We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40th present” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Belvedere to your Saves list
The Belvedere
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #221 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Londonderry, northern ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“40th present”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location 2 blocks from time square we were able to walk to almost all the main attraction. Clean and tidy hotel will stay there on out next visit. The staff weren't very helpful but we didn't really need to speak to them any way. Make sue u tip the door men something were not used to doing lol.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deppcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

The Belvedere is around the corner from Times Square/Broadway yet away from the noise. It's a beautiful boutique hotel with very friendly staff. The location is perfect. It's convenient and safe with gorgeous architecture. We requested a top floor and I'm glad we did. The view is spectacular at night. We stayed on the 16th floor facing W 48th street. Temp in the room is good. It's quiet and comfortable. The bathroom is small but is apparently typical for NYC. There are not a lot of hotel amenities but you're in NY! You won't be in the room much. I would skip the breakfast in the cafe. It's overpriced and mediocre. Go down a couple of blocks and grab a great breakfast for half the cost. Very good choice for your hotel stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JLD-sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was a great place to stay. It was so close to time square and one of the best restaurants is just 2 doors down. Previous people complained that the elevator was slow. I didn't find that to be true. This hotel had great service and was comfortable to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klarece G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I have stayed in a number of 4 & 5-star hotels across the US and Canada. While I like them I have a soft spot for boutique hotels that have charm over polish. The Belvedere is one of those boutique hotels that reminds me why I like them. The 1920's building shows that it has been around for awhile, but has had love applied to it. The staff is excellent! We were greeted with professionalism and warmth. Each staff member met us with a smile and a yes Sir/No Sir. Our room was 1719, top floor, King Executive. Like others have said it has marble hall and marble bathroom. Room has a Ref., microwave, coffee maker and sink which is nice to store soda's and misc snacks. The room was a good size for NYC standards. The bathroom was on the smaller size, but the mirrored walls give it a bigger feel. Does it have a lot of bathroom storage space? No, however, there is a stand-up shelf in the hallway that is perfect for all your bathroom items. Each room has a safe to store you valuable items. The AC was effective and easy to control. Many say it doesn't keep the room cool if you close the curtains. Our room had black out shades that meant we did not have to close the full curtain. For me, letting the sunshine in the window as a wake-up is so much better then any alarm clock. ONLY small issue was with the TV. We did have to turn it on by the button on the side. We had a service man up, but decided to keep the tv that was in the room. He offered many times to replace it. If the TV is that big of an issue in NYC then you are not doing the city right. Maid service was effective and the room was cleaned each and every day with plenty of towels, etc. The bed was WONDERFUL!! My wife had not slept that well in a long time. Tip is to Tip! Tips are the lifeblood of the service industry in NY so tip first and often and you will see the best service available. If you buy a metro pass use that as a final tip for the staff. It is an excellent final tip and always appreciated. We did not eat at the hotel with Amy's bread being just a few blocks down the street. You get use to the fire trucks going out on call on 8th Ave. It is just part of the charm of NY life. 48th is a great headquarters to see any part of the city with taxis available and 3 subway stations just a short walk away. Riding the Q will take you from Queens to Coney Island and land you right back at Time's Square with no issue. The Belvedere will see us again and at under $300.00/night it is a great deal for the quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Belvedere hotel was very good the rooms were big we had two very large beds,the housekeeping was excellent.the staff was very nice and helpful.the breakfast was very very good
You could eat as much as you liked.If we went back to New York we would definitely stay at the
Belvedere .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabela, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed with my husband and son and the overall service was great. Rooms we're clean, comfortable beds, awesome shower. It is in a great location with easy access to Times Square, Central Park and great restaurants. Rooms were small but I would stay again. Also very quiet- you would not know you were a couple of blocks from Times Square.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed at the Belvedere for 3 nights while attending a seminar. First, I was met by a bell staff (David, I think) who not only took care of my luggage, but anticipated my needs as well. He was very personable and immediately went to get additional bags so that I could unload all the shoes I had thrown in the trunk of my car. I arrived at the hotel at 7 am for a 4pm check in (don't ask..) and had to freshen up before my seminar. The hotel secured my luggage and parked my car so that I could get breakfast if I wanted, and not be late attending the seminar. It was great not having to worry about parking in NYC.

The front desk attendant was very pleasant. I told her my husband will be joining me a few days later and she immediately took his information incase he came while I was away.This way, they would give him a key for the room.

I was constantly asked if there was anything else they could do for me. Well, the time finally came when my husband and I were heading out for a walk and I said yes. "Is there a cooler where I could refill my water bottle', I asked one of the front desk staff (I wish I remembered his name) he said "no" and asked where we were from. He then asked if I would try the water from the faucet; I was hesitant but I prefer not to buy bottled water and he assured me that NYC water was good. He then took my bottle and went away to refill it for me. He could have directed me to a faucet somewhere in the building and that was what I expected him to do, but they went above and beyond my expectations.
It's the little things that matters most.
Well done!

Room Tip: My room faced the front of the hotel and was very quiet. Easily forget about the chaos two blocks aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#304 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,149 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,268 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#299 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 6,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#108 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,583 reviews
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#283 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,609 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#169 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing