We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #249 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

4th time at the carlton. PERFECT location -- Union Square 6 blocks away..pillows and bed are SO comfy! Can't ask for more!?! Staff is really helpful and know the areas really well! Will be back Of course! Rooms are such a good size, i mean this is NY..so if you're expecting a huge room then go to Dallas..the rooms are actually larger in the Carlton than the W in Union Square which is way more money. It's a great value.
Never ate at the restaurant but hang out in the bar and it's lovely. Great restaurants in the area as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    566
    229
    96
    58
See reviews for
189
549
100
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The lobby is beautiful, as are the hallways. The rooms have modern decor, but falls short when you look at the details (wallpaper falling off in some areas, broken marble tiling). The hotel should've spent some of the money they did on the lobby/hallways instead on the rooms. My room was also facing a generator or fan on the rooftop of another building, which the noise was masked slightly by the air conditioner - so I'd say I got a crappy room.

Service-wise, this was my experience:
I checked in at the correct check-in time (3pm) but was told my room wasn't ready (along with a number of others waiting in the lobby). I had an engagement to attend to, so after waiting another 15-20 minutes, I addressed the front desk staff to check the status. Their answer was "the hotel was fully booked the night before, we'll let you know when your room is ready". The best solution they could come up with was offering me a standard room (instead of a deluxe king) with a free continental breakfast - a bit of a cheap alternative. I took it as I had to get into a room, period. The hotel needs to understand that sometimes, time is the number one priority for people and a free continental breakfast doesn't make up for the inconvenience (not to mention the room downgrade). Plus, a fully booked hotel the night before is never an excuse to not have rooms ready for check-in the next day, mainly because it's not the customer's problem ... especially if a hotel claims to be "luxury" and "4-star". I've stayed at similar described calibre hotels, to which they meet expectations, this one doesn't.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
831 reviews 831 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
450 helpful votes 450 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I feel a sense of mixed emotions starting at this hotel, as you can encounter moments of real satisfaction among a large number of moments of dissatisfaction. While the hotel is clean and pleasant, the service is very limited, it is as if the staff don't care and are just counting the minutes until clock out time

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here because we loved the location, room was SUPER small but had everything we needed. Room service was amazing - ordered the burger. Gave us late check out despite the fact that the hotel was completely booked the next night. Asked to see if we could stay longer but hotel was booked.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I booked this room because they had just become part of the Autograph Collection, and was excited to see what Marriott was doing here. I have to say, it was a great hotel. The lobby was exquisite, and even though I was a little early for Check-In, I got a room right away. The whole check-in process was great, and she could not have been more friendly. I even took her name to write a comment card. The room was very nice, and very spacious. While there, I even received an email asking about my stay. I thought that was a nice touch. Every aspect of the stay was great, and would come back again for sure. It is a little further from midtown than I usually stay, but it was a short walk to the subway.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Previous reviews of this hotel show mixed reactions, so a friend and I stayed with some trepidation. However, no fear, it's actually a nice hotel and we had no major issues. Still, for what you pay, it is nothing special.

Starting with the neighbourhood, it's in a good location mid-town and close to the subway line 6. We wondered if noise would be an issue, but no problem (but we did have an internal room). As you enter the lobby, you'll be in awe of the luxurious decor, and it continues upstairs in the hallways. I found it reminiscent of a French chateau in decoration.

Our room was small (a frequent complaint in NYC, so not surprising). It wasn't too bad, but probably more suited for one person - and we had a 'superior' double. There was no room to set a suitcase, as on a trestle, even in the cupboard. The most significant issue we had with then room was the tiny bathroom and its lack of a lockable door (it was a sliding door with an open gap, and glazed glass door). There was a superb power shower but no bath.

Wifi and newspapers are free.

Overall, no major problems, but nothing special.

Room Tip: Get an internal room, just in case there's street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very nice and clean British style hotel. All provided. Very clean with everything available. Manager Glen very helpful and accommodating . I enjoyed my first hotel overnight stay in New York City. Hotel is very close to all of the nightlight of the city without being in the main bustle.

Room Tip: King size recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 88 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in New York City
#138 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Family Hotel in New York City
#203 Business Hotel in New York City
#214 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A midtown Manhattan luxury boutique hotel located near the Empire State Building, Union Square and other New York City attractions. Offers vacation packages and special offers, as well as meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel New York City
Carlton Madison Avenue
Carlton On Madison Avenue Hotel
New York Carlton
Carlton Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.