We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay! Excellent Service! Exellent Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Belvedere to your Saves list
The Belvedere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“Excellent Stay! Excellent Service! Exellent Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is definitely a gem in the hustle and bustle of NYC. I traveled with my young daughter and we stayed in an Executive King room on the 5th floor. I was pleasantly surprise - the room size is huge for "NYC standards" and the marble interior in the kitchenette and bathroom was a lovely touch. The kitchennette contains a microwave, small fridge, cupboard, coffee maker, and paper cups. I was able to get free cutlery at the Food Emporium right at corner street from the hotel! The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was freshen up everyday when we got back and we had no issues with the room during our stay. Elevators were never a problem. We did not use the two cental elevators but the one in the far right corner that was nearest to our room. We never had to wait for an elevator.
I chose this hotel for its location to broadway theaters and times sqaure especially since I was carrying a young child, and I am very happy with my choice. It was only a 2 mins walk to the broadway theaters and the bus stop for the hop on/ hop off tour we took, and about 5 mins to Times Square.

We definitely recommend this place and would stay hear for our next visit!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,533
    1,754
    441
    163
    100
See reviews for
1,198
1,003
108
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great location on a quiet street right off the busy streets that you'll want to visit. It was our first time in NYC and this was a good location for us to see Rockefeller Center, Time Square, Central Park, etc. The room was large but a little old fashioned with older tile and old bathroom fixtures. The beds were comfortable and we enjoyed our quiet view on the back of the hotel. The kitchenette was a small sink, microwave, and mini fridge. That's it folks. No utensils, pots, or dishes like other hotel kitchenettes. That being said, there was a great grocery store one block North that had everything we needed, including paper plates.

The concierge service was helpful and assisted us a few times. The hotel participates in an airport shuttle service ($21/person), you'll see it advertised on their website but I do NOT recommend it. It took us two hours to get to the hotel as we were the last stop. My daughter had to sit on my lap, forget about seat belts, because the driver loaded too many people in the van. A taxi ride to the airport was $40 and so much faster and more comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quiet. The elevator is slow so you may prefer to be on a lower floor so you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great hotel, We were in an executive suite on the 12th floor; we could see Times Square from our window.
The hotel location is great, you’re about five minute walk from the main attractions and at the same time you are tucked away nicely from the noise from the square.
Hotel was very clean; we had free wifi as we were in an executive suite- well worth paying extra for. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I would just reiterate what most people had said about this hotel, its location is ideal, rooms clean, spacious and well decorated with the added addition of a small kitchen. It was really hot when we went and the air con was a god send, however it is really noisy. The lifts are slow, but they weren't that bad that they annoyed me. Nice gym room with towels and free water. We walked to central park a few times, and you are literally 2 mins away from Broadway. The subway on 50th is only a 2 min walk also, which was great for getting around all the tourist and non tourist areas we went to. There is a 3 level club/pub just around the corner beside the Brazilian restaurant called Latitude. They do cheap cocktails during the day which were fab and they have an open air rooftop bar, which was perfect in the summer months. If/when we return to NY I will definitely be booking the Belvedere again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 11th floor, very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We choose this hotel on location alone but we were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived, the lobby was very welcoming and the staff reflected this. The bell boys were very helpful and took our luggage as we arrived a few hours before check in. The room was much bigger than we expected for NYC and the bed was very comfortable. There was an added bonus with a fridge, a sink and a microwave in a little room ajoining the bedroom, this was perfect to keep drinks cold and even store food for picnics for central park. The air con was just right and you could control the temp yourself which was great. The room also had a safe, an iron and a hair dryer that was actually strong enough to dry my hair!!! Over all we had a lovely say in the Belvedere and I would recommend this room to anyone going to NYC and we will be back.

Room Tip: we were on the 17th floor and didn't hear a thing from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We thought this hotel was very good, great location, two blocks away from times square and plenty of restaurants nearby. The concierge Eddy was very very helpful. The rooms very clean but the elevators were slow, but no big deal. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A very disappointing start to what was supposed to be a great trip to NYC. We had chosen this hotel based on the reviews – it seemed like a great choice for price and location.

It was absolutely disgusting to find hair and stains on our sheets!!!!! To make things worse, after calling front desk to report this it took housekeeping over 30 mins to show up and the hotel staff simply showed up at our door and handed us the bed sheets (which were also dirty and old). We had to change the filthy sheets ourselves.

Other reasons why NOT to stay here (and some of the other posts mention this as well):
• Very slow elevators to the point where there’s always a line-up
• Paper thin walls where you can hear everything, including your neighbors washroom habits.
• Old building – previous reviewer was right. The photos are not representative of what you get

I will NEVER think of staying here again. I went through the process of signing-up for an account so that I can warn other potential people who are even considering going here. Be smart and don't ruin a hard earned vacation by choosing the wrong place. It's not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLink, General Manager at The Belvedere, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear travel_blOgger,
I’m very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay at the Belvedere and that the condition of the sheets in your room were not up to our high standards. Please contact me so I can get more details of your stay so this can be addressed effectively.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,737 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#280 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,908 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#106 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#95 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,080 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#348 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#259 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#136 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#165 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.