We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restoration, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #144 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia PA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great restoration, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We decided to stay at the Algonquin because (a) we had sufficient Marriott points to do so and (b) because it is just steps from the Harvard Club where we attended a friend's birthday celebration. We stayed previously at another Autograph Collection hotel in NYC (the Lexington) and the Algonquin has been just as lovingly restored. Rooms in both of these hotels are small but as with the Lexington the room we had at the Algonguin was more than adequate size-wise.The shower was great. The best part about staying at the Algonquin was being able to relax with a cocktail or 2 at the Blue Bar in the lobby - Dorothy Parker was there in spirit! We ate breakfast in the restaurant and it was just fine. Drinks and food are on the expensive side but that"s New York.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor or one that does not face 44th St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBudge, Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at the Algonquin Hotel. The Algonquin Hotel became part of the Autograph Collection in September of 2010. We have undergone an extensive renovation allowing us to update the furniture, fixtures and building but keeping the same old feel and character the Algonquin has to offer. The Algonquin Hotel has always been a part of NYC history and charm and we like to enhance that charm through our associates by providing personalized service to all of our guests. We are happy that you enjoyed your experience at the Blue Bar, definitely a sight to see when visiting the Algonquin Hotel. We hope you consider us for a future visit and look forward to your return
Sincerely
Mrs. Abeer Soliman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    454
    141
    76
    55
See reviews for
197
530
94
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated just off Times Square perfect for any sight seeing visits. The hotel has been recently refurbished in 2012 which you can see, but if you look closely you can also see that this is not being maintained - faulty bed head light, holes in carpet, blown bulb in bathroom. I expect noise when staying so centrally in a city like New York, but you need to do better on internal noise from corridor to room, and on reducing light in the room. No Black out curtains, so light came through, crack of light through door for corridor, blue buttons on lights that don't turn off, all these things reduce what could be a great hotel down to an average hotel. Did not use F and B outlets so can't comment, other than to say their menus were pricey. Oh one last thing great WiFi so thumbs up there!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Greetings and thank you for taking time to provide important feedback to the Algonquin regarding your recent visit, we appreciate your interest in making the hotel a better place for all guests.

We’re pleased to know you found the location, wifi connection and renovation to be to your liking and as part of our preventive maintenance we will be more vigilant about our small and important detail items. All Algonquin rooms do have a black out shade and a sheer Roman shade on each window in the guest room. The LED blue buttons do not turn off, you are correct in your observation in that matter.

Thank you again for your comments and please plan to visit us in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed in this wonderful hotel for 6 nights, we were treated wonderfully by the staff, especially the door staff they were friendly and willing to help us out in whatever manner we needed from holding the door to hailing a cab, to directions, which plays they liked and getting us umbrellas in the pouring rain! They welcomed us with smiles and conversation. I would recommend if flying into the city to make sure you arrive around check in time, we arrived in the city at 10:30 in the morning and while they checked out bags we were unable to get into our room until 3:30, which while not a real big deal as we went and checked out the attractions around our hotel to get centrally located and figure out what to do in the evening, it would have been nice had the head guy at the desk tried a little harder to get us into a room. While he seemed friendly he was not very helpful to my husband and I. As soon as he went off duty, the young lady at the front desk made sure we got a room immediately as we had been waiting all day and were very tired from being up since 3 a.m. This same clerk (the man) also when asked about where to go to get a good burger steered us totally to a restaurant that didn't even serve burgers, like I said, while friendly he just didn't seem to like us. lol The best part of this hotel is that it was a Marriott hotel which means after YEARS of saving our points we were able to stay here for free and use the money we would have spent on alll of the things we wanted to do in NYC. All in all NYC is one of my favorite places on earth. Would I stay here again. YES definitely.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent Algonquin visit and thank you for your thoughtful remarks about our team, all of us appreciate your business and the time you took to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor.
Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I'm a Marriott guy and was worried this classic NYC hotel's "quaintness and character" would mean old and run down. But it was great. The room was modern and clean. It was small, but all the NY rooms are. Lobby and bar were great. Very cozy. The staff very nice and helpful. Will stay here again when we bring our son to visit the city. Great location close to Times Square and walking distance to MoMa, Rock Center, etc.

