We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Franklin to your Saves list
The Franklin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night FREE!
Ranked #307 of 463 Hotels in New York City
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great little place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is two blocks from where we live. We're having our bathroom redone and needed a place for two days. The room was comfortable and quiet which was a pleasant surprise given that the street below is busy. It may look like a side street, but there is commercial activity. The breakfast was good. We never tried the evening wine & cheese.

If you're a tourist wanting a reasonably priced basic hotel for sleeping that is convenient to Museum Mile AND to the 4, 5, 6 green-line subways it is worth considering. For upscale dining also try Madison Avenue. Several around 92nd Street. The shopping get increasingly expensive as you go south from 86th Street.

Room Tip: There is a definite European flavor. Looking at the floor plan at least two rooms have the sink in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Retired-to-Manhattan,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We are so glad that we could accommodate you for two days while you made home improvements. It’s great to hear that the breakfast was good and that the room was quiet; as you must live in the area and can attest to the noise Manhattan streets can produce.

Please come back and see us again and we hope we can be the hotel of choice for your friends and family who come to visit you from out of town.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    175
    83
    33
    29
See reviews for
72
187
69
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tejas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

After booking a small room I was offered a discounted upgrade to a petite suite (subject to availability, of course), which made this a fantastic value. The petite suite was still fairly small, but certainly big enough. Service was excellent and the location perfect. Only thing that wasn't stellar was the breakfast, however, you're practically surrounded by coffeshops and delis, so that didn't really matter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear 000jesus,

Thank you very much for your kind words about the service our staff provided. I know the staff will be excited to know they made your stay enjoyable as they all pride themselves on providing excellent service. We hope the next time you visit NYC you think of the Franklin as your choice of hotel.

Thank you for your feedback as it helps us understand what our guests feel about the hotel and staff.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Compact room but luxurious linens and toiletries. Very good and abundant continental breakfast. Everyone on the staff more than willing to help. Notice many Europeans at the hotel. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear nonad1,

Thank you for taking your time out to review the Franklin Hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed our amenities, linen and breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next trip to NYC.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great location, nice rooms, tasty breakfests!
Butique hotel so the atmosphere is a way different from that even with 4/5 stars hotels.
We stayed there 6 nights and will try to choose it again being in NYC

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Drear Pawel W,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to write a review about the Franklin Hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you liked the location, the room, and breakfast provided by the hotel. We know there are many hotels from which you can choose from and we are delighted that you stayed with us. Next time you are in NYC we hope you stay with us again.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Perfect location within steps of coffeeshops, restaurants, drug stores, and of course the subway. We had no trouble with cell phone or wifi. Enjoyed the 24 hr capaccino machine, free breakfast and wine and cheese happy hour. Bed was comfortable, bathroom while tiny was immaculate. A great choice for a city trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio room with king size bed, perhaps the bed takes up room space but we weren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear SaskSunSeeker2,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We love to hear from every guest that stays with us and I assure you we take your feedback seriously. We agree that the Franklin is a great hotel that is in walking distance to many museums and fun areas in Manhattan. When you do visit NY again please think of us so we can make your stay more enjoyable.

Thank you again for taking the time out to help us get better at what we do.
All the best,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a comfy, friendly, well placed hotel if you are visiting New York to see some museums and shows. I loved it!

My only issue is that I got no cell phone reception while there and also could not connect to the internet. The front desk was friendly about it and tried resetting the router, but nothing worked. They did mention that apple products in particular didn't get good reception at their hotel.

This definitely was a negative because I needed to use my phone/internet to look up addresses, get directions, make reservations, etc. I had to actually walk to the Starbucks on the corner to do these things - it would have been so much nicer to do this type of planning from the comfort of my room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Cyasukot,

Thank you for taking your time out to write a review about the Franklin Hotel. We really like feedback from our guests as it allows us to better understand our customer needs. It is great that you did enjoy your stay and the area the hotel was located in. We hope you choose us again the next time you are in NYC.

Thank you again for your time.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are tiny but your in NYC. You are just sleeping there right!? The hotel is a block from the 6 train which is great and right around the corner from shopping museums and great restaurants. I booked a room for my parents because I live in the area. The breakfast was nice and wine hour was perfect. Hotel is clean and nice. Value was not bad.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, and 24-hour cappuccino machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.