We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #236 of 452 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our stay at this property lived up to my expectations with regards to it being a lovely property with clean and comfortable rooms. An added bonus indeed, however, was how it exceeded our expectations due to the outstanding team of staff here. From management down the employees were top notch due to their professionalism and friendliness. We truly had the sense that they appreciated their guests and liked what they were doing! Location is wonderful and ample room for luggage. The bathroom was small but very nicely furnished and maintained. Could use more glasses for drinking in the room and would have liked a "hot pot" for making tea/coffee in the room without having to call room service. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant- good food and again, highly professional and friendly restaurant staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    510
    528
    202
    92
    53
See reviews for
167
504
94
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a wonderful stay for the Thanksgiving holiday. Loved that it was small and so conveniently located. Our room was beautiful, quiet and the bed was so comfortable it was hard to leave in the morning. We look forward to staying here again on our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Carlton Hotel. First I want to acknowledge that every employee was very professional and helpful. We stayed in room 322 for 5 nights. The room was on the small side but very clean. The bathroom was pretty small with nice amenities and plenty of towels. The decor was decent and the bed was comfortable. The room and bathroom needs some attention to detail. It looks like when the room was updated they missed some spots. Also, there was no full length mirror in the room. That is a big "no-no"! The only meal we had at the hotel was breakfast which as quite good! The restaurant, Millesime has a piano bar several nights a week. Finally, they have $1.00 oysters at Happy Hour! We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

4th time at the carlton. PERFECT location -- Union Square 6 blocks away..pillows and bed are SO comfy! Can't ask for more!?! Staff is really helpful and know the areas really well! Will be back Of course! Rooms are such a good size, i mean this is NY..so if you're expecting a huge room then go to Dallas..the rooms are actually larger in the Carlton than the W in Union Square which is way more money. It's a great value.
Never ate at the restaurant but hang out in the bar and it's lovely. Great restaurants in the area as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The lobby is beautiful, as are the hallways. The rooms have modern decor, but falls short when you look at the details (wallpaper falling off in some areas, broken marble tiling). The hotel should've spent some of the money they did on the lobby/hallways instead on the rooms. My room was also facing a generator or fan on the rooftop of another building, which the noise was masked slightly by the air conditioner - so I'd say I got a crappy room.

Service-wise, this was my experience:
I checked in at the correct check-in time (3pm) but was told my room wasn't ready (along with a number of others waiting in the lobby). I had an engagement to attend to, so after waiting another 15-20 minutes, I addressed the front desk staff to check the status. Their answer was "the hotel was fully booked the night before, we'll let you know when your room is ready". The best solution they could come up with was offering me a standard room (instead of a deluxe king) with a free continental breakfast - a bit of a cheap alternative. I took it as I had to get into a room, period. The hotel needs to understand that sometimes, time is the number one priority for people and a free continental breakfast doesn't make up for the inconvenience (not to mention the room downgrade). Plus, a fully booked hotel the night before is never an excuse to not have rooms ready for check-in the next day, mainly because it's not the customer's problem ... especially if a hotel claims to be "luxury" and "4-star". I've stayed at similar described calibre hotels, to which they meet expectations, this one doesn't.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
749 reviews 749 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
389 helpful votes 389 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I feel a sense of mixed emotions starting at this hotel, as you can encounter moments of real satisfaction among a large number of moments of dissatisfaction. While the hotel is clean and pleasant, the service is very limited, it is as if the staff don't care and are just counting the minutes until clock out time

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here because we loved the location, room was SUPER small but had everything we needed. Room service was amazing - ordered the burger. Gave us late check out despite the fact that the hotel was completely booked the next night. Asked to see if we could stay longer but hotel was booked.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 88 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#133 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
#203 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A midtown Manhattan luxury boutique hotel located near the Empire State Building, Union Square and other New York City attractions. Offers vacation packages and special offers, as well as meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel New York City
Carlton Madison Avenue
Carlton On Madison Avenue Hotel
New York Carlton
Carlton Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.