We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Franklin Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Franklin to your Saves list
The Franklin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #319 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Albert Lea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Franklin Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed being at The Franklin Hotel! The staff was very attentive. We met so many nice people from all over the world. Breakfast buffet had a nice variety of items, and the evening Wine and Cheese was wonderful! Great Coffee maker too!

Room Tip: We received a lower and better rate by calling the hotel directly. We asked for an AARP rate which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear MarieDG,
Such a great thing to hear that you and your husband had a great time staying with us at The Franklin Hotel. I would also like to thank you on behalf of my team for taking precious time out of your day to review our hotel. Any and all reviews are appreciated and taken very seriously, and we enjoy hearing the positive ones about our guests exceptional stays. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Baton Rouge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

European style hotel. rooms and bathroom was very small ( we got the largest in the hotel) but were clean, comfortable and adequate for our needs. We liked the breakfast in the am and wine and cheese at night. There was also coffee and tea 24/7. I found the staff to be very nice and accomodating. Have to walk across the street for coke or water at cvs but really no big deal. Nice place to eat across the street for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Good substitute for this hotel without dining option

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Ann H,
Our team will be very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Franklin Hotel. They will be specifically happy that you noted the service, amenities and guest rooms were accommodating to all of your needs. We hope on your next visit to NYC you can stay with us again!

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Nice people, great location. Free breakfast and wine. You have a choice, you can bake over night or you can spend the night listening to the AC to keep from baking. Either way, you are not getting any sleep. We would have loved to have gotten up early to enjoy NY. Not possible with lack of sleep.

Room Tip: Seems other have commented against winter stay as well. So, it appears this place is limited to spri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Alex M,
Thank you for staying with us at The Franklin hotel. We appreciate all of our guest reviews because it allows for our team to evaluate potential mistakes and improve upon them to ensure for 100% guest satisfaction. Our team will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed their service, amenities and location. It is unfortunate to hear that you did not sleep well because of the AC noise which we are currently addressing in our guest rooms. Please feel free to visit us again as we hope your second stay will allow you to enjoy your time better in NYC!

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.tonawanda, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here in NYC while getting her visa for Paris. It was close to central park and the subway. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful. It was raining when we arrived and they allowed us in our room early for check in. Very convienient!! We enjoyed the quaint breakfast in the morning. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Pnorris,
Music to my ears to hear that you “can’t wait to visit again”, we want every one of our guests to have that kind of attitude. Thank you for staying at The Franklin with us and also taking time out of your day to provide us with a positive review! We are excited to welcome you back whenever you please!

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

In Manhatten, location, location, location means everything and this little boutique hotel is located close enough to the action but far enough away that you don’t feel like you’re in the middle of the throngs of tourist that come to New York. Located on the Upper East Side just a couple of blocks from Central Park and the Museums Mile, the Franklin offers clean well decorated rooms. I thought the bed was great, but my wife thought it was just too soft. Continental breakfast every morning starts off your day and will tie you over until lunch. And the staff is friendly and very helpful with recommendations for dinner to ordering a car. So the good news is location, nice rooms, and friendly staff.

Now for the bad news. Since this is an older building central air conditions is non-existent and the rooms have window style swamp coolers. Our window AC unit was noisy to the extent that in order to sleep we had to turn it off….but then you wake up in a sweat….so you have to turn back on the AC unit…..and the cycle repeats itself. Unfortunately, if you come during the warmer months, such as summer, expect the possibility of a noisy AC unit.

Every afternoon, wine and cheese is served. This was actually a selling point for my wife, but after experiencing the afternoon wine and cheese….it was no longer a benefit. The wine was just OK but the cheese was cubed cheddar and Monterey Jack – so don’t drop what you are doing to have wine and cheese and think it will be something special. Bring your own cheese and the Franklin will supply the wine.

Room Tip: Ear plugs maybe needed during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpazCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear SpazCat,
It pleases my team and me to hear you enjoyed the location, beds, breakfast, friendly service and amenities of The Franklin Hotel. Thank you for staying with us, and also providing us with a review. Your comments will be taken into deep consideration by our team as every guest review helps our team achieve 100% guest satisfaction. Thank you for taking time, and we hope to see you back at the Franklin soon!
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Upon our arrival, we were informed that they overbooked us for the night and put us in different hotel. It was very upsetting because I've planned my itinery for the weekend around this particular hotel as my husband and I were stying in the city less than 24 hours.
We had to come up with whole new plan and it was very stressful.
It was very unprofessional and inconsiderate of the management of The Franklin Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Lynn K,
As we strive to ensure all of our guests have complete 100% satisfaction it upsets my team and myself to hear that it caused you a great inconvenience. I hope that when we brought you to another close by hotel it was to your satisfaction. Again our deepest apologies for your inconvenience and we hope you change your mind and come back to our hotel again!
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is an excellent location for using the subway and walking to Central Park and Museum Mile. Hotel front and lobby are not as elegant as the interior of hotel, guest rooms, and amenities, which are all superior. An excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Janet E,
It makes us extremely happy to hear that you had a great time when you stayed with us at The Franklin, and we thank you for staying as well. Our team will be pleased to know that you enjoyed the guest rooms, interior of the hotel and the amenities. We would be very pleased to welcome you back to our Upper East side abode! Visit anytime..
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan / Upper East Side
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#251 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#327 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#229 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#252 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,385 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#275 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,679 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#23 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#229 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, and 24-hour cappuccino machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing