We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Belvedere to your Saves list
The Belvedere
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay in a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at The Belvedere very much for 4 nights (11th -15th April 2013).
Close to everything in mid town Manhattan. Front desk staff were courteous and friendly. Concierge was excellent. Room was clean and very well maintained, comfortable king size bed, kitchenette with mini fridge, microwave (very handy) and coffee filter maker. My newly renovated executive king room on the 15th floor also included complimentary fast WiFi and internet access, local phone calls, upgraded amenities, the hotel is literally minutes from Broadway, Fifth Ave, Rockefeller Center and Times Square. Recommend and would consider staying again, thank you staff for a very pleasant stay at The Belvedere.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Newly renovated executive king rooms on the upper levels, these rooms include complimentar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,342
    1,501
    378
    145
    92
See reviews for
1,017
842
94
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Addison, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed at Belvedere Hotel this past Wed and Thur nights 4/24-25/13. Begnning with the doorman, each of the staff was professional, couteous, and personable. Front desk also had postage stamps available for purchase. Room and bathroom were clean and housekeeping was overall excellent. Microwave and frig were available for leftovers or drinks. Seconds walk away was Patzeria Family and Friends Cafe, 311 W. 48th Street. Great food variety, personable, and friendly. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone I know heading to the Big Apple.

Room Tip: I was not aware there was a selection of different rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed at The Belvedere Hotel in NYC for three nights and it was a great location to get just about anywhere in the city. It is just off of a main street so it is quiet for NYC standards. The people who worked there were very nice and the rooms were clean. I would have no problem staying there again when I am back in this great city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have stayed at the Belvedere four times in the past three years, most recently during the week of April 15, 2013. As an older woman traveling alone, I have always felt comfortable and safe there. Location is ideal, rooms attractive, bed comfortable. What I like best is the kitchenette in each room. The microwave, fridge, coffee-maker are a big plus. The whole place is spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: All rooms have interesting mid-town views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Teenager and I did two day mom/daughter NYC trip, staying at The Belvedere. I've stayed twice before, once for business and once for pleasure. I always get an Executive room (Deluxe is their standard room, with Executive being newer furnishings, beautiful marble tiling and free WiFi.) Always clean, spacious (for NYC) room. I love the location off a block or two from Times Square. It's really a neighborhood street and I feel very comfortable walking to/from hotel even at night. 9th Avenue has so many ethnic restaurants and a Duane Reade pharmacy/convenience store if you need anything you forgot to pack, etc. We walked to a Broadway show, to Central Park and even the Hudson River. Subway stop a few blocks away got us to Village and downtown quick and easy. I've never had an elevator issue and staff has always been very friendly. I really reccommend The Belvedere. Great location, reasonable rates and clean, nice rooms. Tips: Amy's Bread is on 9th and 46th/47th: great pastries and fresh delicious sandwiches. All the 9th Ave. restaurants will save you money over the ones in Times Square and they are "real NY" places where the people who live/work in the neighborhood eat.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Belvedere is a wonderful place to stay when visiting NYC. The location was just what we were looking for. Right by Times Square and the Theatre District. We were able to walk to Times Square just a couple of blocks away, and there were three subway stations nearby. Lots of restaurants to choose from in the area, and we were able to walk to many places. The room was very clean and very roomy for being an older hotel in NYC. We had four of us in the room and had plenty of space. It was quiet since it is off the main street and a couple of blocks away from Times Square. There is a super friendly restaurant with great food just a couple of doors away called Patzeria Family & Friends. It is a great restaurant to go to for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and late night dessert. The people there make you feel like family and make you feel very welcome in NYC. We also had great service at the concierce's desk at the Belvedere. They were extremely helpful and had great suggestions to help us see what we wanted to see during our visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.