We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iphone and internet issues at an otherwise lovely hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin

Save Saved
You added The Franklin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Franklin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Sunday Night
Ranked #287 of 452 hotels in New York City
Lincoln, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Iphone and internet issues at an otherwise lovely hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a comfy, friendly, well placed hotel if you are visiting New York to see some museums and shows. I loved it!

My only issue is that I got no cell phone reception while there and also could not connect to the internet. The front desk was friendly about it and tried resetting the router, but nothing worked. They did mention that apple products in particular didn't get good reception at their hotel.

This definitely was a negative because I needed to use my phone/internet to look up addresses, get directions, make reservations, etc. I had to actually walk to the Starbucks on the corner to do these things - it would have been so much nicer to do this type of planning from the comfort of my room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Cyasukot,

Thank you for taking your time out to write a review about the Franklin Hotel. We really like feedback from our guests as it allows us to better understand our customer needs. It is great that you did enjoy your stay and the area the hotel was located in. We hope you choose us again the next time you are in NYC.

Thank you again for your time.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    145
    75
    31
    22
See reviews for
61
164
58
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Rooms are tiny but your in NYC. You are just sleeping there right!? The hotel is a block from the 6 train which is great and right around the corner from shopping museums and great restaurants. I booked a room for my parents because I live in the area. The breakfast was nice and wine hour was perfect. Hotel is clean and nice. Value was not bad.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have never been in a hotel room as small as this! Comfortable bed, friendly staff, too high of a price for a hotel with the smallest closet (room for only 4 hangers) I have ever seen. One person can handle it but 2 ?????. Good location. Bring your in a plastic bag, as there is no room for luggage!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

First impressions of this hotel weren't that promising, I have to admit. The lobby looks a little tired and run down. However, the rooms are clean, quiet and prettily decorated. The heating/aircon works and, while the service from the front desk can be a little... idiosyncratic, everyone was very helpful and good humoured. The bed was enormous (perhaps a bit too enormous for the room) and incredibly comfortable.

The location is great. It is right near the 4,5,6 line down to Midtown/Brooklyn and you can get anywhere quickly and easily from there. For a Manhattan hotel, it is great value.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 3rd floor are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

GOOD: location (walking distance to subway and central park), breakfast, good bed, quiet neighborhood, very nice staff.
BAD: rooms are really small. Almost didn't have espace for our baggage.
.......................................................

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The perfect location on the Upper East Side. Walking distance to shopping, museums, and restaurants galore! Rooms are very small, but very nice and squeaky clean. So pretty with a chandelier above our bed. Linens are soft, bed rated 4/5 (we are spoiled by our latex mattress). We LOVED having the espresso machine downstairs! The staff was wonderful. We had a bit of a delay on check in, but this was due to some rude guests who ignored the check out time of 2pm, not the hotel staff who did everything they could to get rooms cleaned asap. We enjoyed exploring the neighborhood in the meantime and found a GREAT place to eat across the street, Cafe Bocado, where we ate a couple times a day. We absolutely will return to the Frankin the next time we are in NYC :)

Room Tip: Opt for a larger room if you really feel you want the space. And the back rooms on upper floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

PROS:
Location (walking distance to 4/5/6 (Green line) train station.
Safe, quiet neighborhood.
Breakfast (7-10am, cereal, pastries, yogurt, oranges, cheese, coffee, tea, juice).
Wine & cheese (5-6:30pm).
Coffee, tea (24/7).
Staff is very kind.
Bedding is wonderful!
Very clean (under the bed as well).
Beautiful lighting and vanity.
Very nice toiletries.
Vintage feeling with Art Deco elevator grills and buttons.
CONS
Rooms are very small (2 people with 2 suitcases is the max). If you’re a women’s size 12 or larger, this will feel incredibly cramped and you’ll have to shimmy sideways to get into bed. I'm pregnant right now and spent a full day sick in the hotel room while my husband was out. It was uncomfortably tiny.
Closet are 8” deep and hold a max of 2 coats (not heavy winter coats either) sideways.
No in room safes.
No clock radio so you better keep your phone close by if you need an alarm.
Only 1 accessible plug in. The other was on the wall blocked by the nightstand that couldn’t be moved because it was squished between a bed and a radiator cover.
Free WiFi but on the 7th floor we had little to no reception.
$12/day service charge. Not sure what for, and not covered by Hotwire’s ‘all in’ bidding system.
Pillows are the very fluffy, then compact down to a rather solid base. My neck and my husbands killed by the end of the trip. That’s more personal preference than anything though.

Would I stay again? Only if my stay was less than 2 nights (therefore not wanting to unpack my bag). For a 7 night stay, there was nowhere for us to drop shopping bags or leave more than 1 pair of shoes out. Unless you’re in the bathroom, two people can stretch out their arms and nearly touch hands going diagonally across the room. Now stay there for 7 nights … forget it.

Room Tip: Get the largest suite possible, or go solo. Rooms are too cramped for 'big boned' folks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#193 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, complimentary shoe shine, 24-hour cappuccino machine and New York Sports club passes upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.