We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service - Tiny Rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin

Save Saved
You added The Franklin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Franklin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates from $149
Ranked #288 of 449 hotels in New York City
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service - Tiny Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Purpose of visit:
2 nights

Room Type/Name:
Guest room petite - I think (booked via a discount web page) 7th Floor

Specific Comments about stay:
Staff are very welcoming and helpful. Hotel is nice but very small. Eating area and lounge tiny. Room is almost unliveable.

Amenities of the room:
Bvlgari products is prob the best thing. Did not have room to open suitcases. "closet" has room for 2-3 items if that (winter clothes??) Have to shimmy down the side of the bed in get in. Very warm in hotel - no temp adjustment.

Amenities of the hotel:
Wifi, breakfast is
simple, but ok. Elevator is an old style which is cool.

Service Provided:
Great service, I booked a town car for 2 hours before we needed to be at airport on last day, it was 45mins late - the lady at the front desk was hard on the company and demanded a discount and another driver. Got a luxury car to JFK for $60. Just made it though. Staff of the hotel were apologising every 5 minutes - not their fault at all.
And throughout our stay thr staff were lovely. Only staff member who was a bit offputting was the maid who sets breakfast out, you feel as if you are getting in her way, or she doesnt like her job.

Things I wish I'd known before visiting:
How tiny the rooms were.

Location Details:
Upper east side - i wanted to stay here because its the nicest area, and we were warned not the stay in the heart of the city - but I wish we had. This hotel is not within walking distance of anything we went to.

Overall experience:
Very nice little hotel, but too small for me. Location nice and safe but I dont think convenient. The hotel looks nicer on the website. Staff as I said as lovely though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Tahlianagy,

We are happy you had a chance to visit the Franklin Hotel during your time in NYC. Thank you for providing feedback of your stay as it will allow the team to improve. We are happy you thought the staff was friendly and accommodating. Next time you come to NY please call the reservation team and we can help you find a hotel in our portfolio which might be a better desired location for you.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    143
    74
    32
    21
See reviews for
55
158
56
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, OH
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Franklin is a small hotel with a fantastic location in the Upper East side of NYC. The staff are helpful in every way. The 24 hour cappuccino machine provides great drinks. The rooms are small, but our middle size room (200 sq. ft.) was fine for a couple. This has a bed and breakfast feel with a nice continental breakfast and a daily wine reception. The one block walk to the main east side subway line was wonderful, particularly on a rainy day. The only drawback of the room was the small sink area in the bathroom, which makes shaving very difficult. Lastly, my wife loved this place!! I think that is what matters!

Room Tip: For a couple, be sure you get the biggest room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Davidson77,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. It was nice to read that you thought the staff was helpful, and you liked the hotel amenities. We are happy you also liked the location of the hotel as we are near the museums and close to the subways.

We are delighted to hear that your wife loved the hotel and that you will be back.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I recently travelled to New York from Australia and I booked my stay here. On check out, I noticed they charged me and my partner $530 of unauthorised credit card charges (the the card we didn't even sign for or use at checkout!). I have contacted them countless times proving my right to receive a full refund by providing my bank statements as evidence. They are reluctant to talk to me or acknowledge their crime.
Their staff are completely hopeless, unprofessional and frankly, don't look like they even care about their job in the service industry. I have never experienced such poor service, or unauthorised credit card charges (read: stealing!) from anywhere I've ever travelled!
You would think they would have a higher standard of duty of care and professionalism as they are located in a prestigious upper east side location - wrong!

If you dare to stay at this terrible hotel and experience their poor service, then don't bother booking a breakfast deal, it's lacklustre - small croissants and yoghurt only. You can buy a cheap breakfast (and a good one) for $8-10USD anywhere in manhattan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear ZoeB262,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry your stay was not enjoyable. We have rectified the issue of charging the credit card you wanted charged and crediting the card which was charged by mistake. The desk made a mistake and we apologize you had to go through that. We hope this one mistake will not deter you from staying with us again. We hope to make it up to you if you do give us another chance.

We appreciate your feedback as it will allow us to all get better at what we do.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights, the staff were very friendly and the room was modern and nicely decorated. Free cheese and wine was a nice touch. Breakfast modest but you can take it back up to your room; sine nice diners nearby for pancakes and bacon also. Small but perfectly formed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Zoe L,
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review the Franklin Hotel. We appreciate you staying with us and were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you liked the amenities as well as the location of the hotel. We hope you choose us again the next time you are in NYC.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Franklin Hotel is good hotel, great location (Upper East), breakfast included (amazing) and very clean. But the size of the rooms is a real problem. You cant leave your luggage on the floor, or even where to store your clothes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Elvira R,

Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the location and the guest amenities we offer. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide feedback.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Franklin for 6 nights. The room was small, as expected and the front desk staff were fantastic. They were helpful and accommodating. The Internet didn't work in our room so we had to use it in the foyer, our TV was fuzzy and the heating system was broken. They did give us a portable heater though. The big disappointment was when we asked about transport to the airport. The staff member at reception said a taxi would be $60 but a private car would also be $60 and was more reliable. He was very persistent that we should book a private car. When the car arrived it seemed to be someone's private vehicle and he seemed to be friends with the staff member. They "highly" recommended we pay cash, when we said we only had credit card he said it was a 10% credit card fee. We were okay with that but he insisted on taking us to a bank to get cash. When we paid the driver at the airport $60+tip he corrected us and said it was actually $67.50 because of tolls. When we said we were quoted $60 TOTAL he said that wasn't right and we needed to give him more money. He then insisted on making us call the staff member back at the hotel. This was incredible frustrating and embarrassing - we would/should have taken a cab. A negative end to a wonderful stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Lily Q,

Thank you for visiting us at the Franklin Hotel during your time in the city. We appreciate you taking time out of your day to provide us with feedback. The team prides themselves on service and the feedback you have provided is a huge help in making us a better hotel. We hope you will choose us again the next time you visit New York.

We would love to welcome you back.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a fabulous time - the size of the room was exactly as expected based upon other reviews and the status as a boutique hotel, so we thoroughly enjoyed our cozy room with its perfect bed, chandelier, gorgeous appointments, and yummy Bvlgari toiletries. The staff made us feel as though we were coming home to our own apartment each day, and they met every request immediately. The wine and cheese, cappuccinos, and breakfast every day were worth so much more than the nominal resort fee. It was a lovely stay, perfect location right around the block from the subway, shopping, and great neighborhood restaurants. Couldn't have been happier, and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - ours had the perfect squeezed-in combo of a king bed, desk, and a nice windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Mandy W,

Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We are so excited to hear that you liked the room, guest amenities, and of course the staff. It makes the team so happy to hear that you will be a return guest in the future. They really take pride in the service of the hotel and from the sounds of it we didn’t disappoint.

We appreciate you staying with us and can’t wait to welcome you back.
Thank you for your time.

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#160 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Bvlgari bath amenities, complimentary shoe shine, 24-hour cappuccino machine and New York Sports club passes upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.