We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the action and even has a kictchenette.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Belvedere

Save Saved
You added The Belvedere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
The Belvedere
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #196 of 447 hotels in New York City
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Close to the action and even has a kictchenette.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Located just steps from the Broadway Show District and Times Square you are in the middle of lot's to do and see. The Belvedere is very quiet and cozy and our Executive King room was well appointed. And a real plus is the room had a kitchenette with a fridge, microwave, sink and a coffee maker ( coffee was provided ). It made breakfast a snap and if you wanted to eat in instead of out the microwave was handy.

Room Tip: Upper floors had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLink, General Manager at The Belvedere, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Belvedere Hotel. I am very pleased that you had a great stay and appreciated the convenience to many attractions including Times Square and all the Broadway shows. I am also happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our kitchenette and other amenities offered in our guestrooms. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Belvedere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,415
    1,615
    400
    152
    90
See reviews for
886
762
83
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I can only speak to the room as we did not eat in the hotel ,we ate mostly at the restaurant Patzeria next to the Hotel.The Hotel staff were friendly for the few interactions we had with them.They held our baggage for the first day when we arrived early to allow us to go and wander around the city and for the last day after we checked out which made things easier.The room was a little small but clean .The fridge and microwave were good to have.The best thing was the location as it was close to most of the attractions that you would want to walk to to such as Time Square and Central Park.So for me the location was the selling point of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLink, General Manager at The Belvedere, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Belvedere hotel. I'm thrilled that you were satisfied with the hotel staff and location but concerned your overall rating was less than exceptional. Please contact me if you return to New York City to let me know what we can do to make the next stay an outstanding one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laidley, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

For 2 very fussy female travelers, the only fault we found was the noise from rooms on the road side, so ask for a back room. Everything else was great. our Double deluxe room was perfect, large, clean and great having a fridge and microwave for drinks and late night snacks. When people say you aren't in your room much in NYC, this is true, but it is nice to have a comfy bed and pleasant staff to come home to. We didnt eat at the onsite restaurant as too much choose in the local area. I would definitely stay here again as walking distance to everything but just a bit quieter not being in Times Square.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side and pay the extra for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLink, General Manager at The Belvedere, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Belvedere Hotel. I am happy you had a great stay despite some street noise. Unfortunately, street noise is synonymous with big cities and New York is no exception. As you mentioned, the rooms in the rear of the building tend to be quieter, but then again, this is New York City and we are only 1-1/2 blocks from Times Square. Other than some slight street noise, you would never know you were so close. I look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

First of all I am a genuine customer and everything I write here is my opinion only but all true. You have to make your own choice. So... I have stayed in many NYC hotels over the last decade and slept in many beds, but The Belvedere has been the most comfortable yet. The twin rooms are a very nice size by NY standards and on most stays here I have had a good view from my window. The bathrooms are a good size and very clean. A pleasant surprise is that the showers are nice and powerful, another plus in my books. You get the normal travel size shower gel, shampoo etc in your room and if you need more just ask housekeeping. Another thing is to tip the maid daily by leaving it on your bed. If the maid changes halfway through your stay or at the weekend then the one who has looked after you previously won't get anything. If you go in winter and need the heating on, again this was easy to work and very efficient. The choice for breakfast is continental or full American. I always go for the Full American. It is a little bit expensive but they have a great selection and it’s convenient. You can go back to your room and get ready for the day ahead, brush your teeth again etc. (If you are out and about you have to go to Lindy's, their pancakes are the best in NYC.) There is a small convenience and gift store at the hotel too. At Christmas time they have a beautiful Christmas tree that makes the lobby look and feel festive. If you ask on arrival for a late check out, they will usually allow you an extra 2 hours on top of the normal checkout time free of charge, but if you want to stay longer they will charge you half a day at the normal room rate. They will store you cases until you need to go to the airport and the Bell 'boys' are most helpful too. The concierge was really accommodating. He booked our transfer to the hotel, booked shows and recommended restaurants. Not every hotel in NYC has such a helpful team as the Belvedere. If I had to say anything negative it would be that they only have 2 elevators and they are very small and very slow. I hope this has been of some help to you in making your choice and feel free to ask me any questions, I will answer honestly. Have a great time and ENJOY!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but tthe view is not that great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Aug 2010: This was our first visit to NYC although we have visted the USA many times before. Four of us shared a family room on the 9th floor for a week, which, having flown in from a week in Las Vegas where the hotel rooms are gargantuan, was somewhat compact by comparison but did the job. The furniture, though, was a little tired and dated but entirely functional.
The hotel is very centrally located and provides excellent access to the attractions of midtown Manhattan including Times Square, St Patricks Cathedral and Central Park with the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building walkable - or easily accessible by subway for the terminally lazy. There is a subway station just around the corner on 8th/50th. The best selection of places to eat were to be found around the corner on 9th Avenue - again all within easy walking distance of the Belevedere.
We found the hotel to be clean and comfiortable although there is some (but not excessive) traffic noise and the usual cacophany of sirens (but then I have experienced the same in a central London hotel). Front desk and concierge service was very good. The breakfast room is very pleasant with a fairly good choice of breakfast offerings.
All in all a very nice experience. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We arrived at 1pm on Sat 27th August, and we were told we were the first people to check in that day, as Hurricane Irene was on her way and everyone was either checking out, cancelling or staying put!! We were given information on where to buy food and what to do to stay safe if things got 'hairy' during the next 24 hours. Sunday morning we discovered that New York had been spared the worst and by afternoon we could emerge to the outside world. The hotel is in a great location - we were able to walk up to Central Park easily (about the only option when everything else was shut) When things returned to normal we were well located for theatres, shopping, restaurants and subway station.
Rooms were great and staff friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Recommend an Executive King room, great views from the 15th floor of the city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed one night on 9/11. Good location, easy access to subway and walking distance to lots of sights. Room was very large and furnished nicely. The bathroom was a bit small but all in all a nice standard room with a comfy bed. Who needs more? We arrived very early- 11am and they held our bag until we returned later in the day. They also held it again the next morning so we could go off and explore until later in the day when we caught our train back home. We had dinner reservations but next time, we might try the pizza place a couple of doors down, we had a drink at the bar and the food looked yummy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLink, General Manager at The Belvedere, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear dturk,
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at the Belvedere Hotel. I am concerned because your overall rating doesn’t seem to match with your written comments. Please contact me directly so I can better understand the reason for your score so we can work on making it exceptional for your next stay.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
The Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere New York
Belvedere Hotel Nyc
Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#184 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.