We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, feels like NYC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #138 of 452 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location, feels like NYC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here prior to a NASDAQ event and loved the property. The lobby feels like old NYC and I would recommend making time to find a seat have a drink or read the paper. It's an easy walk to Times Square, Rock Center and surrounding areas.

My room was very comfortable and well decorated. The standard room I had was small (to be expected in NYC), but had a large TV, workstation and plenty of places to plug-in my gadgets. Perfect for a business trip or romantic weekend in the city. Would not recommend if traveling with a family.

I highly recommend Gregory's Coffee across the street for your coffee - great way to start the day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Greetings and thank you for taking time to comment on a recent visit to The Algonquin, your business and comments are appreciated. The Algonquin feels like New York as you say because we are New York and have been a part of the local scene since 1902 when the hotel opened. The millwork and detail in the ceiling is all original to the 1902 design. We appreciate how you describe our guest rooms and couldn’t do a better job if we were writing our own brochure. For families, The Algonquin has 25 suites that are well suited for 4 persons, and also has suites with connecting guest rooms for the expanded family.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we appreciate your feedback.

Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    523
    416
    134
    72
    53
See reviews for
184
482
93
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

i have just returned from our stay at the "Algon" as my cab driver called it. Tucked away from the hustle of 6th Ave yet within walking distance to Broadway, Rockefella and many other NY attractions within easy reach by cab. Unlike the rest of NY surly service industry staff,the Algonquin staff were very attentive to making our stay a memorable one without the feeling they were just after a good tip! Our room was furnished and decorated to a very high unassuming chic standard with undoubtedly one of the most comfortable beds i have ever experienced in a hotel. The Blue Bar is a great venue to unwind with a nice cocktail after a hard days sightseeing though my wife was disappointed at me not ordering her the $10,000 Martini cocktail! The Algon is without doubt in one of the top 3 of my hotels i have stayed, a very special place esteemed in history and elegance. Thank you and look forward to our return soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay at The Algonquin and thank you for your business, too. The hotel is special in many ways: location, land marked façade, rich literary history, the Blue Bar and the design and décor among them. The most significant way is how the team at the Algonquin has the ability to connect with guests and create experiences that are long remembered. There is great pride in this hotel and it shows in how people feel when they stay at The Algonquin. Thank you again for taking time to comment on your visit
Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthGa
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My first stay at the historic Algonquin Hotel - not my last. This gem is located near 6th Avenue and W. 44th Street, a quick and easy walk to Times Square, Rockeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Grand Central... yet not in the crush and chaos of Times Square. The lobby is impressive and grand (and yet small and intimate - a restaurant and seating area take up most of it) and the people (from doormen to front desk to restaurant staff) are friendly, helpful and welcoming. Like many old (and newer) hotels in Manhattan, the rooms are small but very comfortable, and recent refurbishment has led to plush and chic but comfortable modern decor. The bathroom was nicely sized and, again, seemed very newly renovated - the modern glass and tile shower stall was very roomy, and the bath products and soaps are spa-style (L'Occitane en Provence). A warning about "the city that never sleeps" and complimentary earplugs had me worried, but my room was on the interior, and the a/c-heat unit could be set to keep the fan going (on medium it provided nice white noise) so we didn't hear a thing. This is a Marriott property so my rewards membership got me a complimentary continental breakfast for two (croissant, muffin and pastry with coffee, juice, jams and a nice fresh fruit bowl), And there's a full menu available if that's not sufficient. Internet wifi is free but not super strong (at least on 10th floor) but at least it was free and it worked. A nice find in the city!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprize AZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Ok this place is right out the movies. Sit in the lobby have a drink and you just go back in time. The service is the best and breakfast wonderful. Location is good without all the noise of the bigger places

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Ok, not that one spends a ton of time in the hotel when in New York. Charming hotel with all its 'New Yorker Magazine' history. Getting old a bit, but hey.If the walls could talk, I would listen. Value for money; price a bit too high, but ok, I am willing to subsudize heritage. Food I can not rate; always ate outside.

Room Tip: Not a room/suite with connecting door; one can hear the neighbors talking quite well
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights on a recent business trip. Don't expect ultra modern design here, this is all about the vintage. The lobby includes a nice seating area plus easy access to the bar next door. The ambiance is fantastic. The rooms are small, but well appointed (I believe that small describes about 99% of the hotel rooms in Manhattan). The service is top notch. I would definitely stay here again. Great coffee shop across the street for a quick morning pick up as well.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is on a quiet block just a short walk from Times Square and Bryant Park. My room was tiny, even by New York standards - that could have been because I got my room via Hotwire and was given the broom closet.

It's right next to an inexpensive diner, and easily accessible to everything without having the Times Square noise and crowds. Room and public spaces were beautiful - very old world charm. I'd definitely go here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in New York City
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#125 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in civilized Manhattan accommodations, the Algonquin was the site of the legendary Round Table literary gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Priceline so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.