We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a good nights sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Franklin to your Saves list
The Franklin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night FREE!
Ranked #303 of 463 Hotels in New York City
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great for a good nights sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed there at the beginning of September for a week, primarily to use as a base for sight-seeing trips. We knew from other reviewers to expect small rooms so this wasn't a problem as we were out all day and evenings and really only came back each evening to shower and sleep. Having said that, my parents were with us and on arrival we were disappointed to discover how small their room was. ( no wardrobe, only 4 hangers behind a wall mirror, and this wasn't even the petite room). As my father is registered partially sighted with very limited vision the lack of space would cause him problems so we enquired at reception if a more suitable room was available and were delighted when the receptionist upgraded them to a larger room at no extra charge. Excellant service! Only small gripe is that there could be a better variety at breakfast ( only 1 type of bread) and maybe some prepared fresh fruit. Otherwise had a very nice stay, spotlessly clean with the most comfortable beds we have slept in!

Room Tip: Although the petite room can sleep 2 I would recommend this only for 1 as my daughter was comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Kay-Jay243,

Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. The team prides themselves on service and I am happy to hear they didn’t disappoint you. We hope the next time you are in the city we can be your hotel of choice. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review the hotel.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    177
    84
    33
    29
See reviews for
74
187
70
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel has been trying hard to do a nice job of renovating rooms. Ours was certainly small, but had a cove ceiling and a chandelier! Oddly enough, there was a large cedar closet! The mattress and bedding were very comfortable, and a window air-conditioner did the job during the remarkably miserable hot September weather. The bathroom fixtures were all new. The big problem that had not been addressed was where to plug in electronic devices to charge them. My limber husband could crawl way under the desk to use the socket there, but since I've had two knee replacements, I wasn't able to do that. The only other accessible socket in the room was in the bathroom, so had to plug my new iPhone 5 in there to charge it, and yes, it did get knocked into the toilet. Fortunately it is insured (hopefully Sprint will honor that and give me a new one). The breakfast was minimal, but I don't care so much for breakfast anyway and don't like having to spend the time go somewhere else to get it. There was a nice little wine, cheese, cracker and nut spread btw 5:00 & 7:00 every evening which we enjoyed.

Room Tip: We had room 31, which faced the noisy street. Room 32 was larger and had a nice window seat, but st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear MaggieLin0939,
Thank you for taking the time out to review the Franklin Hotel. We were happy to hear you enjoyed the hotels amenities. Thank you for the feedback pertaining to the hotel room. We actively are looking for feedback which can help us become a better hotel. We hope the next time you are in town you decide to stay with us again.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My daughter lives a few blocks from the Franklin, and her AC went out during an extremely hot few days. She suffered through it, but the night before a big event at work, she needed a good night sleep. It was also her birthday week, so I reserved her a room for the night - at about 9pm. The front desk staff person could not have been nicer to me about accomodating her that night. She loved the room - beautiful, restful and cool! Thank you, The Franklin! Next time I come up to visit, I'll stay longer than 8 hours!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear pbgvluv,
Thanks for the quick visit to the Franklin Hotel. We agree the next time you come to stay with us it should be more than 8 hrs so you can enjoy the breakfast and the wine and cheese hr. I know the team hopes you visit NYC so you can stay with us.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent Labor Day weekend at the Franklin. It was recommended to us by a friend who used to live on the Upper East Side. We loved the location. Ideal access to the subway to the Bronx. Very convenient for walking to Central Park, the Metropolitan, and lots of great dining options.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful, although it was disconcerting to find the same person at the desk in the evening and again for breakfast the following morning! They received a package with our tickets several days before our stay and held that in the safe for us. We were also permitted to print our boarding passes and electronic game tickets, both of which we greatly appreciated. The free wifi worked fine for us throughout the weekend.

The breakfast was a nice way to start the day and added to the overall value of the hotel. The room was small, but we knew what we were in for upon booking.

A suggestion for the noisy AC - we lovingly knick named it "the rattler" - we wedged a one liter bottle of water to hold the front frame in place and never had a noise issue again. The little unit did a great job of cooling down the room, which was a welcome relief after a sticky, humid day at Yankees Stadium.

