We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location In Midtown Manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Belvedere

Save Saved
You added The Belvedere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Belvedere
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location, Location In Midtown Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our first visit to New York City was made easier by staying in such a well located hotel. Less than 2 blocks from Time Square and in the Theatre District. The restaurants of Hell's Kitchen are also only a 2 block walk. Subway stations to anywhere in the 5 boroughs are all within 2 blocks. Rockefeller Centre, Radio City and Central Park are an easy walk. The hub for the sight-seeing buses is just around the corner.

This hotel is great value. It offers a fairly quiet location, clean, well-appointed rooms with very comfortable beds and very good customer service. Our room was an Executive King, so we enjoyed a large room (for Manhattan) with a king bed, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and a bar sink. The bathroom had marble tiled floors and walls, a tub with shower and stone counter top. As an Executive room it also came with free Wi-Fi. Some reviews complain the elevators are slow. We were on the 11th floor, so we noticed that, but it wasn't a big issue for us. They have a "governor" on the TV volume, which I can understand, but it's set so low you can't hear the TV when the air conditioner kicks in, or there are emergency vehicles nearby. Avoid using the internet in the main floor Business Centre. It's shockingly expensive!

Definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly book it again for a future trip.

Room Tip: The Executive King room is amply-sized and has a separate nook for the kitchenette. The bathroom is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,336
    1,489
    377
    144
    91
See reviews for
1013
835
94
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Belvedere for the first time in October 2013. The room I had was the largest hotel room I have ever had in NYC and it did not come with the commensurate rate. The staff was helpful and the overall amenities were very nice. My room came equipped with a microwave and a mini refrigerator, which was good, but I didn't really use them. In sum, it was a good place to stay, located where i needed to be and easy to get in and out of it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The location of the Belvedere is perfect, close to 9th ave restaurants, subways, theatres and Times Square. The check-in was quick, with the staff being very friendly and efficient. The rooms were a good size, the bed extremely comfortable. A quick phone call, and a softer pillow was delivered within minutes. We had free wifi included with our package and found we had a better connection if we stood near the door. We stayed for 8 days on the 17th floor away from 48th st. We heard occasional sirens but this did not bother us as I think nowhere in New York is immune.
We had a wonderful stay at the Belvedere and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the 17th (top) foor and found it very suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed the stay. Location was just great. We walked to Time Square, Central Park and Broadway. The room was clean and well appointed.The staff were friendly and it was a quick check in. There was plenty of variety for breakfast. Hot and cold food. There were plenty of places to eat near by. The only complaint was the air con was noisy.

Room Tip: We had an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant, smallish hotel in an excellent location. Very close to Times Square so easy to go to many good Broadway shows. Also within walking distance of Central Park. Nice having a fridge in room and coffee facilities. Very large comfortable bed,although bathroom small but adequate. Staff very helpful at all times. I would be very happy to stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at the Belvedere on a theatre trip to New York. The location was great for getting to the theaters and the tkts booth on Broadway and 46th street. The room was spacious, clean and always made up when we came back to the hotel after breakfast. There were many restaurants close by and the staff was friendly and helpful. We got discount room through Hotwire so for New York it was reasonable. There was a business office where you could have free computer access to print airline boarding passes which was a nice touch. We really had no complaints

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My stay was a tad unusual since my original hotel did not hold my reservation and belvedere was the alt hotel. Loved the location, and beds were dreamy. The breakfast was fab. Thank you for taking care if us, we were feeling frustrated and anxious because of the situation. The belvedere was the oasis for us

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#166 Family Hotel in New York City
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.