We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impression” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Belvedere to your Saves list
The Belvedere
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Farmington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First impression”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Myself and a friend went to NYC. It was the first time for both of us. we stayed in a different hotel when we first got there and it was not what we were looking for. It was very small and no rom to do anything.
We then went to the Belvedere Hotel the very next day. What an amazing difference. The room was very big and roomy and very clean. The staff at the hotel was more than courteous. It is in Time square and walking distance to all the places that we wanted to be.
We will definitely go back there when we go back. Thank you for your wonderful courtesy to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    1,564
    394
    149
    94
See reviews for
1,058
883
100
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Walking distance right at Times Square. Traditional hotel chains room design (2 queens or one king). Old-noisy style air conditioner. Terrible mattress...worst hotel sleeps of all time. I was given room 1026 (handicapped room) and slept one night. As there was no shower curtain, I got changed to room 1010. However, BOTH rooms have a terrible terrible mattress and bed. Mattress is over due with that hole drawn you at the rest position. And the bed frame, noisy and cranky at every turning. That poor mattress and bed frame was the down down ..down point or our family vacation. HOTEL NEEDS TO UPDATE IMMEDIATELY MATRESS AND BED FRAME.
Exactly what you do not want after long walking days around NY.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was for me a very good hotel. Mainly for two reasons: the location is excellent and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Everything else: nothing fancy but all good. I can mention that lack infrastructure e.g. a good Spa, a better Gymn, but the location and the kindness of the staff, does this happen to the background.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is definitely a gem in the hustle and bustle of NYC. I traveled with my young daughter and we stayed in an Executive King room on the 5th floor. I was pleasantly surprise - the room size is huge for "NYC standards" and the marble interior in the kitchenette and bathroom was a lovely touch. The kitchennette contains a microwave, small fridge, cupboard, coffee maker, and paper cups. I was able to get free cutlery at the Food Emporium right at corner street from the hotel! The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was freshen up everyday when we got back and we had no issues with the room during our stay. Elevators were never a problem. We did not use the two cental elevators but the one in the far right corner that was nearest to our room. We never had to wait for an elevator.
I chose this hotel for its location to broadway theaters and times sqaure especially since I was carrying a young child, and I am very happy with my choice. It was only a 2 mins walk to the broadway theaters and the bus stop for the hop on/ hop off tour we took, and about 5 mins to Times Square.

We definitely recommend this place and would stay hear for our next visit!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great location on a quiet street right off the busy streets that you'll want to visit. It was our first time in NYC and this was a good location for us to see Rockefeller Center, Time Square, Central Park, etc. The room was large but a little old fashioned with older tile and old bathroom fixtures. The beds were comfortable and we enjoyed our quiet view on the back of the hotel. The kitchenette was a small sink, microwave, and mini fridge. That's it folks. No utensils, pots, or dishes like other hotel kitchenettes. That being said, there was a great grocery store one block North that had everything we needed, including paper plates.

The concierge service was helpful and assisted us a few times. The hotel participates in an airport shuttle service ($21/person), you'll see it advertised on their website but I do NOT recommend it. It took us two hours to get to the hotel as we were the last stop. My daughter had to sit on my lap, forget about seat belts, because the driver loaded too many people in the van. A taxi ride to the airport was $40 and so much faster and more comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quiet. The elevator is slow so you may prefer to be on a lower floor so you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great hotel, We were in an executive suite on the 12th floor; we could see Times Square from our window.
The hotel location is great, you’re about five minute walk from the main attractions and at the same time you are tucked away nicely from the noise from the square.
Hotel was very clean; we had free wifi as we were in an executive suite- well worth paying extra for. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I would just reiterate what most people had said about this hotel, its location is ideal, rooms clean, spacious and well decorated with the added addition of a small kitchen. It was really hot when we went and the air con was a god send, however it is really noisy. The lifts are slow, but they weren't that bad that they annoyed me. Nice gym room with towels and free water. We walked to central park a few times, and you are literally 2 mins away from Broadway. The subway on 50th is only a 2 min walk also, which was great for getting around all the tourist and non tourist areas we went to. There is a 3 level club/pub just around the corner beside the Brazilian restaurant called Latitude. They do cheap cocktails during the day which were fab and they have an open air rooftop bar, which was perfect in the summer months. If/when we return to NY I will definitely be booking the Belvedere again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 11th floor, very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
#206 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.