We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #296 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our stay at this property lived up to my expectations with regards to it being a lovely property with clean and comfortable rooms. An added bonus indeed, however, was how it exceeded our expectations due to the outstanding team of staff here. From management down the employees were top notch due to their professionalism and friendliness. We truly had the sense that they appreciated their guests and liked what they were doing! Location is wonderful and ample room for luggage. The bathroom was small but very nicely furnished and maintained. Could use more glasses for drinking in the room and would have liked a "hot pot" for making tea/coffee in the room without having to call room service. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant- good food and again, highly professional and friendly restaurant staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pimento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a wonderful stay for the Thanksgiving holiday. Loved that it was small and so conveniently located. Our room was beautiful, quiet and the bed was so comfortable it was hard to leave in the morning. We look forward to staying here again on our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggi017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Carlton Hotel. First I want to acknowledge that every employee was very professional and helpful. We stayed in room 322 for 5 nights. The room was on the small side but very clean. The bathroom was pretty small with nice amenities and plenty of towels. The decor was decent and the bed was comfortable. The room and bathroom needs some attention to detail. It looks like when the room was updated they missed some spots. Also, there was no full length mirror in the room. That is a big "no-no"! The only meal we had at the hotel was breakfast which as quite good! The restaurant, Millesime has a piano bar several nights a week. Finally, they have $1.00 oysters at Happy Hour! We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jss56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

4th time at the carlton. PERFECT location -- Union Square 6 blocks away..pillows and bed are SO comfy! Can't ask for more!?! Staff is really helpful and know the areas really well! Will be back Of course! Rooms are such a good size, i mean this is NY..so if you're expecting a huge room then go to Dallas..the rooms are actually larger in the Carlton than the W in Union Square which is way more money. It's a great value.
Never ate at the restaurant but hang out in the bar and it's lovely. Great restaurants in the area as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LandJNYUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The lobby is beautiful, as are the hallways. The rooms have modern decor, but falls short when you look at the details (wallpaper falling off in some areas, broken marble tiling). The hotel should've spent some of the money they did on the lobby/hallways instead on the rooms. My room was also facing a generator or fan on the rooftop of another building, which the noise was masked slightly by the air conditioner - so I'd say I got a crappy room.

Service-wise, this was my experience:
I checked in at the correct check-in time (3pm) but was told my room wasn't ready (along with a number of others waiting in the lobby). I had an engagement to attend to, so after waiting another 15-20 minutes, I addressed the front desk staff to check the status. Their answer was "the hotel was fully booked the night before, we'll let you know when your room is ready". The best solution they could come up with was offering me a standard room (instead of a deluxe king) with a free continental breakfast - a bit of a cheap alternative. I took it as I had to get into a room, period. The hotel needs to understand that sometimes, time is the number one priority for people and a free continental breakfast doesn't make up for the inconvenience (not to mention the room downgrade). Plus, a fully booked hotel the night before is never an excuse to not have rooms ready for check-in the next day, mainly because it's not the customer's problem ... especially if a hotel claims to be "luxury" and "4-star". I've stayed at similar described calibre hotels, to which they meet expectations, this one doesn't.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
887 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 514 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I feel a sense of mixed emotions starting at this hotel, as you can encounter moments of real satisfaction among a large number of moments of dissatisfaction. While the hotel is clean and pleasant, the service is very limited, it is as if the staff don't care and are just counting the minutes until clock out time

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HiddenCaviar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here because we loved the location, room was SUPER small but had everything we needed. Room service was amazing - ordered the burger. Gave us late check out despite the fact that the hotel was completely booked the next night. Asked to see if we could stay longer but hotel was booked.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itravelusa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel
The Lexington New York City - an...
#328 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,002 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#212 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
Manhattan
Martha Washington Hotel
Martha Washington Hotel
#262 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#303 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,096 reviews
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#283 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,590 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 88 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Green Hotel in New York City
#182 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
#213 Business Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A midtown Manhattan luxury boutique hotel located near the Empire State Building, Union Square and other New York City attractions. Offers vacation packages and special offers, as well as meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel New York City
Carlton Madison Avenue
Carlton On Madison Avenue Hotel
New York Carlton
Carlton Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing