We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovered our NYC Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Belvedere to your Saves list
The Belvedere
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #184 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Discovered our NYC Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We travel to NYC to catch up on Broadway shows. Of all the 4-star and 5-star hotels we've stayed, The Belvedere Hotel will be the one to which we will return. It's location put us right in the midst of all that the area has to offer. The comfortable well-appointed rooms, the attentive staff put it a notch way above the rest. It seems almost a "quiet" side street away from much of the action, yet it's only a few steps away from what became a favorite new restaurant: The Patzeria (breakfast, lunch, dinner) right next to a friendly "local" bar, the Mont Blanc. There's a beautiful outdoor flower shop on the corner. Only a couple of blocks from the lovely St. Malachy's, the Actor's Chapel. The hotel placed a bottle of wine with two wine glasses in our room on our anniversary. We were made to feel very, very special. But I have a feeling all guests may feel that way....

Room Tip: The kitchenettes helped us take advantage of the wonderful delis in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,406
    1,566
    397
    149
    94
See reviews for
1,061
886
101
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed here over February school vacation with my teenage daughter and some friends. The room was very large for NYC. It fit 4 women with all their gear very comfortably. The hotel was very clean and the staff was courteous. Great location close to Times Square. The room did not have too much outside noise, despite its busy location. Great value. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Belvedere is situated on 48th street between 8th and 9th Avenue and is close to a lot of touristic places like Times Square, Central Park. The rooms are clean and big enough. We even shared a room with our daughter and son-in-law (2 doubles).
Staff is very friendly. Ask for a room at the front of the hotel since at the back is a lot of noise from the large aircofans aso. But hey, it's never quiet in NY ;-)

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We found this hotel clean, up to date and charming. The location is superb, and the employees were courteous and knowledgeable. Our room was well turned out, and nicely outfitted with coffee maker, microwave and fridge. As others have said, the hotel is located on a quiet street, right in the middle of everything. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Belvedere and recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful, clean, and we would definitly stay again! My only complaint is, the tub was so clogged up, while showering, the water had risen up to my ankles. I got a bit of a rash from the water, feet were so itchy! I told the front desk and she said she would send someone right away, however an hour later, no one came. We left the hotel to go have dinner, cause we were tired of waiting. The next day at checkout I left without showering and we had a 15 hour drive to take! So I wasnt happy about not showering and felt gross the whole ride home.

The bellmans, just stood there and hardly opened the door for us, and we had out hands full with bags and a stroller. I don't know why they were just standing there watching us open doors, isn't that their job? Either way, we are happy with our stay, and glad we didn't book elsewhere.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed at The Belvedere for 5 nights , 8th May 2014. Great location, couldn't have asked for better. Within easy walk of Times square, Rockerfeller Centre, Empire State etc. Room was spacious and very clean. Rooms cleaned daily and a plentiful supply of fresh towels and toiletries, even when we didn't need them. Staff very pleasant and helpful, allowed to check in before time. Will recommend to friends and will certainly stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was looking for a good, clean inexpensive hotel in the Times Square area and got a great rate for one night at this hotel. It was a little further away than I expected, but only a short walk to most theaters and restaurants. The room was decent size with a king size bed. The bathroom was a bit on the old side, but was very clean and well maintained. The air conditioner was noisy while sleeping and I wasn't happy that they charged an additional $10.95 fee for internet access in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#163 Family Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.