We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My third visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Belvedere to your Saves list
The Belvedere
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Limassol Cyprus
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“My third visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is very well located on a relatively quiet street, very close to the attractions. Walking distance of Moma etc.This was my third visit, each time I have been given an entirely different room. This time I had an Executive Queen, it was a little small but good. It is worth paying for their executive rooms as some of their basic rooms are disappointing as I found out on a previous occasion, they also have free wifi, the standard rooms do not. The staff were professional and seemed more friendly on this visit. The concierge was very helpful, and seemed more approachable than the previous ones I encountered. All New York hotels in this area are expensive, but this one has character. I recommend the Patzeria bar and restaurant a couple of doors away for room service, takeaways and eating in.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be different, I have had three entirely different rooms on each of my visits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,405
    1,564
    395
    149
    94
See reviews for
1,059
885
100
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a hotel that is on a quiet street but just blocks from the action - Time Square, theatre district, subway, central park. There is a small kitchen area with microwave, bar fridge and coffee maker. The bathroom is small but adequate and the room is quite large by New York standards. The nightly wine and snacks were great if you are around between 5 pm and 6 pm. The concierge service is very helpful and available throughout the day. The staff are very pleasant and agreeable.

This was the perfect place to explore the city. Check out the Brazilian bar and restaurant on the corner of 48 Street and 8 Ave for live music. The Citi bike stand is just around the corner on 49 and is a very convenient way to get downtown. On 8th and 9th there are separated bike lanes (we even rode through Time Square which is only recommended for the brave since people spill into the bike lanes and they disappear from time to time!)

I was annoyed that you had to pay for Wifi even in the lobby area. It is slightly cheaper than most hotels and includes all your devices so it is reasonable but not providing free wifi seems cheap these days! I was given one day complimentary because I complained.

Room Tip: The higher the better. We were located right next the elevator and it was no problem - no noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Freedom, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed for one night in June and overall our experience was good. We especially liked the location...walking distance to the Theater District and Times Square, but not on busy, noisy street. The rooms were clean, but nothing spectacular. Rooms could use an upgrade, and the mattresses were not the highest quality. Service was ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel gets a four rating because of the spacious room with microwave, refrigerator and coffe/the maker. In New York you have to pay a fortune if you want a room of this size but at Belvedere you get it for an affordable prize. We trevelled with one child (6 years) and there was space for him to have toys and play.
The location is perfect, short walk to Times Square and the subway is around the corner.

The drawbacks is the small bathroom and the shower,, Its small very small. And the hotel is a bit old so the windows isn't enough isolated. The room got a bit cold (stayed im March)
But this is New York and the rooms in NY is often not bigger than a shoebox so for families this was perfect. Together with the price I think it's one of the better places to stay.
And if you like breakfast the hotel have a good and pretty well selcted breakfast.

Room Tip: Chose the larger room if you are travveling with children (executive room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our second stay here and the staff were friendly and attentive to our needs as British Airways had left our luggage at Heathrow. The hotel roooms itself needs some TLC but everything you need is there and clean and it is perfect for all the attactions New York has to offer Central Park and Intrepid are within walking distance, the theatre district is on the dooorstep, plenty of restuarants outside within a couple of blocks. Subway around corner for further travels. Concierge very helpful

Room Tip: Room at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed there for a night in June and will not go back. The "hotel" appears to be a lon-term stay property and as such operates mostly as an apartment building and not a hotel. The staff was marginal at best. The rooms were very small and not very clean. The hallway smelled of fried fish, truly someone was cooking down the hall. And for all of that, I paid the bargain price of $450 for the night. I know this is New York and everything is expensive, and I am in NYC at least twice a month, but I will never go back there again. Stay away from the Belvedere unless you want to be paying $450 per night and getting nothing in return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLink, General Manager at The Belvedere, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Christos E,
The Belvedere Hotel is a full service 3-1/2 star hotel and is far from resembling an apartment building. I'm sorry you did not experience outstanding service as most of our guests do. We welcome hearing from you directly if you have a specific issue you would like to discuss. Our primary goal is to deliver outstanding guest service and resolve issues immediately in the rare event that we fall short of our guest's expectations.
I ensure you and all our readers that our rates are very competitive and can be shopped at any time. Rates can fluctuate dramatically from day to day based on demand. We adjust our rates continually to ensure we remain competitive with similar hotels in midtown Manhattan area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at The Belvedere for one night (a Thursday night). My wife and I were taking a vacation day in the city. The hotel was nice, the staff was helpful and the rooms were very pleasant. We got a room with a king bed on the 15th floor with a decent view of the city facing the Hudson. There was a small kitchenette with had a refrigerator and mini sink, with a microwave and coffee machine. The bathroom was a nice size as well as the room itself. The A\C worked great, the room was clean, we had a nice night together there. I would recommend this hotel for someone who does not want to be at the center of Time Square, but at the same time wants a nice hotel that is close enough to walk to Time Square. We went out to dinner and a Broadway Show, both of which were walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#165 Family Hotel in New York City
#206 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.