We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel close to Empire State” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #228 of 446 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good hotel close to Empire State”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Good hotel in the heart of Manhatten Close to Empire State building and 5th Avenue. Rooms are not big, in typical american style but noisy as windows are old and not noisy protected. .Beds are convenient. Lobby is historically looking made in Art Nuovo style. Breakfast is real american and very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    515
    554
    200
    93
    50
See reviews for
140
464
87
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ct., USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in Dec.2012-Xmas shopping and show. Car service to Broadway was worth the splurge---$35 for three people in the rain! Later than evening Returning from downtown was impossible to get a taxi so depending on what you are planning to do it might be a bit of a walk.... Our room was quite small as others have mentioned. Overall very European feel (like the Russelll in London...). Nice and quiet. Breakfast was nice. Car overnight parking is pricey. But so is NY!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Every year, my wife and two adult daughters travel to NYC the week-end after Thanksgiving. And as such, I am the responsible person that makes (and most of the times pays for) the hotel accommodations for these past 16 years. I never look forward to picking them up at the airport when they return from NYC because the ride home always is sprinkled with criticisms they had with the hotel I chose, specifically the unresponsive hotel staff, the cleanliness of the room, the marginal performance of housekeeping, etc. Well, TODAY, the ride home from the airport with the girls was VERY different because they stayed at the Carlton. Enough could not be said about the overall experience at the hotel. In fact, when they got in the car, they chimed in, "BEST EVER'!
They proceeded to tell me that the front desk personnel were outstanding, housekeeping was unbelievably efficient and thorough and even the bell services they received was top notch. They could not say enough about what a wonderful stay that they had. Bottom line, it was the people of the Carlton that made the very big difference in their stay as they looked after all needs that my girls had during their stay. I was given orders that to make sure that their 2013 trip was at the Carlton.

Room Tip: My girls stayed in Room 825, and that is the room that they want next year!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North babylon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel was so so to me. The staff wasn't the friendliest- some were really nice though. Nice comfy hallways leading to the rooms. Very small rooms, but maybe that's to be expected for a NYC hotel. You don't get a lot for your money here. Internet was about $13 for 15 minutes!!! With what you pay for one night, it should be free. If you do stay here, ASK TO BE AWAY FROM MADISON AVE. SIDE BECAUSE OF LOUDDDDDDD CLUB ACROSS THE STREET, which made sleeping difficult. There were two altercations on two separate nights where the cops had to be called. I was given free breakfast passes at check-in which was nice, but it was complimentary, which I'm not a fan of.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Easy valet service at drop off, horrible at pickup. Reasonably priced valet for NYC. Front desk was nice, quick check in but all my requests never happened (i.e. extra towels never came since we had 4 guests in the room, only 2 were in the room when we arrived). We requested a rollaway but it didn't fit anywhere in the room. Rooms extremely small compared to Marriott. Outlet didn't work so we had dead cell phones. We called ahead for our car as instructed, still waited an hour + and decided to walk to the garage where they kept the cars rather than waiting another hour. It was clean but service was far from 5 star!

Room Tip: Have no tips..... would not stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our stay at this property lived up to my expectations with regards to it being a lovely property with clean and comfortable rooms. An added bonus indeed, however, was how it exceeded our expectations due to the outstanding team of staff here. From management down the employees were top notch due to their professionalism and friendliness. We truly had the sense that they appreciated their guests and liked what they were doing! Location is wonderful and ample room for luggage. The bathroom was small but very nicely furnished and maintained. Could use more glasses for drinking in the room and would have liked a "hot pot" for making tea/coffee in the room without having to call room service. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant- good food and again, highly professional and friendly restaurant staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a wonderful stay for the Thanksgiving holiday. Loved that it was small and so conveniently located. Our room was beautiful, quiet and the bed was so comfortable it was hard to leave in the morning. We look forward to staying here again on our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel New York City
Carlton Madison
Carlton Madison Avenue
Carlton On Madison Avenue Hotel
Carlton On Madison Avenue
New York Carlton
Carlton Hotel New York
Address: 88 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#160 Family Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A midtown Manhattan luxury boutique hotel located near the Empire State Building, Union Square and other New York City attractions. Offers vacation packages and special offers, as well as meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Venere, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.