We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and in good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #134 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Charming and in good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Ok, not that one spends a ton of time in the hotel when in New York. Charming hotel with all its 'New Yorker Magazine' history. Getting old a bit, but hey.If the walls could talk, I would listen. Value for money; price a bit too high, but ok, I am willing to subsudize heritage. Food I can not rate; always ate outside.

Room Tip: Not a room/suite with connecting door; one can hear the neighbors talking quite well
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    535
    151
    81
    57
See reviews for
226
638
102
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights on a recent business trip. Don't expect ultra modern design here, this is all about the vintage. The lobby includes a nice seating area plus easy access to the bar next door. The ambiance is fantastic. The rooms are small, but well appointed (I believe that small describes about 99% of the hotel rooms in Manhattan). The service is top notch. I would definitely stay here again. Great coffee shop across the street for a quick morning pick up as well.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is on a quiet block just a short walk from Times Square and Bryant Park. My room was tiny, even by New York standards - that could have been because I got my room via Hotwire and was given the broom closet.

It's right next to an inexpensive diner, and easily accessible to everything without having the Times Square noise and crowds. Room and public spaces were beautiful - very old world charm. I'd definitely go here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great location. Wonderful staff! Very reasonable Red Flame Diner next door. Historic, beautiful, and classic! And yes, you must meet Matilda the hotel cat! The lobby is gorgeous with lots of old wood and beautiful antiques. Housekeeping was impeccable. Hotel has been renovated since we were last there. We have stayed there three times and find it worth every penny.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view (facing another building on the street) are worth the wait.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent the first weekend of December in the city. The website for this hotel looked inviting and convinced us to stay here. We were not disappointed.....the room was charming and newly decorated. The living room doubled as a second bedroom, the pull out couch was comfortable. The queen size bed was extremely comfortable, big screen TV was nice...the room was quite spacious for NYC...the lobby area was cozy and happening. The appetizers and drinks we ordered were wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to stay here again....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed with our children the weekend before Christmas. I had reserved a regular room but we were upgraded to a gorgeous suite on the 2nd floor. After dropping off our bags, we immediately went downstairs to the Blue Bar for some drinks (for us) and dinner (for the kids). The service was excellent and everything delicious. Yes, it is pricey, even for a NYC hotel, but worth every penny. Off we went to a show and then returned for another drink.
The beds were super luxurious, and we never wanted to get up! We ordered room service for breakfast and the pancakes were scrumptious!
My daughter was dying to see Matilda the cat. Every employee she asked went out of their way to find her every time!
This is truly an "experience" hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent the New Year's holiday with a stay at the Algonquiin. For being the oldest operating hotel in the city, you didn't feel like you were staying in anything other than a luxurious new hotel. The rooms, although small (hey, it's New York!) offered comfortable bedding, big screen HDTV, walk-in closet room to walk around the bed. Any staff we encountered were polite and gracious (this included the chambermaids and maintenance workers).
Additionally, the location is close walking distance to Times Square (1-12 blocks), Rockefeller Center (6 blocks), Herald Square (10 blocks).
I look forward to returning to New York and if staying in Manhattan, the Algonquin is my first choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thanks for your business and for staying at the historic and iconic Algonquin in the heart of Midtown. When opened 111+ years ago, Midtown was a developing part of the city which was rapidly moving northward. Much has changed, including the Algonquin’s interiors after a gut to décor renovation in 2012, when a balance of modern expectations was balanced with the historic past. Overwhelmingly guests tell us we were successful in the combination and we are glad to know you agree. Please come back again!
Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#30 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,357 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#100 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,432 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#171 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#62 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,919 reviews
Midtown
The Muse Hotel New York
The Muse Hotel New York
#53 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,479 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times...
#122 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#100 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
#118 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and L'Occitane bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.