We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice NY Hotel experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #255 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A nice NY Hotel experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights on a sightseeing tour of NYC. The hotel is lovely and obviously historic. Every staff person we interacted with was helpful and friendly. We enjoyed staying here. However, it was not terribly convenient for the major NYC sites. The subway stops are a few blocks away and when we came back at night, it was a little sketchy walking back to the hotel (we were with a group of ladies traveling). Our room was small (we had a Queen Superior room) yet it was nicely appointed. The bathroom was very small and the tiles on the floor were broken and even partially missing. I was surprised by that as we are Marriott members and that seemed substandard for a Marriott property. There was a Duane Reade drugstore about 2-3 blocks away but when we walked over there at night, it was closed at about 10:30 so it is not a 24 hour one. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. It was quieter than staying in the middle of the action closer to the attractions but just not as convenient. Also, there was absolutely no view as our window looked out over the innards of the hotel and a rooftop.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    615
    241
    100
    59
See reviews for
205
580
106
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a great location in NYC. If you are in suite 716 you will have a beautiful view of the Empire State Building. We were upgraded to a suite so that was a nice suprise! The hotel was quiet at night which was very nice after a busy day walking the streets of NYC to come back and rest your feet without hearing taxis honking all through the night. I would highly recommend this hotel. Also, they had a nice complementary breakfast that we all enjoyed!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfreeman1, General Manager at Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Razorbackgirl7 –
Thank you for visiting us. I am pleased to see we were able to better your experience by offering you a complimentary upgrade… We always try to exceed expectations and are so pleased to see that you and enjoyed your visit so much.
Cheers,
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Second stay and it was outstanding! Repeat visit because it is just a great place.
Thanks to Bonnie in Customer Service for her help to our special requests that made our stay even better. She was terrific!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfreeman1, General Manager at Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
bobk043066 –
Thank you for coming back to the Carlton. We always love to read reviews like this. Bonnie is wonderful, we will make sure she see your comments. Come again soon…
Cheers,
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was a nice hotel. Thought location was just right. Quiet location just a few blocks walk and everything was there in any direction. You don't want the night life on your doorstep. Room was clean not large but we only sleeped there. Bathroom was ok no smaller than UK bathrooms. On the whole good hotel and location would defiantly book here again.

Room Tip: Ask on arrival for tea and coffee making facilities. They will oblige but maid does not wash cups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfreeman1, General Manager at Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you your review of our hotel. Please consider us for future visits to New York.

Sincerely,
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuck in MA
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Reservations and everything had a Marriott flavor. It was nice to see that because one can expect certain amenities with that chain.

We arrived early at 1:30 pm but were surprised with the offer of a room at that hour. The desk associate warned us it would be by the elevators but suggested that it would be fine. After going up, the key cards did not work. Instead of just offering an apology, he actually went up with us to confirm that the locks were functional. Amazing and cheerfully friendly all the way. Wow....

The room was an executive suite which was considered the largest available of that type on the floor. However, by suburban standards it would be considered average. Still nice to get something that spacious in NYC.

Linens, towels, and bath amenities were up a notch from the usual Marriott chain supplies so that was a nice touch. TV was bolted to the wall on one side of an armoire so it was mostly visible to only one bed. WiFi was excellent and free. It also turns out that you cannot hear the elevators. However, even on the 10th floor street noise can make it up there occasionally.

1-2 blocks from the 6 and N subways. 1 block from a Duane Reade 24-hour pharmacy.

Usually I don't consider downtown hotels unique but the customer service here was top notch and I would definitely consider returning to the Carlton.

Green Features: Cards abound describing NYC's efforts to save energy and water but mostly they're guest dependent so it's still up to each user.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfreeman1, General Manager at Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for visiting the Carlton Hotel. We are very proud of our associates and are so pleased to read your comments noting their service.
We do hope we become a regular of yours when visiting New York.
Best regards,
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a beautiful hotel with all the amenities! Really enjoyed our stay! Room was perfect, bed comfy and the bar and entertainment were both enjoyed. The look of the hotel reminds you of the classic 1930's New York!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfreeman1, General Manager at Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We are very pleased to read your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay so much.
Thank you,
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We are from the Mountain West area and do not know much about New York City even with having a son who has lived there for the past 6 years; and was getting married on November 1st. We were clueless on where to stay until a friend suggested the Carlton and believe me I'm so thankful she did! With the New York Marathon going on that weekend it seemed like all of the hotels prices that I had checked prior to calling the Carlton were elevated. I was pleasantly surprised when the Carlton reservationist told me what we would be paying for the two rooms for five nights after viewing the pics on their web site. Let me tell you that the Carlton website doesn't do it justice compared to the actual setting and plush decor that stunned us when we first walked in the door. It felt like walking into an old building one hundred years ago that has been well kept, updated and extremely POLLISHED! This wasn't even the best part of our stay because the service was better than anything I had ever seen at a Ritz Carlton or the Waldorf. You could tell that the staff truly cared and wanted to serve me and my family. From the moment our driver pulled up to drop us off the doorman would run out to open our doors and greet us to the hotel, this occurred during our whole stay and continued to the moment we left. Not only were the doorman extremely helpful; but they were very knowledgeable and had great sense of humors. The front desk staff was very prompt and friendly, along with housekeeping that arrived on the spot every morning to clean. They did a thorough cleaning while leaving extra towels at our request. I really believe that the beds at the Carlton are some of the most comfortable that I have ever slept in and the down pillows were a very appreciated touch. If there was a negative that I saw it would be that the elevators that were smaller than most other hotels because of the era of when it was built and that must have been the style.
With everything being said, we can't wait to go back to the Carlton for our next visit while in New York City. I strongly suggest trying a lemon drop martini at the lobby bar, the Bartenders were Amazing as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 614 and 616 with the Empire State Building as our view, again no complaints there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfreeman1, General Manager at Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
BGS661 –
Thank you for such a glowing review of our hotel and many congratulations on the occasion of your son’s wedding! We are fortunate to receive a tremendous amount of positive feedback about the quality of our mattresses and are glad you enjoyed your nights rest so much. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations and already are looking forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 88 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#149 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#181 Family Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A midtown Manhattan luxury boutique hotel located near the Empire State Building, Union Square and other New York City attractions. Offers vacation packages and special offers, as well as meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel New York City
Carlton Madison Avenue
Carlton On Madison Avenue Hotel
New York Carlton
Carlton Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.