We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Belvedere to your Saves list
The Belvedere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My sisters and i stayed here on our first ever trip to New York City and was very happy and impressed. The elevators were a little out of date and small, but the rooms were nice and roomy and the location was perfect for us.
The room fit the three of us comfortably and I could lie in bed and look out the window and look into Times Square which as a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,551
    1,788
    450
    169
    103
See reviews for
1,237
1,016
108
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

we stayed at the Belvedere in 2012 for 4 nights. Nice Hotel, clean rooms, although bathroom rather small. Only 5 minute walk to Times Square!! Several good restaurants next door. Price is a bargain considering the location. We'd go there again if we plan a NYC trip. Look out for special 20% off deals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First time I go to this hotel, and the location is almost perfect, can walk to subway with few minutes, ton of restaurant around, shopping is all over the place. Room is nice and clean, has all the things that you expect.
The only thing that I don't like is the elevator is too small and only 2 is available, if you are in the middle floor, you might wait long long time. And the check in might be 4pm sharp.

Room Tip: either the top floor or the lower one that you can walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

From all the reviews I read, I was under the impression that Times Square would be within walking distance but I didn't realise how close...it's pretty much a 2minute walk from all the action. The hotel isn't the fanciest I've stayed in but it has everything you need and the staff are extremely helpful, especially considering we had trouble with our travel agent back in Australia stuffing up our booking! Thanks Enita and Ann for your kindness. The bed was an extremely comfortable place to rest your weary body after NY sucks all the energy from you but other than sleeping there's really no need to be in your hotel in NY. I would definitely stay here on my next visit and recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view maybe cause that's the only disappointment I found was that I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I did find this hotel to be nice, clean and comfortable. Like others said, the elevator is a problem, luckily I was on the 5th floor so the stairs were not too big of deal. I didn't spend much time there, but I was very comfortable when getting back to room late at night. Everyone was very nice and helpful. There is a wonderful Italian restaurant just steps away that we enjoyed, especially our 9 year old, they paid him a lot of attention and he liked that (as did we)! I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Lower floor so you can use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at the Belvedere for 4 nights in early October 2012. The location was great for walking to Times Square, Rockefeller Plaza and Central Park. Access to the subway is also nearby. Hotel room was clean and staff was courteous. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights last week, we got there early and they gave us 2 of our rooms early and then 10 minutes later made sure our 3rd room was ready. The location was great and the service was great. We all loved the hotel and would defiantly come back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#140 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,839 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#286 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 5,486 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#30 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#353 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,141 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#95 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,185 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#199 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#172 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.