We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms great for solo traveler” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Franklin to your Saves list
The Franklin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Sunday Night
Ranked #277 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms great for solo traveler”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Other reviews pretty much say it all. A few steps from the 86 4/5/6 station, so transportation was easy, and all the museums a few blocks away. The rooms are tiny, but if you are a solo traveler you have seen smaller in Europe and can make due. Staff very attentive, butt he hotel is old and the rooms could use refurbishing. The elevator reminds me of an old Soviet era elevator I saw once oversees. In the event you run out of tings to do in NYC (HA!), there are sushi places everywhere and even an AMC theatre practically next door. Hotel will provide a private car service to JFK for $60. Breakfast only so-so, was not around for afternoon snacks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Jann1953,

Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We are happy you enjoyed the hotel and the location. The next time you are in Manhattan we hope you will choose us again as your hotel of choice.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    152
    75
    31
    22
See reviews for
62
169
60
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to others. Close to the Park, close to transportation, excellent service, free continental breakfast that was delicious, and everyone was helpful. Pet friendly, but we didn't bring our dog and never saw one. If concerned about room size, make sure you reserve the correct size room; ours had plenty of room. Most comfortable bed we have ever slept in! Definitely will be back there; others complained about hearing street noise, partiers where they stayed, and more. We didn't hear anything!

Room Tip: We had a king with enough rom for a roll-away. We were near the elevator, but never heard it. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear CaesarBrutus,
Your opening sentence is amazing for the team to hear! We love that you will be choosing us again as your hotel of choice in NYC and that you will be recommended us as well. We are happy to hear you liked the breakfast, the hotel amenities and the location. Thank you for staying with us and we can’t wait until you return.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at The Franklin for a close friend's son's wedding. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was very attentive and friendly. The added benefit of the on-demand cappuccino machine was a BIG plus for us coffer snobs! We chose the Hotel for its convenient location and for that it was perfect. However, the room was VERY small, barely enough room to put two suitcases and the "on the wall" closet didn't even hold a man's suit and my dress. Having said that, the size wasn't unmanageable, but for the size, I felt the price was. By the time we paid for the room, all the taxes, and parking for two and a half days, our bill was nearly $800. I would recommend this hotel and stay again if the price were a bit lower.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Laurieli,
Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel during your visit. The team and I were happy to read that you felt they were attentive and friendly. We also enjoyed hearing that you liked the cappuccino machine, room amenities and location of the hotel. Thank you for the feedback as it allows us to understand what our guests need to return to the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Having done some research into hotels in the Upper East Side area I found the Franklin met most of my expectations for a 5-night stay for two of us in New York. The room was clean, comfortable and of adequate size for our visit (we had just one case each) but being at the front of the building it was somewhat noisy, even in the small hours. We found the bed very comfortable and were impressed by the tidiness/cleanliness of the room on return each evening; it was perhaps overkill to have clean towels every day but appreciated nevertheless. I share some others' comments about the lack of space for breakfast but managed to get a table most mornings; after all, it's a boutique hotel. The complimentary cheese and wine from 5 until 6.30 was a nice touch to unwind after a hard day's foot-slogging. Where the Franklin really scores is its location for those who want to do the museums and art galleries. Going down town was also easy with subway and bus stops nearby. Staff were welcoming, some more helpful than others. Overall we were very satisfied with our stay.

Room Tip: Go for the largest room available away from the front, where it's probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Martin L,
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review about the Franklin Hotel. It’s nice to read that you did some research about the hotel before deciding to try us. It was great to hear that you were impressed with the cleanliness of the room and that you felt the bed was comfortable. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you choose us again in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We chose The Franklin for its location and pet policy, and it worked well for me and my spouse and our dog during a beautiful spring weekend. Friendly and accommodating staff—we were upgraded to a larger room (the small rooms must be REALLY small), which was clean with a comfortable bed, though most other furnishings looked worn. Narrow bathroom, with good water pressure for the shower. Our first-floor room was located in the back of the building, and was very quiet at night. Serviceable continental breakfast is fine for those who eat light first thing, including good coffee (go very early or late; dining room is tiny). We didn't take advantage of the afternoon wine hour. Best aspect is proximity to Central Park—a mecca for dogs and their walkers, people watching, picnicking—and Museum Mile. Also close to subway and good shopping and restaurants (if you go vegan or gluten free, Candle Cafe at 3rd and 74th is a must).

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are in back of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear ahtsguy,

Thank you for choosing the Franklin Hotel. We were happy to hear you, your spouse and dog had a fun time while at the hotel. It was nice to read that the team was friendly and accommodating, you like the location as well as all the hotel amenities. Next time we hope you have a chance to visit our wine hr. We really appreciate you staying with us and hope to welcome you back the next time you are in NYC.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I've stayed twice now at the Franklin when traveling to NY on business and will likely stay again. Very convenient Upper East Side location. Rooms are small - but all NY rooms are - but very clean. Beds are very comfortable. Closets and bathrooms are very small. This is not a hotel that is big on amenities, save for the continental breakfast. There is no concierge or doorman. No "business center" except for an antiquated laptop situated by a small chair right next to the front desk. Front desk staff are friendly enough but not terribly organized. Rising early one morning the desk I found the desk manned by a man out of uniform, dressed in very casual street clothes, who did not seem to be able to answer questions. Still, the hotel is charming and seems to be frequented by European travelers and other tourists, which is fine. Not a good hotel for those requiring upscale amenities for staff attention, but if you're looking for a convenient and charming hotel close to museums and the Park, this is a great place to stay. Continental breakfast (coffee, yogurt, croissants) is a nice touch, although the exceptionally small dining room does not make for a very comfortable dining experience. Free wifi - almost unheard of in NY these days. Lots of great cafes, restaurants and shops nearby. I will return again.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small. If you're not traveling alone, I'd recommend upgrading to a larger si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear duomogal,
Thank you for making the Franklin Hotel your NYC hotel of choice. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback about your stay. The team and I take our guests feedback very seriously as it allows us to hone in on the guest experience and correct any issues that may arise. We are so pleased to hear that you are a loyal guest of the hotel and will be coming back to stay with us the next time you are in the city.
We hope to see you soon and look forward to welcoming you back.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

New York City in Springtime is amazing and The Franklin is perfectly sited to take advantage of it. It is a quick walk ( 4 blocks or so) to the Metropolitan Museum of Art and Central Park. We were in NYC for an overnight and loved being able to enjoy the Upper East Side with its restaurants, shopping, museums etc. The room we got is TINY. I mean, TINY. But if your intention is not to be in the room, it is no problem. The bathroom was immaculate. The Bulgari soap and shampoo great. The bed was comfy. It could use a little sprucing up but was fine for our purposes. (Carpet is worn) But the staff was very friendly. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast which was included but the coffee in the lobby smelled good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Reynold,
Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. The team was excited to hear you enjoyed your stay and thought they were very friendly. We enjoyed hearing how you liked the guest amenities, room amenities and the location of the hotel. The next time you are in New York City we hope you stay with us again. We really feel like the hotel can be your home away from home.
Please come back soon.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#160 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, complimentary shoe shine, 24-hour cappuccino machine and New York Sports club passes upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.