I would highly recommend if the location (and size of rooms) meets your needs. We got an incredible rate through the website and would happily stay at the Franklin again for future Yankees games.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear NEEDAVACAPittsburgh,

Thank you for visiting us at the Franklin Hotel. We were happy to hear you liked the location of the hotel as well as its amenities. We hope the next time you come to see the Yankees play you will stay with us again. It would be great to welcome you back.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were there for two weeks and everything was really great, the staff was very helpful as well.

I wont repeat all the good things said about The Franklin hotel and just add a BIG BIG MINUS point -> the day before we left we spoke to the guy at the front desk about a taxi and transportation - he was extremely nice and explained us that he or somebody else can get a taxi (NY Taxi - normal one - 52$ flat rate) for us. you can imagine our big surprise when the day after, we checked out and there was another guy at the front desk explaining us that the hotel normally has a transportation service for 60$ flat rate. he was so pushing that we have to use the transportation from the hotel and even when i said that the NY taxi has also a flat rate he lied to me and said thats not true and its always with the meter running - although for god sake we are foreigners but still can read-its written all over everywhere - NY Taxi to and from JFK is flat rate!!! I couldnt understand why only this shift and nobody else in the hotel told us about the service. the whole situation was so strange and the guy incredibly pushy! anyhow we got a normal taxi and the guy was disappointed.
What i want to say with all this is - DO NOT GET ON THE HOOK FOR THEIR OWN TRANSPORTATION! THE NORMAL TAXI IS FLAT RATE TO/FROM JFK AND IT DOESNT MATTER HOW LONG THE TAXI IS WAITING ON THE LIGHTS OR IN THE TRAFFIC - THEY TRY TO TRICK YOU AND THATS JUST NOT FAIR!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear t_miteva,

Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. It is disappointing to hear that your final impression of the hotel was a negative one. We pride ourselves on customer service and from the sound of it we dropped the ball with your transportation. I will talk to my team about this to ensure this doesn’t happen again. Thank you for your time in writing the review as it will assist the team in getting better.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely 5 night stay at the Franklin and will definitely return. The staff are so friendly and willing to help with receiving tickets, printing vouchers etc. The complimentary cheese and wine between 5-6.30 is a great way to start the evening and meet other guests, and the breakfast is simple but plentiful. The location is excellent - 2 minutes from a frequent subway line downtown and just over 5 minutes until you are in Central Park. The room quality was excellent with the only less positive aspect being the size of the room (as we had anticipated from other reviews). I would recomment this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear KTPX,
Thank you for the glowing review of the Franklin Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel amenities. It is even more enjoyable to hear you thought the team was friendly and willing to help. Please come see us again as we would love to welcome you back.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here for 1 week with my daughter on a visit to NYC, its a nice hotel, with friendly staff, we ate breakfast everyday, which was adequate, I looked forward to using the 24/7 coffee machine, when we got back from a day out, the rooms have been described in other reviews as being small, but our room was actually not small at all, and the bed was very high, I am only 5ft and had to jump up to get on it, my daughter said it was built for HAGRID, lol. The bathroom was quite small though but clean and nice. The hotel is only 1 block from the Subway that takes you into Grand Central, which was handy, it had a few nice restaurants close by and a couple of little shops that sell everything you need, a bit like a Tesco Express, with a Pharmacy, it also had a Starbucks on the corner. Finally, it was only 4 blocks to Museum Mile and Central Park, which I found really nice, I would certainly recommend this hotel if you want to be in a quiet area and get a good nights sleep, the only down side, was the Air Con was really noisy and you wouldn't be able to leave it on all night. If I visited NYC again I would like to stay nearer to Times Square/42nd Street, but that's just my preference.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor facing the front and was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear sswift08,

Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We were glad to hear you thought the staff was friendly and you enjoyed the hotels amenities. There are many choices in the city and we thank you for choosing us. We hope to see you again the next time you visit NYC.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, and 24-hour cappuccino machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.