We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a Good Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Franklin to your Saves list
The Franklin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Met Tickets + Zagat Guide
Ranked #300 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Rio De Janeiro
1 review
“Good hotel in a Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

very good location with a lot of shops around. Near the subway station.
the room is good but small and the bathroom is tiny.
Breakfast is enought, but without fruits.
the wine and cheese every night is very nice !
Rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Andrea M,

Thank you staying with us here at The Franklin and for providing us feedback following your stay. We pride ourselves in providing the best customer service experience possible. I’m very pleased that you loved the location of The Franklin. It’s definitely one of the main features that makes our hotel a upper east side gem. It brings me great pleasure to know that you were most impressed with our breakfast and our cheese platter. We look forward to welcoming you back!!

Be well,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    162
    78
    31
    27
See reviews for
67
173
63
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We love the hotel and were very happy with the room. However, I must say that we're very disappointed with your restaurant. We think that the modern, chic feeling of the hotel should host a modern, chic, fun restaurant. In addition, the quality of the food was not good! One dinner and one breakfast pushed us out to look for another place to have our meals. For breakfast and lunch we found Le Pain Quotidien, a wonderful, all natural, organic, belgian boulangerie! For dinner, well, in New York the choices are endless!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Finita 27,

Thank you staying with us here at The Franklin and for providing us feedback following your stay. We pride ourselves in providing the best customer service experience possible. I’m very pleased that you enjoyed your room . I'm dissapointed to hear your experience at our restaurant wasn't pleasing. Please know our team has been notified of your experience and they hope for your return, so that we may make it up to you.

Regards,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great boutique hotel. Friendly and quick to fulfill our needs. Great location if you want to be on the Upper East Side. They serve a continental breakfast which was included with my stay and wine and cheese in the early evening. I thought it was a nice touch.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Debra S,

Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We were glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast in the morning and the wine and cheese in the evening. we hope the next time you are in town you choose to stay with us again. We hope you will visit us again on your next NYC stay! Thank you for your feedback.

Warm Regards,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great find in a quiet section of NYC. Upper East side is cool. Close to museums and a nice walk to where you want to visit and shop -- but not stay [Mid-Town]. Friendly staff. Nice wine and cheese time plus breakfast included. This goes a long way in NYC. Stay here !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Michael Y,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Franklin. I’m glad you enjoyed the breakfast and are amazing staff. We value your comments and we will take your feed back in order to continue to provide quality service. Our location is one of the key features that makes our property special and a true hidden gem! My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Be well,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We'd stayed at the Franklin years ago - maybe 2004 or 2005, I think - and we really liked the hotel. Coming back for a friend's wedding, we again booked there because it was close to the wedding location (a hotel that WAY beyond our budget!) and the proximity to so many restaurants, shops, the Metropolitan Museum, Natural History Museum - the list goes on. It's simply a great location.

As many have said, most of the rooms aren't big, but they're comfortable. If you need to charge multiple electronics, I'd recommend bringing the longest cables you can, because in our room at least the only outlets we found were in the lower corner of the room past the foot of the bed, or in the bathroom, so we couldn't keep our phones or other things nearby if they were charging. All in all that really wasn't such a big issue. The bed was REALLY comfortable, we had closet space and a flatscreen on the wall (didn't use it), and the bathroom was small but just fine for our needs.

We didn't go to the wine receptions but it's great that they are offered. The staff was amazingly friendly, helping us plan on how to get to Laguardia on the morning of the NY Marathon (!) - they truly do want to help and we appreciated the friendliness and great service.

We had a room facing the back alley so it was fairly quiet, too. We'd definitely book there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Gahugrrl,

Thank you staying with us here at The Franklin and for providing us feedback following your stay. We pride ourselves in providing the best customer service experience possible. I’m very pleased that you loved the location of The Franklin and our friendly staff. It’s definitely one of the major features that makes our hotel so special. It brings me great pleasure to know that you were most impressed with our breakfast, rooms, and bar throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!!

Best,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

If you are looking for a small hotel in a great location on the Upper East side, this is for you! Our room though small, but was plenty big enough for us....king-sized bed with room to walk around. Bathroom is small but doable. Would definitely stay at the Franklin again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Nancy/Alan,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our rooms were to your liking! We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to contact us directly.

Best,

David Sandler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We chose purely for the location in visiting relatives who live just a block away. Can't beat the location for the UES for our needs.

Wouldn't pay the price for the shoe box size of a room in any place other than NYC ;:<) but that is a known of NYC and UES. Have stayed in mid-town in the past for less.

Would consider staying again, but will book earlier for lower rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear John H,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Franklin Hotel. We agree the location of the hotel is great for people visiting people that live on the UES as well all the fantastic museums. We appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel and hope the next time you are in NYC you come stay with us again.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#146 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, and 24-hour cappuccino machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.