We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Belvedere

Save Saved
You added The Belvedere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Belvedere
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 452 hotels in New York City
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

visited New York as part of my partners 50th Birthday, w stayed 4 nights at the Belvedere which we found a pleasant stay. On the day of my partners birthday we came in to find a Birthday Cake and a we hand written card from the Hotel which was nice so Thank you Belvedere. The lifts we found a bit of a pain at times the length of time u wait to get one (we were on the 14th floor) and could prob have walked the stairs quicker. Its position is excellent and we found it clean with the added bonus of a fridge to cool drinks as it was very warm and a coffee maker in a little kitchenette type section of the room. I would stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,314
    1,459
    369
    143
    90
See reviews for
984
822
92
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Good location for Times sq and Broadway, Room was large and clean with two double beds, unfortunately too short for my 2 metre height so had to sleep diagonally on one bed with wife in the other.Fridge in kitchen was noisy (solved by jamming shelves) Lack of kettle meant making tea ( being English) with coffee machine !
Lifts are a challenge, it was often quicker to use stairs ( fifth floor, not too bad)
Staff were helpful, T.V was not working on arrival, reported to reception and fixed by the time returned from dinner.
Local restaurants are good value, being away from main areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here two years ago in early October. It was a really good location if you're doing anything on Broadway. The people working weren't especially helpful or friendly, but it got the job done. The room was basic with no frills and everything was kind of old. The doormen won't actually open the door for you, even at 4 am when it's dead and you're leaving for the airport. Small bathroom but functional. The toiletries they leave for you in there are pretty good to use. The price wasn't bad for that location, which is why I chose it. Overall, I'd recommend it if you're not expecting anything fancy out of your stay and you just need a basic place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

In our 3 weeks trip to the US this was definitely the worst hotel (value for money) we have stayed in.
When you pay such a steep price for a night you have some basic expectations.
I'll start with the one and only good thing about this hotel: location. It's just a short walk to Times Square.
The room was quite small and looks old (not in a good way). Everywhere you looked seemed tired, ragged and dull. This hotel is in desperate need for an update!
We stayed in a double bed room and both beds were uncomfortable.
There was a small corner in the room which had a refrigerator and a microwave.
Wi-Fi wasn't free.

We will definitely stay elsewhere on our next visit to NY city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I read the wildly disparate reviews and was curious how my stay would be. My colleague and I stayed here on business. We compared our experiences and came up with the following:

NOISY AIR CONDITIONERS: Yes. Very. The in-window style are noisier than the below-window style in the remodeled rooms, but both are loud, and the below-window ACs occasionally just put forth a loud rumble that keeps them from just being background noise. Having said that, and staying in a lot of hotels, unless you go for a Kimpton or Intercontinental, you're going to get AC noise. We won't stay at the Belvedere again partly because the knocking and rumbling fits and starts really did wake us up, but generally speaking AC noise is part of life.

SMALL ROOMS: Not really. On average, they are a good size, and larger than a lot of hotels in NYC. In fact, it was one of the good things about the hotel. I note a lot of folks who complained were coming from parts of Europe and can only guess the room size issue is a cultural thing. The water pressure was also good, and the closet and drawer space was excellent. If you're using the place to store your crap while you tour the city, it's got space.

CLEANING CREW: The crew did a fine job cleaning, but they were very poor at respecting privacy. One day, 4 times, they just let themselves in without knocking. Really bad... and the internal extra locks don't work -- the cleaning women just push right through them.

ELEVATORS: Yup, slow. And small. And Old. But fine. Besides, there were several staircases. The hotel is not a premium hotel. For the price (under $300), it was to be expected. They were clean and they worked.

AMENITIES IN ROOM: Fine. A few reviewers did mention that all the cups were plastic. It's true, and that definitely added to the "cheap" feeling, because they were prewrapped in plastic. That said, it was fine. I went to a liquor store, bought some wine glasses for $2.00, and saved $50,00/night on a room that provides real glass.

FRONT DESK CREW: Here I have to agree with many: surly, indignant, defensive, and full of attitude. They were marginally helpful, but you had to insist, and nothing was ever done with a smile. If there was a problem and they (reluctantly) handled it for you, as soon as they were done, they ignored you. I was having a problem with my room. At first, the front desk attendant told me there was nothing she could do and nearly accused me of lying when I told her I had already discussed the matter with someone. I stood firm and she finally handled the problem. Before I could follow up on the second request (to get my Internet code), she disappeared. No comment like "Is there anything else we can do to make your stay more comfortable?" No "I'm sorry you had a poor experience." Really really rude front desk people.

INTERNET CONNECTION: Fair. Enough said.

BOTTOM LINE: As a business traveler, this was not a good hotel for me. The Internet got interrupted, the staff wasn't helpful with anything (no concierge service, bad attitude), there wasn't proper (real) room service so I could work in my hotel. I won't be back, and neither will my colleague (he actually moved to another hotel -- The Tryp).

If, however, you are a vacation traveler, and are largely using it for a central location from with you are going to explore, the location and room size is fine and you're not going to get anything closer to Times Square and cleaner and larger than The Belvedere. Take it for what it is.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Belvedere back in July 2013 for 8 nights. The hotel is well located close to Broadway and other major attractions. The hotel is a bit oldish but has a certain charm and charisma about it. We never ate at the hotel as well always preferred to try out at the many restaurants located close by. Hotel staff were very professional and courteous.Fast check in and check out.
My only negatives about this hotel is about the air-conditioning. During July the weather was fairly hot. The AC units was just too loud and and inefficient to allow for a good night's sleep. Tried fresh air from outside by having the window open slightly but that only allowed the noise from the surrounding streets in. I would stay there again if AC was improved otherwise I would looking at surrounding hotels.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#164 Family Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.