We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonkers and brilliant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin

Save Saved
You added The Franklin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Franklin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Sunday Night
Ranked #289 of 452 hotels in New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bonkers and brilliant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

First impressions of this hotel weren't that promising, I have to admit. The lobby looks a little tired and run down. However, the rooms are clean, quiet and prettily decorated. The heating/aircon works and, while the service from the front desk can be a little... idiosyncratic, everyone was very helpful and good humoured. The bed was enormous (perhaps a bit too enormous for the room) and incredibly comfortable.

The location is great. It is right near the 4,5,6 line down to Midtown/Brooklyn and you can get anywhere quickly and easily from there. For a Manhattan hotel, it is great value.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 3rd floor are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    144
    75
    31
    22
See reviews for
60
164
56
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

GOOD: location (walking distance to subway and central park), breakfast, good bed, quiet neighborhood, very nice staff.
BAD: rooms are really small. Almost didn't have espace for our baggage.
.......................................................

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The perfect location on the Upper East Side. Walking distance to shopping, museums, and restaurants galore! Rooms are very small, but very nice and squeaky clean. So pretty with a chandelier above our bed. Linens are soft, bed rated 4/5 (we are spoiled by our latex mattress). We LOVED having the espresso machine downstairs! The staff was wonderful. We had a bit of a delay on check in, but this was due to some rude guests who ignored the check out time of 2pm, not the hotel staff who did everything they could to get rooms cleaned asap. We enjoyed exploring the neighborhood in the meantime and found a GREAT place to eat across the street, Cafe Bocado, where we ate a couple times a day. We absolutely will return to the Frankin the next time we are in NYC :)

Room Tip: Opt for a larger room if you really feel you want the space. And the back rooms on upper floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

PROS:
Location (walking distance to 4/5/6 (Green line) train station.
Safe, quiet neighborhood.
Breakfast (7-10am, cereal, pastries, yogurt, oranges, cheese, coffee, tea, juice).
Wine & cheese (5-6:30pm).
Coffee, tea (24/7).
Staff is very kind.
Bedding is wonderful!
Very clean (under the bed as well).
Beautiful lighting and vanity.
Very nice toiletries.
Vintage feeling with Art Deco elevator grills and buttons.
CONS
Rooms are very small (2 people with 2 suitcases is the max). If you’re a women’s size 12 or larger, this will feel incredibly cramped and you’ll have to shimmy sideways to get into bed. I'm pregnant right now and spent a full day sick in the hotel room while my husband was out. It was uncomfortably tiny.
Closet are 8” deep and hold a max of 2 coats (not heavy winter coats either) sideways.
No in room safes.
No clock radio so you better keep your phone close by if you need an alarm.
Only 1 accessible plug in. The other was on the wall blocked by the nightstand that couldn’t be moved because it was squished between a bed and a radiator cover.
Free WiFi but on the 7th floor we had little to no reception.
$12/day service charge. Not sure what for, and not covered by Hotwire’s ‘all in’ bidding system.
Pillows are the very fluffy, then compact down to a rather solid base. My neck and my husbands killed by the end of the trip. That’s more personal preference than anything though.

Would I stay again? Only if my stay was less than 2 nights (therefore not wanting to unpack my bag). For a 7 night stay, there was nowhere for us to drop shopping bags or leave more than 1 pair of shoes out. Unless you’re in the bathroom, two people can stretch out their arms and nearly touch hands going diagonally across the room. Now stay there for 7 nights … forget it.

Room Tip: Get the largest suite possible, or go solo. Rooms are too cramped for 'big boned' folks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We loved our stay at The Franklin. It’s luxurious but small (so you better get along or keep busy outside in NYC). We loved the staff, Heavenly bedding and pillows, Bulgari toiletries, vintage vibe, complimentary and tasty breakfast, and cleanliness of the place. We also used the airport shuttle service through Hotwire and it was a great deal too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I recently spent six nights at The Franklin (which was extended due to hurricane Sandy). Yes the rooms are small, probably the smallest we have ever stayed in but they were spotless in every sense of the word. Really enjoyed the nice touches, breakfast ,cheese and wine in the afternoon and most importantly the coffee (24/7). During our stay the staff were very helpful and made us feel very welcome, many of them were equally stranded at the hotel due to the devestating weather and spirits were high! In an amazing location away from all the hussle and bustle, near central park and museums. Would definately go back. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Franklin this past weekend and we would recommend it to anybody as a friendly and charming hotel. But potential guests should know how tiny some bedrooms are. Our room, number 33, was one of the smallest we have ever stayed in. It felt like a ship's cabin. A large person would have difficulty getting comfortably into the bathroom, for example.

One other very slight downside. Our room was not set up for the Internet Age. The only available electrical outlet near the head of the bed was deep under the bed, requiring me to get down on my belly with a flashlight to find it and plug in my computer. But on a positive note, the floor under the bed was spotless!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#187 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, complimentary shoe shine, 24-hour cappuccino machine and New York Sports club passes upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.