We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere - won't search for another hotel in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #134 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Umeå, Sweden
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere - won't search for another hotel in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

Nice atmosphere, good and personal service. The room was more than satisfactory considering the price level - clean, nicely fitted out etc. Beautiful 'old style' decoration and a homely atmosphere, including Matilda, the hotel cat. Certainly more value for money than similar priced NYC hotels I've stayed at.

  • Liked — Personal, small, friendly
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    488
    148
    78
    56
See reviews for
210
589
99
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2006

We just got back from the Algonquin, having spent Labor Day weekend there. It's a wonderful old hotel with a great location and staff. We stayed in a roomy suite which is great for families as the sofa folds out. The bathroom was great with a deep soaking tub and top notch toiletries. The best: location for theater (just close enough), is beutifully kept, charm to spare and we loved entering the lobby and being greeted by the friendly resident feline. If you prefer modern, stay away, but if you want to experience old style NY class, this is your place.

  • Liked — Upscale and comfortable
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — occasional deals for this hotel on the internet
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2006

Myself and my partner celebrated our engagement there last year.

As a seasoned business & leisure traveller - attention to service is something that I'm very pernickety about, and the Algonquin exceeded in all areas, from the moment we arrived until the moment we left.

After staying in other 'old style' boutique hotels that have gone the way of the 'pile em high sell em cheap' and give them any old service - it was refreshing to be treated as a valued customer.

Levels of courtesy, and just general hel were exemplary, I love the old mismatced chairs in the foyer, loved the old dark bar .... and when we there we had some jazz pianist who was quite superb.

It's in a great location - and no matter what time we got back from our numerous shopping trips we always got help back into our room!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2006

I just completed a two night stay at this lovely hotel. I loved the historic but yet very tidy nature of the hotel. Most everything was in great condition and very clean. The lobby and lounge area are just beautiful. The compact nature of the hotel makes it easy to come and go very efficiently. The rooms are small by midwest standards but that was not a problem for me. I wasn't spending much time in the room and I was by myself. Two small or moderate sized people could share a room without feeling too cramped. The bathrooms are quite small but again that was not a problem for me. There was no tub, just a stand up shower. The bathroom had the old honeycomb style floor and was updated in historic style. The shower floor appears to be the only thing that has not been updated, it was quite worn but that did not detract from my stay. The furniture and decor in the room were very nice.
If you a light sleeper,in terms of needing complete darkness, the room I stayed in and perhaps others may not be right for you. The window treatments were white fabric blinds that were pretty sheer in terms of letting light in and there were no curtains that you could close. The curtains were only decorative to cover the outline of the window. At night the streetlights showed through the blinds and lit up the very small room to the point I had trouble getting to sleep. It would be better if they had a curtain you could unhook and pull over to cover the blinds.

The hotel staff were very cordial. Breakfast is expensive at the hotel. For a bowl of cream of wheat, a glass of milk, and two pieces of thick frend toast, the cost was about $30 with tip. There is a nice diner next door where you can grab breakfast for much less. Au Bon Pain is a few blocks away toward Grand Central Station, that is a very reasonable place to get breakfast or lunch.

The hotel is convenient to nearly everything in midtown and very convenient to the subways and Grand Central Station. I highly recommend it for folks that want easy access to their hotel room throughout the day to take a nap or just rest a while. I also highly recommend it for the elderly. The fact the rooms are so compact makes it less tiring to get from place to place in the room. It's also a short cab ride to the theatres for those that can't walk several blocks. The lounge area is also great for adults to hang out and have some great conversation or read the New York Times. It's a very calming and relaxing atmosphere. A great escape from the mania in Times Square.

I would definitely return to this hotel again.

  • Liked — Clean and Updated & Historic
  • Disliked — Expensive Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2006

In addition to all the comments,right next door was a great place to get a reasonably priced and very good breakfast,The Red Flame. It seemed to be busy at all hours even late night.

The comfortable beds and the friendly staff were the best.

2 blocks either east or west was a subway location.

For some of the greatest ice cream you've ever had-Serendipity on 60th between 2nd and 3rd Ave.-be wise to make a reservation.The concierge can do that.

Also from Lidia on PBS,Lidia has 4 restaurants now in NY, I believe,Becco on 46th-great Italian food-special lunch deal a little less expensive than dinner

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2006

Not the biggest rooms, but quite simply excellent service that made our visit so worthwhile. And they were superb with my 10 year old daughter as well. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — the air conditioning
  • Tips/Secrets — visit in the Fall
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machipongo, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2006

My family and I have travelled to NYC every year for the past few years. I always spend lots of time looking for the right hotel -- a combination of location, price, and amount of space. Recently we stayed at the Algonquin, and I will never spend time looking elsewhere again -- I'll just check to find the best price there for our dates. The location could not be more convenient. Last year we stayed at the Doubletree Suites -- while the rooms are bigger, the hotel entrance spits you into the middle of the Times Square scrum. The Algonquin is just off the major pathways, and it makes a big difference. It was such a quiet, friendly spot. My kids loved the New Yorker wallpaper and the resident cat in the lobby. Our first night, we splurged and had drinks in the lobby. Our 11 and 9 year old read their books and sipped their Shirley Temples while we had martinis and talked. It was so private and cozy. If price is your only consideration, then just look for the cheapest space available. But if you want elegant space and a great location, this is the top of the town. We will never look further again.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, comfortable spaces
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#91 Family Hotel in New York City
#97 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#116 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in civilized Manhattan accommodations, the Algonquin was the site of the legendary Round Table literary gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.