We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was robbed - literally.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Franklin to your Saves list
The Franklin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Sunday Night
Ranked #279 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I was robbed - literally.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I recently travelled to New York from Australia and I booked my stay here. On check out, I noticed they charged me and my partner $530 of unauthorised credit card charges (the the card we didn't even sign for or use at checkout!). I have contacted them countless times proving my right to receive a full refund by providing my bank statements as evidence. They are reluctant to talk to me or acknowledge their crime.
Their staff are completely hopeless, unprofessional and frankly, don't look like they even care about their job in the service industry. I have never experienced such poor service, or unauthorised credit card charges (read: stealing!) from anywhere I've ever travelled!
You would think they would have a higher standard of duty of care and professionalism as they are located in a prestigious upper east side location - wrong!

If you dare to stay at this terrible hotel and experience their poor service, then don't bother booking a breakfast deal, it's lacklustre - small croissants and yoghurt only. You can buy a cheap breakfast (and a good one) for $8-10USD anywhere in manhattan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear ZoeB262,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry your stay was not enjoyable. We have rectified the issue of charging the credit card you wanted charged and crediting the card which was charged by mistake. The desk made a mistake and we apologize you had to go through that. We hope this one mistake will not deter you from staying with us again. We hope to make it up to you if you do give us another chance.

We appreciate your feedback as it will allow us to all get better at what we do.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    152
    75
    31
    22
See reviews for
62
168
60
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights, the staff were very friendly and the room was modern and nicely decorated. Free cheese and wine was a nice touch. Breakfast modest but you can take it back up to your room; sine nice diners nearby for pancakes and bacon also. Small but perfectly formed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Zoe L,
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review the Franklin Hotel. We appreciate you staying with us and were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you liked the amenities as well as the location of the hotel. We hope you choose us again the next time you are in NYC.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Franklin Hotel is good hotel, great location (Upper East), breakfast included (amazing) and very clean. But the size of the rooms is a real problem. You cant leave your luggage on the floor, or even where to store your clothes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Elvira R,

Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the location and the guest amenities we offer. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide feedback.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Franklin for 6 nights. The room was small, as expected and the front desk staff were fantastic. They were helpful and accommodating. The Internet didn't work in our room so we had to use it in the foyer, our TV was fuzzy and the heating system was broken. They did give us a portable heater though. The big disappointment was when we asked about transport to the airport. The staff member at reception said a taxi would be $60 but a private car would also be $60 and was more reliable. He was very persistent that we should book a private car. When the car arrived it seemed to be someone's private vehicle and he seemed to be friends with the staff member. They "highly" recommended we pay cash, when we said we only had credit card he said it was a 10% credit card fee. We were okay with that but he insisted on taking us to a bank to get cash. When we paid the driver at the airport $60+tip he corrected us and said it was actually $67.50 because of tolls. When we said we were quoted $60 TOTAL he said that wasn't right and we needed to give him more money. He then insisted on making us call the staff member back at the hotel. This was incredible frustrating and embarrassing - we would/should have taken a cab. A negative end to a wonderful stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Lily Q,

Thank you for visiting us at the Franklin Hotel during your time in the city. We appreciate you taking time out of your day to provide us with feedback. The team prides themselves on service and the feedback you have provided is a huge help in making us a better hotel. We hope you will choose us again the next time you visit New York.

We would love to welcome you back.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a fabulous time - the size of the room was exactly as expected based upon other reviews and the status as a boutique hotel, so we thoroughly enjoyed our cozy room with its perfect bed, chandelier, gorgeous appointments, and yummy Bvlgari toiletries. The staff made us feel as though we were coming home to our own apartment each day, and they met every request immediately. The wine and cheese, cappuccinos, and breakfast every day were worth so much more than the nominal resort fee. It was a lovely stay, perfect location right around the block from the subway, shopping, and great neighborhood restaurants. Couldn't have been happier, and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - ours had the perfect squeezed-in combo of a king bed, desk, and a nice windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Mandy W,

Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We are so excited to hear that you liked the room, guest amenities, and of course the staff. It makes the team so happy to hear that you will be a return guest in the future. They really take pride in the service of the hotel and from the sounds of it we didn’t disappoint.

We appreciate you staying with us and can’t wait to welcome you back.
Thank you for your time.

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I recently stayed at THE FRANKLIN Hotel on the UES on 87th Streeet between Lexington and 3rd!! It's a great location for me as my Daughter just lives blocks and I could walk to and from her apartment everyday and night!! It's a wonderful neighborhood full of wonderful restaurants, coffee shops, bars, shops,.... It's safe and reasonably quiet! The hotel reminds me of a small, adorable European boutique hotel. There are only 50 rooms decorated beautifully with all the amenities you need. Terrific bed and soft comfy linens with lots of pillows with a flat panel TV on the wall! Luxerious bath products in the small but very adequate bathroom. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. In the morning, they offered a lovely continental breakfast in their 2 beautiful parlors, consisting of muffins, croissants, cereal, fruits, coffees, teas, and juices. In the late afternoon, they offered wines and cheeses. So lovely!!! I felt right at home and will definitely stay here again and again! Loved it!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 71. It is larger than some of the others and very comfortable!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear dylynn,

Thank you very much for taking the time out to review the Franklin Hotel. We are super happy that you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff, breakfast, wine and cheese reception, and the location of the room. We pride ourselves on service and from the sounds of it we were spot on. This is wonderful news as our staff loves to assist guests with whatever they need.

We hope you will become frequent guest of the hotel since your daughter lives close by and you enjoyed staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Simply put - if you seek room to express the "free range chicken" in you...this may not work. But if you want an unbeatable UES location, super cozy rooms with high quality furnishings, set-up and amenities, then look no further. Be forewarned - your forearms will smack both sides of the room in one shot in the least expensive category. If you intend to be "out" and want a great bed...perfect. If you intend to camp in...maybe you will need a bigger space....

Room Tip: IF you need space - pay up a grade ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Andrew G,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We really appreciate you taking time out of your day to write a review about the hotel. We are really happy that you liked the super cozy rooms, the hotel amenities and the location.

We hope the next time you visit New York City that you think of us as your hotel of choice.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, complimentary shoe shine, 24-hour cappuccino machine and New York Sports club passes upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.