We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Franklin to your Saves list
The Franklin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Met Tickets + Zagat Guide
Ranked #300 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Cape Girardeau
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The staff especially the bellmen were exceptional. The room was "NY" sized small but adequate. Lots of shopping, restaurants and bars nearby. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, Central Park, the Met and the Guggenheim. Subway access was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Danny L,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us . We always want to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant stay. If you chose to visit us again, check out our special packages for great deals. We’ll also point you towards our favorite places to drink and dine throughout Manhattan. We hope to see you again the future!


Be well,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    162
    78
    31
    27
See reviews for
67
173
63
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My room was perfect for one person. Absolutely clean and an efficient use of a tiny space. It was a great value and a short walk to a major thoroughfare. Although The Franklin isn't a luxury hotel, it's great for a short stay or a business trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. I'm happy to hear our location was convenient for you and that you found our rooms clean and comfortable. Please let us know next time you're in New York if you'd like to come visit us again, and we’ll accommodate you the best we can. Feel free to reach out to me directly.

Best,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Franklin's location within walking distance to museums and a stone's throw to subway was ideal. More importantly, the staff was exceptionally capable and kind. Everyone there staff and guests alike all were happy to be there. Clearly a hotel with loyalty from prior guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Erin O,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel and our roomstaff was friendly! We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to call me directly; we will do our best to top your last stay!

Warm Regards,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here for four nights visiting our daughter who lives in the neighborhood. Great location, classy feel. Near subway stop, museums, close to Central Park.

We really enjoyed the complimentary wine and cheese hour every evening. Breakfast was adequate. Good coffee and espresso. Croissants slightly stale.

Room was quite small, as expected in NYC. Bathroom tiny and we didn't really like the sink being in the room rather than in the bathroom.

Staff were routinely helpful and friendly which is a sign of good management.

Oddly the third floor hallway always smelled of smoke. Cigarettes?

We plan on staying again in the spring, perhaps with a larger room

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Kathy B,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our wine was pleasant! We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. Can't wait to tell our staff you thought they were great! We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to call me directly; we will do our best to top your last stay!

Warm Regards,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We arrived and the bell hop had to take off the cover to a heating unit to turn on the heat. The ac window unit was still in the window and there was a huge draft! It was in the 20's all day and the room was cold! Before bed, I checked the heater and there was no heat! We were tired and put on our ski caps and went to sleep. They had a tiny comforter- one that would be sufficient in the warmer months! We hardly slept at all. If I were to guess, I'd say it was about 60-62 degrees in our bedroom ! The people across the hall were unable to get any heat!!
When we checked out we told them about how we had no heat. The woman at the desk did not show much compassion!!! I know we should have called before we went to bed, but we were exhausted! The clerk said they don't take the unit out during the winter months. Who keeps a window ac unit in during the winter? The draft was bad. I ended up taking the bathrobe and wrapping it around the unit. It didn't help much !
When we left, they said they had car service to the airport . Would have been nice if they offered the 20 minute ride to la guardia for free- NOT!!!
We will NEVER go back! Good location, but a dump!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Kaz19641,

Thanks for the feedback on your most recent stay. I'm disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your room and you experience difficulty with our heating, this is definitely not typical of the service we offer at our hotel. If you are ever in New York again, please feel free to reach out to us as we would be more than happy to try and make it up to you. Feel free to contact me directly.

Regards,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Franklin is a small hotel in a residential area of the Upper East Side. If you are looking for somewhere to stay near the park and museums this is a great choice. (I walked over to the Met and down to the Frick.)

Everyone at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. Check out is not until noon, which was great since it means you can sleep in a bit even on check out day and don't have to rush to be out of the room. Also, they will allow you to leave your bags with them after checkout so if you aren't leaving the city until later in the day you don't have to lug everything around with you after checkout.

It is a very small hotel and so while the front and back rooms are nice little spaces to sit in, finding space to sit down for the coffee and croissant breakfast can be down to timing (i.e. not coming down when everyone else is already there).

I would definitely stay at the Franklin again.

Room Tip: I was in a room at the back on the seventh floor and it was amazingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Squeb31,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our location was convenient for you! We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to call me directly; we will do our best to top your last stay!

Warm Regards,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio De Janeiro
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

very good location with a lot of shops around. Near the subway station.
the room is good but small and the bathroom is tiny.
Breakfast is enought, but without fruits.
the wine and cheese every night is very nice !
Rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Andrea M,

Thank you staying with us here at The Franklin and for providing us feedback following your stay. We pride ourselves in providing the best customer service experience possible. I’m very pleased that you loved the location of The Franklin. It’s definitely one of the main features that makes our hotel a upper east side gem. It brings me great pleasure to know that you were most impressed with our breakfast and our cheese platter. We look forward to welcoming you back!!

Be well,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#146 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, and 24-hour cappuccino machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.