooms are tiny, but very charming with soft colors, nice lighting, and great beds. Our room had a small desk, large TV, queen sized bed, and decent closet space. Expensive mini-bar (but aren't they always?)....do wish they had offered free water though. Wireless internet service was great as was daily newspaper delivery. We were on the 7th floor and maid service came late (around 2pm), but we are not "morning" people so this didn't bother us a bit. The bathroom is really small and the water pressure on the rain shower a little weak, but other than that, they did a great job with the space.

The breakfast area is small, but cozy. Don't expect a full on American breakfast, but the rolls, cereal, coffees, and tea are a great addition to the place. I loved the textured wall paper...might have to add some to my dining area back home. We also enjoyed the free evening wine and cheese further adding to the romantic, charming feel of the hotel. The coffee machine runs 24/7 so you can always pop in and get yourself a latte and tea.....which is so nice on the chilly winter Manhattan nights.

Really a great boutique hotel worth checking out.

  • Liked — charming decor, friendly staff, wireless internet, great location
  • Disliked — small bathrooms with weak water pressure, no free bottled water
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

We used this hotel as a base for our first visit to New York along with a number of friends. Initially I was very disappointed with the size of our room. In truth there was very little space bar a path around the bed and with two large bags most of the floor was gone. Not much storage space either for clothes but I suppose that's to be expected of a small hotel like this. The room was very clean and well presented and the toilet/shower room (the wash basin was in the bedroom rather than the bathroom) was well maintained.
Having said all this some of the other couples in our group did get rooms that were much larger so there was an element of luck involved.

There is no bar or restaurant in the hotel but there are plenty of alternatives in the surrounding area and the hotel staff are very accomodating if you want to bring food/drink back in to the two rooms that are used as communal areas. Breakfast consists of cereal, various breads, ham and the usual beverages so is ample. A real selling point was the wine and cheese that was made available in the evening, especially if you are with a group.

As far as location goes it was fine. Only a couple of blocks away from Central Park and the subway so it was a good staging point but it would have been quite a walk to the main attractions in Downtown Manhattan....taxis were the best solution.

So in summary although I was disappointed with the size of the room and the lack of bar/restaurant I really can't fault the cleanliness or the service provided.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Room Size
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

We have just come back from a 5 night stay in this hotel and couldn't recommend it highly enough. The staff were brilliant and couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms are as small as you'd expect for a manhattan hotel but the ground floor communal areas make up for it. The free breakfast and free wine and cheese in the evening are a definite bonus and we will be definitely using this hotel again in the future. One thing to be aware of is that you will have to pay state and service taxes at the end of your stay, this amounted to a further $79 for 5 nights which isn't too bad but is something to be aware of.

  • Liked — The staff and the free breakfast and cheese/wine in the evening
  • Disliked — The hidden charge of $79 at the end of the stay
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#146 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, and 24-hour cappuccino machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.