We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, location and accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Belvedere to your Saves list
The Belvedere
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 456 Hotels in New York City
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great staff, location and accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Other than they charge for wi-fi connection (I mean seriously - who still does this?), it was a great place to stay just off Times Square. Staff were fantastic, and everything was clean and classy. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: A view of the street means you will hear the garbage truck. And, make sure you specify to not be acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,360
    1,522
    385
    149
    93
See reviews for
1,029
856
95
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My daughter and I returned to NYC in March this year (2014) previously there 2013. After a lot of researching accommodation we decided on The Belvedere, we were sold on the size of the rooms,and the closeness to Time Square, it's a great location.
Hell's Kitchen is a nice change to the busyness of Time square, the local bars & restaurants are typically what I imagine NYC to have.
The staff at the belvedere were nice, the gentleman at concierge was very helpful & knowledgable.
Absolutely love getting back after a cold busy day to wine & hot tasty nibbles.
Our room was great, nice warm cosy beds, hot shower, great in- room facilities - fridge microwave & bench space - so we were able to shop groceries at Walgreens to have in our room.
I would recommend & have told my travel agent to recommend The Belvedere to other travelers .
Amanda

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

In a great location. Close to everything. Your basic hotel. Nothing too fancy. Great staff. Although the menu was farely expensive. But it is situated right next to a womderful little restaurant that I spent breakfast, lunch & dinner majority of days.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Came for theater, so hotel is ideal location. Room very nice, opted for executive king. Staff nice, helpful. Room clean and well maintained. Would stay here again. Lots of restaurants nearby. Room 1719 on top floor has good view of local city. Close to fire station so that may bother some. With windows closed is not bad. That's just part of NYC ambiance.

Room Tip: Choose high floor to get away from some of the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel close to all the attractions that NYC has in abundance .The staff are absolutely fantastic combining efficiency warmth and helpfulness to a fine art.
Our room was probably one of the best on the 17th floor with views over the city. It was spacious and clean with fresh towels and sheets as required.
Breakfast was scrumptious and catered for all our needs including my two year old grand son and healthy appetites of all my family .
I really could not fault the hotel and would recommend it highly for its facilities location and staff to anyone wishing to visit NYC .

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed 2 nights. I had read Trip Advisor reviews after this hotel was recommended by a friend. A room was booked in the renovated section, on a higher floor, away from the elevators. I was not disappointed - the room was very comfortable, clean, and spacious. The location of the Belvedere, on West 48th Street, was very close to Times Square, but was also amazingly quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay there again if I am lucky enough to return to New York in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor, away from elevators, and in the renovated section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, GA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have to mirror the reviewers before me in saying this hotel is perfectly located on 48th street just a couple blocks away from Times Square. The hotel is pretty nice for a 90+ year old renovated building. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff were very polite and courteous. The price was fantastic for commensurate hotels in the area. The only drawback was the two tiny elevators. One wasn't working for awhile and that made use of the other one impossible. I used the stairs which was great exercise going up and down from the 8th floor. I highly recommend this hotel if you want a great "home base" in which to visit New York. You won't be spending a great deal of time in your room with all the action of the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#166 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.