We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Franklin to your Saves list
The Franklin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night FREE!
Ranked #301 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Maynooth, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just home from 5 Fantastic Nights in The Franklin Hotel and have to say you could not find nicer staff anywhere they where always so helpful no matter what we needed.From reading previous reviews i was afraid that the rooms would be tiny but was pleasantly surprised the rooms are not huge but they are perfectly formed everything that you could need included an in room safe . The Hotel provides a continental breakfast from 7am to 10 am and is handy for grabbing something before you go out each day and there is a coffee machine that is accessible 24 hours a day .
There is also and wine and cheese reception every evening which is very nice .

I will defiantly recommend this hotel to friends and family travelling to New York .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    175
    83
    33
    29
See reviews for
72
187
70
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Overall, my experience at the Franklin Hotel was great. The staff was very friendly and the accommodations quite comfortable. I was surprised that the bathroom amenities were not refilled at all the week that I was there...except for providing me with an additional soap my last full day. The conditioner was only 1/2 full when I checked in and was not replaced all week. Otherwise, the room was a decent size (good thing I did not overpack), cool, and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the brick wall "courtyard".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Franklin was ideal for my needs. I was a single traveler staying for three nights - I didn't have a lot of luggage and I didn't need much space. My room had a modern look, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and worked well, and the AC kept the room cool (though it was a bit loud). A few really nice features: free use of the NY Sports Club one block away, great espresso/cappuccino maker always available, free wifi in the room, complimentary breakfast, plus wine and cheese offered in the early evening. I also liked the location. The 4-5-6 train was one block away and it was very simple to catch the 86 bus across the park when I wanted to get to the west side. Plus, there were plenty of good restaurants on 2nd Ave a couple blocks away. It was a good place for exploring the city, especially if you are interested in the museums. As others have mentioned, rooms are small. Not sure if they have larger rooms to accommodate larger parties. Depending on your needs the Franklin might be a good option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Last night I was in room 54, about as big as a closet looking at a brick wall only a few feet away. They kindly moved me. Tonight I'm in room 62, slightly bigger and looking out onto 87th street. But, the air conditioner is rattling and grinding and wheezing so loud. How am I going to sleep. The staff here is excellent. But, I wish I could leave right now!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Been in many small hotels in NYC
Never had a small room like in this
The hotel rated 3.5 stars I think that 2.5 stars would have been more like it .
The plus side it's clean , near subway
And the room is ok if you ignore the size and the fact that u get a noise not just from the street but also from your window mounted air condition . there are better values in this city .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is moderately priced. It's in a good location, just two blocks from Central Park and less than ten blocks from the Metropolitan Museum.. The continental breakfast was quite good with cereal, yogurt, juices, bread and sweet rolls, coffee etc.. The room was quite clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms away from street would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

If your NYC visit centers on Museum Mile and environs, this hotel is a great choice. It's walking distance to all the big-name art museums. If you are a first-time NYC visitor, I would not recommend this location because you will have to navigate multiple mass transit options to reach the major tourist attractions.
The hotel is small and has Old World charm, such as a nice, small breakfast room with complimentary continental breakfast. The rooms are small. If room size is a concern, this is not a good choice for you. We have stayed in a few other NYC hotels in the past and understand that rooms in this city are small, but The Franklin was the smallest room we have yet encountered.

Although clean, the hotel is threadbare in spots. The desk in our room was scuffed and scratched, although it had a lovely ceramic chandelier. The window air conditioner, while welcome because of the outdoor temperature was as noisy as a jet plane. The neighborhood is residential, but lively. You are not "in the heart" of Manhattan, but you are in a nice place. So choose this hotel if it meets your itinerary and inclination.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#202 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, and 24-hour cappuccino machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.