Room Tip: ask for high floor. Stayed on 3rd - window was frosted because it probably showed dumpsters or mech...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Greetings and thank you for your comments posted on Trip Advisor regarding your recent Algonquin stay, we are glad to know you had a positive experience as a guest of The Algonquin which underwent a guts to décor renovation in 2012 and maintains the AAA Four Diamond award. The window is frosted because of the mechanicals located outside the window with no other view, there are no dumpsters located above street level on the Algonquin property. Thank you for your business.

Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The Algonquin drips with character and history. It has the added advantage of being steps from Times Square. The staff are helpful and the lobby bar and dining room staff have been part of this hotel for decades. The rooms have been tastefully updated in the last few years but are small. The bathrooms are also small. Marriott took over management of this hotel a couple of years ago and has kept in place what is good about the Algonquin and updated where it could, given that the building is 100+ years old. We have stayed at the Algonquin perhaps a dozen times and it never disappoints. Be prepared for a sound filled night in the city that never sleeps. Garbage trucks at 3AM, endless sirens, drivers venting their disapproval by blowing their horns, etc. The rooms are not sound proof but the hotel thoughtfully provides ear plugs. You cannot go wrong with this hotel if you understand what it is and is not.

Room Tip: The 12th floor had no wifi. Friends staying on the 8th floor had no problem. The hotel said it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Greetings and thank you for taking time to comment on your Algonquin experience by posting a message on Trip Advisor, your feedback is appreciated by the entire Algonquin team. Please plan to stay with us again.
Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed here in January with my niece for a special weekend. It's been a few years since I stayed at The Algonquin, and I was worried Marriott may have taken all the charm out of the place. I was wrong. It still has special charm, including the lobby cat, Matilda. Location is super and central, especially for Broadway area.

We enjoyed a comfortable room (beds are so lovely) even though the rooms are a little on the small side. I'd rather focus on quality than quantity, so this was not an issue. The staff members were attentive, room clean, but our bathroom smelled a bit musty.

It was freezing outside, so when we returned one evening after walking about, I enjoyed a double Jameson in the lobby while my niece sipped her hot chocolate, which was a full teapot and a side dish of whipped cream. I sold a new generation on this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to recall your January impressions of The Algonquin and thank you too for bringing the next generation to see what so many others have experienced over the last 112 years, we appreciate your business and please come back again
Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Recently returned from this fabulous hotel. It really is a charming place and the location is excellent. We initially had a room on the fifth floor which fronted onto the Main Street. We found our first night rather noisy due to traffic etc but after speaking to reception they did not hesitate in moving us to another room which was quieter. All staff were very friendly and helpful. We did find drinks very expensive but this is to be expected in the middle of a big city. The rooms are on the small side but apparently this is the case in New York. It really wasn't a problem as they are so cosy. Everything was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Free coffee in the morning and on the second floor at other times which was a nice touch. Managed to say hello to Matilda who is just gorgeous!! We all had a fabulous time in New York and this is just the place to make it special.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Greetings and thank you for taking time to comment on your recent Algonquin Hotel experience, we appreciate your feedback. We are pleased you did enjoy your visit to the hotel and found our team and location to be well suited to your style and needs, we take great pride in the folks who are The Algonquin our team of associates.

We are also pleased you found our thoughtful touches to be to your liking, our beverage service often gets positive feedback.

In the City that Never Sleeps, we were also pleased to have been able to accommodate your request to change guest rooms to a more quiet location and that it was able to be done in a seamless manner.

Thank you for staying with us and please come back again!

Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Green Hotel in New York City
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
#97 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#123 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#163 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in civilized Manhattan accommodations, the Algonquin was the site of the legendary Round Table literary gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.